We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent retreate”
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #54 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent retreate”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hotel Zero 1 is what I believe they call a "design hotel" meaning that they look attractive but are a bit streamlined in their operatrion (e.g. no pool, concierge, etc) but for what they lack in service they gain in comfort. The room was spacious, attractive and comfortable. The views were also nice.

I think this hotel is good for stays of a few days because it's centrally located, and come with kitchenette where you can save on restaurants by eating in.

The only thing that you should consider when booking this place is you basically have to take valet parking for 23 dollars a night and what they call a light breakfast is really a coffee and a muffin.

Overall a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    550
    196
    52
    33
See reviews for
82
565
97
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The four of us were glad we booked this hotel for our stay in Montreal. Yes, it's low budget, and we could have afforded somewhere grander, but the rooms were clean and well presented and the location could hardly be bettered. The rooms are, however, painted black (or maybe it's very dark brown) and could be improved a great deal by painting them plain white. Black means that you can't easily see what you've dropped on the floor. Not much storage space but we usually live out of our suitcase anyway. Microwave oven but we didn't use it. Rather weak shower but okay. The very wobbly toilet seat was something I fixed myself by reaching underneath and tightening the wingnuts. A pity that they have no restaurant but I think the website implies that one is planned for the future. Breakfast is therefore a serve-yourself selection of nice little muffins, and coffee. Look from your window and you may be alarmed when you see what looks like a very seedy downmarket area of town outside, with lots of graffiti and broken and boarded up buildings. You'e also adjacent to the red light area, a street of sex shops which for some reason are covered in grime, the windows never washed. Don't worry, it's all harmless. You feel quite safe, and you can ignore the occasional alcoholic vagrant who talks loudly to himself as he shambles along (there aren't many of these and they can be found anywhere in Montreal, and they don't do any harm). The smell of cannabis is present in some of the nearby streets but that seems to be a Montreal thing and I'm noticing it in central London (UK) too, so no worries. In one direction you'll see the big gate for the entrance to Chinatown. Go through the gate, keep going and you'll get to the delightful Old Quarter with its cobbled streets, about 10 minutes of brisk walking to get there. If you go in the opposite direction (the street of sex shops and sex cinemas) and then bear to the left, ten minutes walk will get you to a huge shopping mall with everything you could want including Baton Rouge (excellent ribs and steaks) and Eggspectation, the best place to have your breakfast with a fantastic array of egg dishes and delectable fruit smoothies.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon_1556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great little trendy hotel close to Old Montreal. Very modern rooms - some are apparently very small but we had upgraded and found it to be a very nice size.

Just coffee, apples and muffins for breakfast but the coffee is excellent and the muffins will tide you over until you find something later on in the day. Nice terrace on the 5th floor to enjoy a coffee or a glass of wine.

No onsite parking and the valet's we had were a little unorganized so be prepared to wait for your car if you need it (and confirm that you are on the list if it doesn't show up in 20 min)

All in all a nice place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed at the Zero 1 for three different trips to Montreal and found all of them enjoyable.
I like the rooms with the fridge and even if I dont use it, the microwave.
The bathroom is clean and big enough.
It is a modern look which can be very dark if I had to stay in the room all day.
I dont like the lack of parking space for the checking. In a sunny day no problems but rainy/snowy days it is a pain. They have a valet parking I used after they change the car park space in the side street.
I always ask for a room on the St Catherine side and it is very calm except during students strikes!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferrere1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

we found the hotel to be in a great location, near all the points we wanted to see and close to metro lines. the rooms are small but had everything we needed and it all worked well. Coffee and muffins provided for breakfast and a small supermarket under the hotel for wine and snacks etc. The only negatives are small bath towels, perhaps to complement the size of the room, and the lady arrived to clean our room at 5.10pm which is a little late in the day.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingKats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel is central to many of Montreal's top locations which is a plus. It has this "hip" and modern feel due to the black walls and the minimalist lines in the rooms. Rooms can be small but are completely functional and clean. One of the only downsides is that there seems to be only one elevator and parking is non-existent unless you pay the valet. Otherwise a nice hotel for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMO76453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Modern, minimalist, no restaurant or services yet. However the hotel is in a great location, walking distance to Chinatown, Old Montreal, McGill, Places D'Arts, Latin Quarter, etc. and close to Green and Orange Subway lines. Two blocks of strip clubs on St Laurent just north of the hotel, but that's life in the big city, and the neighbourhood seemed entirely safe. We got a "loft room" which was quite functional. Nice-sized refrigerator, microwave, basic dishes provided and an IGA grocery one block away. Table with two chairs for eating breakfast, a sofa, two tvs and the bed was excellent. Amazing views from the 12th floor.

Room Tip: "Loft" room was an odd shape but a nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldaccountncg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 164 in Montreal
853 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#37 of 164 in Montreal
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#70 of 164 in Montreal
846 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Property: Hotel Zero 1
Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing