We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le rayon vert

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le rayon vert
Ranked #47 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Nice but average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

The good: Decent location if you like a lot of walking (which I do) to the different areas.
Very nice breakfast. The owner chooses what to make but it was all very tasty.
Good sized rooms.

The bad: The room faced the street, and the floors were very squeaky so if you're a light sleeper you may be disturbed easily.
There are two cats, which is not mentioned anywhere on the website.
You have to give a deposit by check, reserve with a credit card, but pay in cash.

Everything was satisfactory, but I think I will try another b&b in the city next time, as there are so many with fantastic, perfect reviews.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abco14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    27
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
69
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

Thank you for an unforgetable stay. I'm looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

My wife and I had a great time at this wonderful bed and breakfast. The house and rooms were charming as was the owner, who provided excellent breakfasts and conversation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

I had such a lovely stay at le rayon vert. Diane was very welcoming and fun to talk to. She made great suggestions for places to go around the area. The bed and breakfast was very charming, and I loved playing with her friendly cat! My room was very comfortable and warm, and I slept completely undisturbed. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballerina_kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

Great location in the plateau. Nice, quiet building, clean rooms, beautiful yard. Helpful host. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dano_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

I stayed for the first time at the Rayon Vert in the Plateau area of Montreal on January 11,12 and 13 for a congress at the Place Bonaventure. I found the B&B on tripadvisor from New Zealand. Although I was alone, the owner made me very welcome, and the old, character home in the heart of the French speaking (and happening!) part of town was just what I needed. A haven of tranquility and calm. I would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HubertWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

This charming B&B is just the place for those seeking to capture the European-like ambiance that Montreal has to offer. It sits in the Plateau section, about a 20 minute walk to the downtown and only a 2 minute walk to the Mont Royal Metro station. It is just a quick
stroll to 2 of the most lively/lovely streets in Montreal - Rue St. Denis and Rue Mont Royal -
full of shops and fabulous restaurants (Rue Duluth is only a couple of blocks away). It is also only 4-5 blocks from gorgeous Parc LaFontaine - Montreal's 3rd largest park.
I've been to Montreal many times and have even spent a couple of summers there. This is by far my favorite part of the city and the area that I would choose if I could live there again.
The B&B is a fabulous value and quite unique and charming in its own right. The breakfast gatherings are something that I look forward to each day - to converse with guests from all over the world is an education in itself. Diane Bouchard would warmly greet us each morning and join us around the table for good food and interesting conversations - sometimes French sometimes English - always enlightening. She is adept at both languages and as eager to learn from her guests as she is to share her vast knowledge of Montreal - its activities and its culture.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTripMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Shezelles
Shezelles
#30 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Boulanger Bassin
Boulanger Bassin
#43 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
#25 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Bienvenue B&B
Bienvenue B&B
#93 of 144 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Parc du Mont-Royal
Casa Bianca
Casa Bianca
#37 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge de La Fontaine
Auberge de La Fontaine
#11 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le rayon vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le rayon vert

Property: Le rayon vert
Address: St-Hubert street 4373 | Plateau Mt-Royal, Montreal, Quebec H2J 2X1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice B&B located in the Plateau Mt-Royal. 2 minutes walking to the métro and 20 minutes walking from the Old Montréal. Shopping, transport and good restaurant near by. Breakfast includ , parking free on the street St-hubert. Nice garden to enjoy the end of the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing