We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Ranked #27 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked this hotel for its location and price and I thought a Hilton Garden Inn would be adequate. The location is a stone's throw from McGill U., the Museum of Fine Art and the Metro. Also the car park under the hotel is very reasonably priced with in/out privileges making it very convenient as driving in Montreal is not a bad experience at least compared to Boston! There are many restaurants close by too and the hotel has its own as well as a very nice bar. But beside all that, this is a gem of a hotel! Because it's a Garden Inn, I was expecting something sort of utilitarian. No way. A doorman and concierge were at the door to greet us as we checked in, the lobby is spacious and very elegant, the hallways are bright and clean and the room was large, immaculate and very comfortably furnished. One of our family members has back issues and is never comfortable in hotel beds but found the bed in our room more than adequate. The staff were friendly, helpful and could not have been nicer. Everything about the hotel was top notch and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Iris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    692
    144
    49
    38
See reviews for
594
503
104
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vatican City, Italy
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here recently for several nights. We would recommend the Hilton Garden Inn to other travelers, but please see below remarks to help you make your decision.

Pluses

- Staff was friendly and responsive. Our room was ready when we showed up several hours past their check-in time of 3PM.
- On-site underground parking garage is very convenient. There are some weird corner parking spots where you can get blocked off should another car park perpendicular to you, so use common sense when picking a spot.
- Very clean. Room/bathroom very clean. Linens and bedding were clean and smelled fresh. Bathrooms were big; of course, this takes away from the room itself.
- Fridge and microwave a plus.
- Free internet a plus.
- Location very good. 10 minute walk to Metro; 20 minute walk to Chinatown; 30 minute walk to Old Montreal. St. Catherine street also a close walk as well. We did not drive, we just walked or took the Metro ($3.00/ride if you buy 1 ticket; $2.75/ride if you buy 2 tickets at the same time).
- There are free refreshments and candy in the reception area during the afternoons.
- We took a look at the pool/gym on the 11th floor. We did not use the gym or pool, but it looked clean. There is also an outdoor patio.


Minuses

- We were slightly surprised that the Hilton Garden Inn is only 11 floors. The pictures give an impression that the hotel is ~20 floors, but the hotel building is adjacent to a residential complex (http://www.le400sherbrookeouest.com), where you see the giant red logo. Our thinking before we booked was that more floors means a larger chance of getting a room on a higher floor with better view. We did not ask for a different room because we do not complain unless its something egregious.

- The room description states that the rooms feature two queen beds, but that's simply not true. The two beds are just regular double beds. The two queen beds were mainly the selling point that convinced us to book with the Hilton Garden Inn, so future travelers, don't be fooled! There were four of us, so we were hoping for some extra sleeping space!

Overall, a pleasurable stay, so if you don't care about the Minuses above, the Hilton Garden Inn would be an excellent choice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henri R, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding our property. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities our property offers, and hope that you will return to stay with us in the future. It is true that our property is 11 stories high. Our top floor houses our pool and fitness center as well as lounging terraces with beautiful city views. Although our property is not as high as some might expect, rooms that are located on high floors facing Sherbrooke street still offer great views of the mountain. We are sorry to hear that you did not find our beds as spacious as you would have hoped. We assure you that our rooms offer two types of beds. Some rooms have one king bed, and some rooms have two queen beds. We hope to have the privilege of serving your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn packs just about everything you would expect from a Hilton property. The location is good, but not great if you're looking to get to the more tourist area of Montreal. Expect a $12 cab ride. The hotel is very clean and modern. I was a bit disappointed in the beds, though. They were well below Hilton standards. The mattress was comfortable enough, but sunken in. Overall, though, I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJDowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn's location on Sherbrooke just east of McGill is close to everything. The rooms are always exceptionally clean, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Underground parking is so convenient. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henri R, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for choosing our property for your lodging needs while in the city and for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your experience. We are so honored to be considered your "favorite hotel in Montreal". We hope to have the privilege of continuing to serve your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

All the staff were exceptionally helpful. Loved their interaction and help with whatever we asked. Highly recommend this hotel. Super location in the city. Pluse there is a great little family-owned cafe right next to the hotel that serves everything from coffee and ice cream to steak and pasta...and beer. Our only problem was the bed that seemed to be well-worn

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank tobinw2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean hotel with large rooms and good beds. We stayed here four nights whilst we explored Montreal. Easy access to the Metro and within walking distance of Old Montreal and Mount Royal. We didn't eat at the hotel as there were many other less expensive places nearby. Cost of parking, whilst convenient put an extra $108 on our bill, or $27 per day ... We enjoyed our stay and were made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dntetlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henri R, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for choosing our property for your stay in our city and for taking the time to write a review. We are truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is true that our parking fee is 23.50$ CAD plus taxes per night, but it provides you with a safe secure, indoor parking facility that is only used for registered hotel guests. This is a rare commodity in a downtown property location. We hope to have the privilege of serving your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Montreal many times but for some reason I've never reviewed it. Just spent two nights there last week and it was excellent, as usual. We had a corner suite (429) which included a dining room table and chairs, which was a nice touch. It could do with some minor updating (new carpets in the room would be nice) but overall it is very good value for the money.

We have always found the service at the front desk outstanding at this Garden Inn. They are very friendly and welcoming and it has a comfortable, homey atmosphere. It was extremely busy, what with multiple parents checking in with their McGill university kids but the front desk had it all under control.

The best thing about the hotel in my opinion, is the gym on the 11th floor. This is not some broom closet, converted as an afterthought into a gym. It's a spacious, light-filled area, with lots of windows and enough equipment to do a proper workout including half a dozen treadmills, a bike, 2-3 ellipticals, mats, balls, weights, etc. The pool is on the same floor and it has an outdoor deck which although not overly glamourous does at least have comfortable lounges and an interesting view of downtown Montreal.

The breakfast is pretty decent; the usual Garden Inn set-up. Bar area is quite quiet although they have added patio furniture out front. There are better places to go for a cocktail though and the person on duty at the bar although she was very sweet did not really seem to be all that experienced.

There are lots of convience stores nearby if you run out of anything and it is a wonderful location for heading out the door and running up the hill to Mount Royal to work off all of those calories!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDelicateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henri R, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We sincerely thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Montreal centre-ville for your lodging needs when in Montreal. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our loyal guests. It is truly important for us to ensure that we provide a memorable experience that exceeds expectations and we are happy to hear that we succeeded in doing so. We hope to continue to have the privilege of serving your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 164 in Montreal
865 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 164 in Montreal
2,552 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Delta Hotels by Marriott Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Address: 380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Montreal
#21 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville operates as a full service hotel, with ample underground parking, steam bath, whirlpool, spacious exercise room, indoor roof top swimming pool and outdoor terrace with a fabulous view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing