We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simplistic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residences Universitaires UQAM West
Ranked #69 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Reviewed June 22, 2010

This place is a dorm. a clean and practical place to live in downtown Montreal. we rented the studio appartment that comes with a full kitchen (fridge and stove) no microwave and no cookware. (apparently available upon request.)

the unit (studio) is practically a one bedroom appartment. the room is about 10 x 11. the living room is kinda 12x 12. windows partially open outside. bathroom has vanity, toilet and a shower. we were lucky to be facing the inside garden, so no street noise could reach us.

what i find disappointing is that i was expecting a little more furniture than what was supplied. in the room was a doublebed a student desk, a wardrobe and a night table. a fan in the ceiling was the most appreciated asset.

in the living room was a second student desk , a small square table with 2 chairs, a waiting room style double chair and a rectangualr table.

internet access is wired, 5Meg speed and very stable (ethernet cable) but you have to unplug the phone (voip). no TV. i was lucky to have my laptop with me to watch TV online. otherwise......

the building has laundry facility, parking is extra (20$ perday).

i will recommend this place for only one major reason, the unit was CLEAN. I mean no dirt anywhere. you only need to bring good towels and and accessory to make life confortable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residences-UQAM, Front Office Manager at Residences Universitaires UQAM West, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Hi,
Thank you for your great comments.
We're happy that you enjoyed your stay at our etablishment and thank you the exhausted description of our etablishment.

We hope to have the opportunity in greeting you this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 71 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2009

We choose the place for the location & were happy enough with the room. A fridge, sink, your own bathroom, & the windows keep all the noise out. I lived in dorm rooms for 3 years & these were definitely better than the ones that I had. The place is clean, but oddly enough, I ran into a familiar problem. During a festival, we went to bed at 11:30 & had to get up at 3:30 for our flight. At midnight, a drunk girl got off the elevator outside & nicely informed everyone she'd be OK once she got back to her room. She wasn't staying in the next room, but for the next hour+, she then informed everyone tearily that 'I lost everything!'. Somehow I didn't have too much sympathy. Maybe I'm getting old.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petersdrivein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residences-UQAM, Front Office Manager at Residences Universitaires UQAM West, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Hi,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

Please accept our apologies for what happened with the "drunk girl". Our staff would have taken necessary steps in order to manage the situation, if they were informed of the it (reception open 24h/day).

We hope to have the opportunity to meet you this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Compare to other clients i was very satisfied of my stay. The price and location and the rooms are very good. The service a the reception was very nice and professional. The room that i had was spotless and actualy i was able to have some pots and pan to cook for myself.

I have no regrets in staying in this hotel and will be back next years.

thanks to them i had a great time

see ya soon

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emiliefekih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residences-UQAM, Front Office Manager at Residences Universitaires UQAM West, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Hi,

Thank you for your great comments! We will be very pleased to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Go there only if you are a backpacker. The price is low, but so it is the quality of what you get. The room is like a corridor as narrow as a double bed. The neighbors are the most extrange people I ever met, I was afraid of going alone to my room. The toilet is small and you will not be able to use the washbasin without making your feet wet. I also would not let my children go alone in the surrounding streets, as it seems quite unsecure.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Traveler01Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Stayed for one night in RÉSIDENCE DE L'UQAM - CENTRE-VILLE OUEST. Had booked in for 3

Stay here -

if you like a room with dirty floors covered in hairs,many of them curly (we told them and were offered another room that was worse!)

if you are interested in what students ate last term,most of it is still on the floor by the fridge

you like to be ignored by staff who have no customer service training

like paying over the odds for a room with no facilities


We checked out and a went to a beatiful hotel in the centre of the Latin Quarter (Auberge Espace Confort). A very clean studio room,well laid out,free internet,free breakfast and friendly efficient staff. For the same money as Uqam

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tony&marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Laure G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank facture75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,754 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residences Universitaires UQAM West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residences Universitaires UQAM West

Address: 2100 Saint-Urbain, Montreal, Quebec, Montreal, Quebec H2X 4E1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: $64 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Residences Universitaires UQAM West 1.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residences UQAM are located in the heart of downtown Montreal near Place des Arts Subway station and enclosed to many shops. A perfect location for people who like active life and who wish to live a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residences Universitaires UQAM West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residences Universitaires Uqam West Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing