We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious and great service”
Review of Le Local

Le Local
Ranked #254 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: Queen
Transit: Metro Square Victoria, sortie St-Jacques
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“delicious and great service”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

it was a pretty busy Saturday night when we dined here. the menu was great. lots of seasonal items to choose from. great fish. the sommelier was very helpful in choosing a glass of wine to go with our dinners, that didn't cost an arm and a leg. we found the menu to be of perfect size...sometimes there's too much going on, not here. we sat in front of the open kitchen and they were busy! it was great! our food didn't take long and the server was super helpful!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    117
    52
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to Le Local on our first night in Montreal. The decor ans atmosphere is nice, trendy and lively. We shared a crab cake falafel style and it was delicious. We loved the baba ghanoush and tge red hot pepper spread that the plate came with. For main, she had the beef tartar and I had the flank steak. The tartar was very well prepared and the steak perfectly cook. I loved the spicy butter. We ordered them with salad and fries. The salad dressing was outstanding but honestly we didn't like the fries, were too greasy and soggy for our taste. Overall a nice place reasonably prieced.

Helpful?
Thank Roman S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food; Very expensive for lunch”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The service was top notch. If you ordered the specialties like the salmon tartar, you couldn't go wrong; super fresh with the perfect blend of herbs and seasoning and the appropriate portion. The carpaccio was also fantastic. However, the crab cake was too salty and the salad that accompanied it had too much cream and mayonnaise. Lunch there for executives would be appropriate, but not for the casual manager or colleague going for an every day lunch. I would go back for the Salmon Tartar...truly fabulous!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatRoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo, brazil
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Modern french cuisine in Montreal”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a good option for casual dinner in Montreal. Cosy ambience, good food, decent neighbourhood. Some of the dishes were innovative, but not necessarily tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acukiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute bistro with delicious food!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great food, fabulous atmosphere but fairly pricey. Not the best location. Make sure to make a reservation!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Local also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Le Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing