We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The dorm rooms were nice, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residences Universitaires UQAM West
Bermuda
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The dorm rooms were nice, but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

We choose the place for the location & were happy enough with the room. A fridge, sink, your own bathroom, & the windows keep all the noise out. I lived in dorm rooms for 3 years & these were definitely better than the ones that I had. The place is clean, but oddly enough, I ran into a familiar problem. During a festival, we went to bed at 11:30 & had to get up at 3:30 for our flight. At midnight, a drunk girl got off the elevator outside & nicely informed everyone she'd be OK once she got back to her room. She wasn't staying in the next room, but for the next hour+, she then informed everyone tearily that 'I lost everything!'. Somehow I didn't have too much sympathy. Maybe I'm getting old.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petersdrivein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residences-UQAM, Front Office Manager at Residences Universitaires UQAM West, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Hi,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

Please accept our apologies for what happened with the "drunk girl". Our staff would have taken necessary steps in order to manage the situation, if they were informed of the it (reception open 24h/day).

We hope to have the opportunity to meet you this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    18
    13
    15
See reviews for
4
21
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

Compare to other clients i was very satisfied of my stay. The price and location and the rooms are very good. The service a the reception was very nice and professional. The room that i had was spotless and actualy i was able to have some pots and pan to cook for myself.

I have no regrets in staying in this hotel and will be back next years.

thanks to them i had a great time

see ya soon

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emiliefekih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residences-UQAM, Front Office Manager at Residences Universitaires UQAM West, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Hi,

Thank you for your great comments! We will be very pleased to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

Go there only if you are a backpacker. The price is low, but so it is the quality of what you get. The room is like a corridor as narrow as a double bed. The neighbors are the most extrange people I ever met, I was afraid of going alone to my room. The toilet is small and you will not be able to use the washbasin without making your feet wet. I also would not let my children go alone in the surrounding streets, as it seems quite unsecure.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The environment
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler01Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Puno
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

Stayed for one night in RÉSIDENCE DE L'UQAM - CENTRE-VILLE OUEST. Had booked in for 3

Stay here -

if you like a room with dirty floors covered in hairs,many of them curly (we told them and were offered another room that was worse!)

if you are interested in what students ate last term,most of it is still on the floor by the fridge

you like to be ignored by staff who have no customer service training

like paying over the odds for a room with no facilities


We checked out and a went to a beatiful hotel in the centre of the Latin Quarter (Auberge Espace Confort). A very clean studio room,well laid out,free internet,free breakfast and friendly efficient staff. For the same money as Uqam

  • Liked — Nothing, although the guy looking after luggage was friendly
  • Disliked — Filth
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tony&marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#113 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
No photo provided
ApartHotelMontreal
#53 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Le Gite Plateau Mont-Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Saint-Paul
Auberge Saint-Paul
#3 of 94 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Alexandrie Hostel
Alexandrie Hostel
#8 of 94 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Auberge YWCA
Auberge YWCA
#17 of 94 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residences Universitaires UQAM West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residences Universitaires UQAM West

Property: Residences Universitaires UQAM West
Address: 2100 Saint-Urbain, Montreal, Quebec, Montreal, Quebec H2X 4E1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Residences Universitaires UQAM West 1.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residences UQAM are located in the heart of downtown Montreal near Place des Arts Subway station and enclosed to many shops. A perfect location for people who like active life and who wish to live a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Residences Universitaires UQAM West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residences Universitaires Uqam West Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing