We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding tasting menu”
Review of A l'OS

A l'OS
Ranked #478 of 5,710 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $25 - $99
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
montreal
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Outstanding tasting menu”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Totally loved our culinary experience at this restaurant. Tasting menu was generous and phenomenal. A great find for a BYOW. Will definately be back. Staff was knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. Open kitchen showed true professionals at work, calm, cool and collected. Trendy atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 40something2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“decent BYOB”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

open plan kitchen: it gets hot in the dining room
nice bone marrow
good buzz
good food

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SebastienMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The apex of our Montreal dining experience”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Having spent almost a week in Montreal and experiencing restaurants with a broad range to offer in the way of cuisine and service, I was determined to find a place where we could have an enjoyable time celebrating my father's 80th birthday. I'll admit, he was somewhat put off by the BYOB nature of the place, but his qualms were quickly put to rest upon arriving at the restaurant. The location itself is somewhat enchanting, with a lively street frontage in a neighborhood that is thriving with a multitude of cultures and enticing aromas. The service was attentive and friendly, but not overly so, as well as informative.

Instead of going for the degustation menu, which looked exceptional, we decided to order a variety around the table of 5. The bison tartare was all one could ask for; hand-cut meat with a pleasant herb sauce and a novel presentation that included a quail egg, raw in the opened shell, nested in the tartare offering the customer to mix the raw egg in as per preference (but of course one would!). The semi-cured salmon was a treat to those who opted that way, and the seared octopus received high acclaim.

For the main course, I had the Quebec Lamb Duo, which was presented with flair and, given that it was two consisted of two different cuts requiring two different cooking methods, I was stunned at the intermixture of flavors, textures, and accents. My sister had the venison, and I can truthfully say that I have never tasted a better piece of deer; the flavorful morsel that I tasted practically melted in my mouth. I applaud the chef for not letting anybody intimidate him into cooking such a piece to the consistency of raw leather. My wife had the lobster special; she reports that it was perfect, abundant with full flavor (no butter at all) and all the moisture and tender texture that the ideal lobster should have. Likewise, the seared halibut was reported as being masterfully prepared and of exceptional flavor, as were the giant scallops with a crab cake that received a glowing review from a person who knows full well how hard it is to find a good crab cake. The side of wild mushrooms is highly recommended, and, for those who appreciate such things as I do, the side of marrow bones is decadent to the point of being orgasmic.

The portion sizes were ideal, neither overloaded nor scant, and left all of us feeling pleasantly sated. The atmosphere was pleasant and reserved; however, my one, minor, issue would be that the music, while pleasant in format and selection, was a bit louder than what should be conducive to pleasant conversation. That said, it was not overpowering to the point that we felt compelled to ask them to turn it down.

That said, I urge you to subject yourself to the enjoyment that A l'Os will inflict upon you; or you can instead to muddle along with the variety of restaurants that were once noted as being the best in Montreal, but have since lost their shine and rest only on their past laurels (and the piles of money they, in their mediocrity, will steal from you.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SageSalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Wow, this place was amazing! First, the atmosphere is minimalist and clean. There is a bar and the kitchen is right there...if you sit facing the bar you will be able to see the chef cooking because the kitchen is part of the bar. This place provides fresh food... the chef has an herb garden right on top of the counter and used it for our dishes. Seafood was fresh not fishy or dry. We had the tasting menu which consisted of 5 courses. The portions were fine and by the third course we were getting full. The meal took 2.5 hrs from beginning to end, but when the chef is preparing your food at the moment it is ordered then it is acceptable to go with that pace. This place does not serve alcohol but will serve your own wine if you bring it (it is encouraged) and best of all no corking fee. We noticed that the people next to us ordered the tasting menu but had some slight variations on how it was served, perhaps when the chef runs out of an item he uses whatever he has at hand for his creations. The tasting menu was amazing...a most have if you want to get a feel for what the restaurant is about. Our bill with taxes came up to 142CAD + tip. oh, that includes the extra fee for the foie gras which was 15CAD. We spend about 15 CAD on wine from the store across the street..we forgot ours at the hotel so it was easy to find one. There are two stores nearby that sell wine. This place did not have tourists so the majority of people spoke french. The servers are bilingual so they explained the food in English. Service was good. Overall this place is on my list to go back to. If you are a foodie and don't want to be around tourist then go to this wonderful place in Saint Laurent. We took the metro from our hotel and it was just 10 minutes + 10 minutes walking from the metro to the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrisGrisNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“always fantastic, try the dégustation menu!”
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We've been to A l'Os twice already and we're planning a third visit this month. Everything served is absolute perfection. I agree that the a la carte menu is expensive, but the tasting menu is 55$ for 5 services, quite the value!! You need to be adventurous for this is a blind menu chosen by the chef but we've never been short of amazed by the delicious creations we've tried so far.

The BYOW angle is always appreciated and adds value to this wonderful restaurant. A must try for anyone visiting Montreal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dafeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A l'OS also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to A l'OS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing