We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - loft feeling”
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #57 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel has something of a pop-up feeling.
Perfect match with its design -contemporary with some industrial elements- and atmosphere: lively, fresh and happening.

Very friendly staff

Loft style rooms are large and comfortable with some nice details like a set of Tulip chairs (well, not the Knoll production). Kitchenette

Gym is small but with large windows and plenty of daylight.

Nice terrace on the 5th floor facing south. (but the Mochito was missing)

Central location.
Valet (backside of the hotel).

Keep in mind: no restaurant, minibar etc.

Given price: excellent choice

Room Tip: 1217, nice loftstyle room on top floor. (minor distant noise of the elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were looking for a less expensive alternative to the pricey and posh Vieux Port hotels and this was just the thing. Even though it was a reasonable price the room was lovely, the bed was very nice, and it felt comfortable the whole time.

The location is very convenient. Just north of Chinatown gate, a few blocks from the convention center; 10 minutes walk to Vieux Port, and a bit of a haul to Sherbrooke or the cool spots on St Denis, but there are orange line and green line Metro stops within a few blocks.

The hotel has no driveway so I think it would be difficult to deal with a car, but coming from the airport on the 747 bus was great.

The one big drawback is the lighting. I thought the reviewers who complained about it being too dark were overreacting, but it really is too dark. All the lights are energy efficient spotlights, so even with the main window blind open on a cloudy day I had trouble finding the clothes in my suitcase on the floor. I had trouble putting on makeup in the bathroom - actually because in that low lighting I looked just fine!

There's also little storage space in the bathroom, but we both use hanging organizers that shared the two hooks with our bath towels, and I took over one of the towel shelves for a few items so it wasn't a problem.

Although the room looks minimalist when you walk in, there is actually storage everywhere. Two drawers in each night stand (one large), a large storage ottoman at the base of the bed, and built in wardrobes that hid drawers, hanging space, and a nice kitchenette with dishes, sink, microwave, and mini fridge. We bought food at Jean-Talon market for Picnic Electronic and snacked on the leftovers all week. (There were also two more lights in there!) Also all the trash cans, including one recycling bin, are in the cabinets under the sinks, which was a little weird. It was like a little treasure hunt finding all the hidden features of the room.

Now, somebody mentioned the sex shops a block away. Just north (maybe west?) of the hotel along St. Laurent toward the green line metro there are some buildings under rehab, and a park with homeless people, and several adult show businesses. It's really just a block, and I didn't feel unsafe walking through there. There are also some interesting building rehabs and this artsy radio station studio and some neat army surplus stores. If it bothers you, you can detour one block over to St. Hubert and walk through a kind of theater district instead.

There are also some beggars/apparently homeless people who hung out on the corner by the hotel on weekends. They were unsavory but harmless; not aggressive. I saw homeless people sleeping in Chinatown (which is a bit run down) too, but they weren't begging or interacting much with passers by. It was worse on weekends than weekdays, and based on my experiences living in a moderate sized eastern city with a variety of street people, it wasn't out of bounds or troublesome.

There's free Internet; each room actually has its own router! It worked great for us. I did not experience a breakfast, I checked in the lobby Sunday morning for coffee but was told that it finished at 9...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erink_pgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I arrived at the hotel after 4 flights & just after midnight local time. Check in was efficient & in minutes I was heading to my room. As I got out of the elevator there was a very loud noise coming from a party in one of the rooms and my first thought was that my night's sleep was going to be ruined. Thankfully after about 10 minutes of being in my room someone must have come up and either thrown the group out or made sure that they kept quiet because the noise stopped and there wasn't a sound after that.
The hotel is being offered as an investment opportunity for people to buy either on a timeshare or full ownership basis. The rooms are modern & appealing, the bathrooms very bright & the bed was indulgently comfortable.
Complimentary coffee & muffins together with other breakfast offerings were available in the morning in a room just off from reception which was a good touch. Complimentary chilled bottles of water were also available.
Definitely a hotel to recommend, well located, friendly & extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The place has no parking and is poorly designed. Functional rooms, barely adequate staff. The valet parking is a joke. you are forced to carry your things around the block to the entrance of hotel. the bathroom is decent but there is no room for your things. the only compliment I can give is the wifi and location were good. I would not recommend this place in fact I would avoid it altogether.

Room Tip: choose different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleventant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hotel Zero 1 is what I believe they call a "design hotel" meaning that they look attractive but are a bit streamlined in their operatrion (e.g. no pool, concierge, etc) but for what they lack in service they gain in comfort. The room was spacious, attractive and comfortable. The views were also nice.

I think this hotel is good for stays of a few days because it's centrally located, and come with kitchenette where you can save on restaurants by eating in.

The only thing that you should consider when booking this place is you basically have to take valet parking for 23 dollars a night and what they call a light breakfast is really a coffee and a muffin.

Overall a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The four of us were glad we booked this hotel for our stay in Montreal. Yes, it's low budget, and we could have afforded somewhere grander, but the rooms were clean and well presented and the location could hardly be bettered. The rooms are, however, painted black (or maybe it's very dark brown) and could be improved a great deal by painting them plain white. Black means that you can't easily see what you've dropped on the floor. Not much storage space but we usually live out of our suitcase anyway. Microwave oven but we didn't use it. Rather weak shower but okay. The very wobbly toilet seat was something I fixed myself by reaching underneath and tightening the wingnuts. A pity that they have no restaurant but I think the website implies that one is planned for the future. Breakfast is therefore a serve-yourself selection of nice little muffins, and coffee. Look from your window and you may be alarmed when you see what looks like a very seedy downmarket area of town outside, with lots of graffiti and broken and boarded up buildings. You'e also adjacent to the red light area, a street of sex shops which for some reason are covered in grime, the windows never washed. Don't worry, it's all harmless. You feel quite safe, and you can ignore the occasional alcoholic vagrant who talks loudly to himself as he shambles along (there aren't many of these and they can be found anywhere in Montreal, and they don't do any harm). The smell of cannabis is present in some of the nearby streets but that seems to be a Montreal thing and I'm noticing it in central London (UK) too, so no worries. In one direction you'll see the big gate for the entrance to Chinatown. Go through the gate, keep going and you'll get to the delightful Old Quarter with its cobbled streets, about 10 minutes of brisk walking to get there. If you go in the opposite direction (the street of sex shops and sex cinemas) and then bear to the left, ten minutes walk will get you to a huge shopping mall with everything you could want including Baton Rouge (excellent ribs and steaks) and Eggspectation, the best place to have your breakfast with a fantastic array of egg dishes and delectable fruit smoothies.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_1556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great little trendy hotel close to Old Montreal. Very modern rooms - some are apparently very small but we had upgraded and found it to be a very nice size.

Just coffee, apples and muffins for breakfast but the coffee is excellent and the muffins will tide you over until you find something later on in the day. Nice terrace on the 5th floor to enjoy a coffee or a glass of wine.

No onsite parking and the valet's we had were a little unorganized so be prepared to wait for your car if you need it (and confirm that you are on the list if it doesn't show up in 20 min)

All in all a nice place

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#71 of 165 in Montreal
922 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#58 of 165 in Montreal
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
701 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#44 of 165 in Montreal
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $105 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing