We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for price”
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #54 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for price”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

pros: Nice and newly refurbished rooms. Decoration is very modern. Black walls, yellow miroor, etc.
Pretty clean. Some stains on the carpet, but what can u do. There are hundres of people walking on these carpets every month.
Price is unbeatable. $129 for this level of service can't compete.

Cons:
One day, room was not madeby 3:30, only one elevator for 12 storeys and employees seem to se it a lot to go t the basement, street is a bit noisy at night. I always have ear plugs with me, so it wasnt an issue, area seems to be sketchy at night. Also, i got no information by reception upon check in regarding breakfast. It seems that they have options, but i never tried.

it's overrall a very good base for exploring montreal. Old montreal is just 10 minutes away by foot and the desjardins complex is 2 blocks away with easy access to sainte catherine shopping area, place des arts, food courts and restaurants. Also FREE wireless interent in every room with your own router!

I'd probably revisit if they keep the rates as low as they are today. If the hike them up, might reconsider.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_persian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    548
    196
    52
    33
See reviews for
82
563
97
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2011

nice ideas but realised on the cheap/ sloppy cleaning. used plastic cups on the reception desk , carpet in hallways, entry and elevator is vey dirty. Minimal mattress cover sheets, no bedside table lamps. Common areas, entry and elevatator are unkempt and ate clearly not ckeaned on a regular basis. This is the first impression when you walk in. Looks nice on the pictures, shiny at first glance, but the attention to detail, lack of adequate staff training, using professional vacuum cleaners that have good filters and do not project the dust back into the room need to be adressed urgently. Otherwise call yourself a youth hostel !!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tritam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I booked four nights at Zero 1 and was very satisfied with my choice. The room was huge and very clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was very nice. The only negative points are the slow internet and the fact that there is not enough light in the room. Also, it was difficult to set the temperature on the air-con system.
The location is great, just near the St-Laurent metro.
Would definitely go back !!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maplesyrup821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We needed a reasonably priced room for a conference in Monteral, and the Zero 1 was the lowest price option available for 3*+. The entire hotel had only been open a week or so, and the place was rank with the smell of paint. They painted the whole place black, including the rooms.. which is a bit of a downer in the dark hallways. The hotel only has two elevators, each at opposite ends of the hotel. Only one was operational when we were there, and was full of construction dirt and dust. The room itself was a decent size, with IKEA-esq furniture. It had a good sized mini-fridge and a flat screen tv, which was a plus.

The downside to this hotel is the front desk staff and the location. The front desk is VERY small, even for a small hotel. There is only the ability to check one guest in at a time because they only had one computer at the small desk. We had to wait 20 minutes in line to check-in. The location of the hotel is just odd. Its far from the rail station, but "in between" in terms of areas you would want to be. Its a somewhat short walk to the Latin Quarter, but kind of a seedy walk at the same time. We ended up moving to the Hyatt Regency for the final days in Montreal as it was marginally more expensive but a much better option.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muppetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Pros: Looks good, comfortable beds, free and fast Internet access, free light breakfast, kitchenette.
Cons: It's not done yet, location, design instead of function, inconsistent housekeeping, security of building.

Tough to love or hate this place. It's stylish in an IKEA and black paint sort of way. Our bed was comfortable, and the front desk staff was pleasant. Breakfast of muffins, fruit, yogurt, juices, and hot beverages was very good. Microwave and fridge in room a plus.

However, as others have stated, the location is at the fringe of a neighborhood that may not be expected when booking a trendy, boutique hotel.

Windows shades let in a lot of ambient light. Housekeeping, in our case, consisted of bringing more towels, making up the bed, and calling it a day. Soap was never replaced (4-day stay), and floor was rarely, if ever, swept. Dished piled in sink for 2 days. No reading lights. Bathroom poorly equipped -- no real shelf, and only 2 small towel hooks. Workers are still finishing meeting rooms and final touches in common areas.

Maybe the building gets locked up after we were in for the night, but from what we saw the front and side doors were unlocked and the elevator never required us to swipe our key card for floor access.

There is no restaurant (which many sites list as a current feature) but they say there will be one this autumn. Most travel sites have this classified as a 3 or 3.5 star property, but I struggle to see how it qualifies.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisnameisnttaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I was let down by my holiday rental at the last minute - four days before I was due to fly to Montréal for a week's stay, including going to the F1 Grand Prix. It was a disastrous situation to find myself in, as I knew all the prices would be hiked to the hilt with it being last minute and the GP weekend. I was delighted to be able to get what seemed to be a decent hotel, quite close to Downtown, with some good facilities and at an average price.

Average price would reflect the hotel standard overall, although at times, it was fabulous and at others, it was decidedly mediocre.

I was allocated a room on the (12th) top floor and my stay was for 7 nights. On arrival, the Receptionists were very friendly and welcoming but the amount of information provided is minimal. H|oever, as I was extremely tired as it was 2am for me, that was just fine.

And as other people have said, this hotel is a work in process. Building works going on at all times, which in all fairness, did not bother me at all but some of the touches necessary to make this a better rated hotel are lacking.
The facilities in the room are good - great little kitchenette hidden behind a door, with microwave, sink and dishes. The fridge is a good size and plenty good enough for a travellers' needs. However, why not provide a little washing up liquid? That combined with a draining board provides no incentive for any washing up to be done. Ironing board, iron, hairdryer, coffee filter machine - all great as well, and I love the fact they give you two bins - one to recycle and one for ordinary rubbish. Excellent! Free Wi-Fi is a great bonus and the flat-screen TV is the same model as I have at home - wonderful! The bathroom is small, albeit adequate, and the water was hot at all times, although the water presure was weak. The layout of the bathroom was a little weird - mirrors everywhere and at times you needed to be a contortionist . The bed was extremely comfortable though and the pillows were divine, all in all, making for a very good night's sleep. On one day, they forgot to service my room (rectified immediately as soon as I called Reception) and my sheets were not changed every other day - it was a bit hit and miss... but one day when I injured my foot really badly and could hardly walk, it was the Chambermaids and not Reception (despite me asking them for help) who came to my rescue with a bowl and ice.
I am an independent traveller and confidently take the initiative to work out how and where to do things... but this hotel could really score a lot more highly if it provided basic information in the rooms..e.g what are the TV channels, where is the nearest supermarket, laundry facilities, local attractions / what to see and do when on holiday in Montréal, metro map, copies of the Montréal Tourism guide book (which they could get free from the Tourist Office), recommended restaurants, maps of Bixi bike pick-up & drop-off locations nearby, etc. All of these extra touches would just make it a little easier for people visiting Canada / Montréal for the first time.
I really enjoyed my stay but I'm not sure I would go ack to this particular hotel, especially as a single female and given it's proximity to the Quartier Latin and its problems with homeless folk, unless I were sure it had upped its game somewhat. I think they are trying very hard but they are not there yet.. I genuinely wish them every success in getting there as I am sure they will.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KvB095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My friends and I reserved a "Living" suite to celebrate my 40th birthday. When we showed up to check in, however, we learned that they had given our suite away to another customer and were just going to give us a normal room. We complained, but the staff said there were no more large suites available. The staff were apologetic and put us in a much smaller, mini-suite, along with an extra room. The mini-suite had poor temperature control, however, and was very hot. Overall very upsetting. Otherwise very chic-looking hotel, clean, staff pretty friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Doctor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 164 in Montreal
848 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#39 of 164 in Montreal
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#69 of 164 in Montreal
844 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
242 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Property: Hotel Zero 1
Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing