We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget boutique but needs some wow on the service and some more facilities”
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #53 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This hotel has a great designer boutique feel to it.
I understand its a refurb of an old hostel and they've done it well.

The room was lovely with lots of well used space and nicely furnished in a budget boutique way. ikea ish furniture everywhere. Small kitchenette came in useful. Floor to ceiling windows let a lot of light in, corridors are dark and stark. Tins of charcoal paint seem to be used in the refurb.

Facilities are sparse in the hotel. Several small seating areas by reception including an small courtyard area. No restaurant or bar, Just a small breakfast pickup area, Tea/coffee,apple, muffins. There is a roof garden but its just really a smokers area.

Location is superb. Across the street from Chinatown, 10 minutes to the old town, couple of blocks to shopping area, airport bus stops across the street. Supermarket a few minutes away as well as a small shopping centre. No great bars or restaurants in the immediate area

Service wasnt too great. Reception were ok but did not go out of their way. Friendly enough and did what was expected of them.One day it was blowing a gale and the courtyard doors were slamming and blowing newspapers every where. Nobody even looked up.

Lots of other hotels in Montreal to try and would probably do so. Still has bit of hostel feel to it. So wouldnt give it 4 stars. More luxe 2 star. Nothing major to complain about though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slackbladder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

Good location. We when there to see the Dralion show at the bell Center. Design is nice. Not lot of light in the room. We had an room upgrade but even with that we had a double bed and not a queen or King size. Bathroom is very nice. For the parking you need to pay 25$ for the valet or go in a private parking close and walk. For the price this hotel is very good. I will not go there for more then 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Nous avons passé le réveillon du nouvel an au Zéro 1 et c'était tout simplement : Wow ! Le service, l'accueil, la suite, la vue, etc. tout était super ! Même si l'hôtel était complet en cette veille du 1er janvier et que les gens étaient sur le party, nous avons très bien dormis. Une seule chose manque cependant : un restaurant. Vu que le quartier chinois est à deux pas, nous avons ramené un souper-sushis dans notre chambre. Le confort de la suite, les sushis, la bouteille de vin et la vue sur la ville : que demander de plus ? Et pour les restaurants, ce n'est pas les endroits qui manquent dans le quartier. Les réceptionnistes nous ont dits que le restaurant de l'hôtel ouvrirait au printemps ou à l'été prochain... Nous aurons donc une nouvelle occasion de passer une fin de semaine à Montréal et ainsi de profiter des festivals à deux pas de l'hôtel dans le quartier des spectacles ! Merci pour ce superbe réveillon ! On reviendra assuremment !

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aroundtheworld1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I booked this last minute for a NYE getaway with husband on Booking.com. It was our first trip to Montreal and first time using Booking.com. We had a Room 1111 on the 11th floor. Check in was simple. Staff spoke English. Natahlie was very friendly and helpful. We used their valet parking ($25/day) for less stress but you can find other parking lots for less money a day if you want to deal with it. Ask for a room on higher floor or quieter side. Our view was fantastic from the 11th floor. It was warmer than we care for but we simply opened the window and turned the heat off. Yes, the window actually opens. I loved everything about our room. The kitchenette was perfect for small meals, cold drinks. An IGA supermarket is just a couple of blocks away and we stocked up when we first got in. There is a microwave, fridge, sink and some two sets of diningware.

Hot coffee, tea and pastries are available downstairs in the morning. Sufficed just fine. Papers are downstairs too. Ice is available on lowest level. We tipped CAN $2/a day and returned to our room with all dishes clean and everything spotless each day.

Ask for a free paper map of the city at front desk if you need one. The Metro is just a few blocks away. You are a couple of blocks from underground shopping mall, Chinatown, Old Montreal with the waterfront. You could not ask for a better location. Old Montreal had free fireworks and live music on NYE. It was perfect. You can even bring small bottle of champagne and drink discretely while fireworks are going on.

Everyone in Montreal was soo friendly and helpful. Everyone spoke English. I would go again in a heartbeat and stay at Hotel Zero. Great price, very clean, modern, comfortable bed and in heart of Montreal.

My husband and I walked every where and into many different neighborhoods and took Metro to Biodome. I would not have chosen any other part of Montreal. It was great for a couple to stay. The WIFI worked great. They had boosters on each floor so signal was very strong and it was free. Free local calls too for restaurant reservations.

I don't know why others said it was too small. This is a city not the suburbs. Space is a premium. It was no different in size than NYC hotels or Rome. They make amazing use of space available and I liked the modern look. The use of mirrors makes the room feel bigger than it is. Also, the amazing view with the window. Leave the shades open!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from the street and rooms not facing Blvd. Rene Levesque
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ic3cr3am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

It was my first time in Montreal and was a bit hesitating about where to stay... Hotel Zero showed up on the list of hotels in downtown and I loved it. The design, the service, the location (very close to everything), etc.. every single thing was outstanding. Our room (Loft category) was amazing, spacious, nice views, lots of closet space and very comfy!

Will go back anytime.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTsobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Totally dirty, can't sleep, too cold, too much noise, freezing bath room!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azzaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel last July durn the Just for Laughs festival. It was a great location, within walking distance to shops, shows and restaurants. Its a very nice, modern and clean place. The rooms were just really small and really dark, since some of the walls were black. The nice thing about this place that there is a convienience store on the main floor. Its good if you wanted to grab some snack foods of drinks.

I would recommend this place if you like a little modern feel.. overall I wouldn't go back just cause you can get a bigger hotel room for for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marangocamaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#67 of 165 in Montreal
957 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#42 of 165 in Montreal
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $114 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing