We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location excellent hotel excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Ranked #25 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location excellent hotel excellent breakfast”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great location central and walking distance to trains... I would definately stay again. The breakfast is fast and very good, the buffet portion is fresh and the made to order portion was great. Thank you to all the staff... really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickj_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    668
    138
    48
    36
See reviews for
566
483
103
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here Thanksgiving weekend, hotel was average for an in-town Hilton. Location was the plus, not far from St Catherine's St shopping (including La Baie / aka Hudson Bay store), McGill, Metro stations and the Old Port. Tried the hotel bar twice, staff was not very attentive, but plenty of other options outside the hotel. Parking is rather odd, you have to pull up and check in before you can get a pass to operate the garage door; also need a room key to operate the elevators. This might be common in Montreal (?), but have not encountered that in Quebec city, NYC, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have stayed here three times in the last twelve months, but I think it's time for me to move on. The location is okay, but it's not really that close to Old Montreal or even St. Catherine's Street. especially in the cold winter. It is close to McGill University.

Pros: The valet and bell staff are sincerely welcoming, a real pleasure to deal with. Front desk were efficient and polite. The rooms were always very clean, so kudos to the housekeeping staff.

The coffee machine along with the Starbucks coffee as well as the mini fridge are very nice. I really appreciated the two complimentary water bottles on check-in. Parking is great, well lit and includes in and out privileges.

Cons: Decor is really drab. Bathroom towels are worn and feel cheap. The sheets are nice, but the comforters are thin and worn as well. I really don't like the sleep number beds. Even after three stays I cannot get used to them. They feel like there's air inside them and I just could not get comfortable. All three of the rooms I've stayed in had very noisy bathroom fans.

The breakfast buffet is too expensive and it's a walk to find breakfast. Not fun during cold winter mornings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMBCGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Not my first time nor my first review of this hotel, which seems to be turning into my home away from home when I'm in Montreal. It's clean and quiet, two of my favorite things when regularly traveling for business. During check-in, I witnessed security handling some rather rowdy guests, who thankfully, were asked to leave the hotel. Again, I was also struck by the look of this hotel which does not resemble any other Hilton Garden Inn that I have stayed at.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms with no bathtub, just a shower stall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel is situated walking distance from old Montreal and the metro. Staff is ok but not extremely friendly, except for the people working in the bar and restaurant. Rooms are clean but not very cosy. Bed was good and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierLevrouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at the hotel Jan.24, 2013.

The fact that this hotel offers a complete package of location, value and service makes the Hilton Garden Inn a good choice for singles, couple or families to stay in Montreal.

It is well situated in downtown Montreal with the possibility of commuting several minutes in all directions to areas of interest for a variety of tourists. Within a couple minutes of driving or taking the metro which is steps away from the hotel, you will be within reach to Museums (Fine Arts, Contemporary Arts and Red Path), Shopping (Simons, Place Des Ailes and boutiques), a number of restaurants and the Old Port. Underground parking is available for 23.50/night with in and out privileges.

The hotel itself is well maintained with an attentive and courteous staff. I stayed in a Deluxe King. The rooms are what you would expect out from a Hilton or above average commercially run operation: clean, soft bed (evolution so you can adjust firmness), sizable washroom with granite counter tops and stand up shower, desk and lounge chair. The infamous pillow situation where one is not enough and two is too many is the case here and may be an issue for some. This room does not include bathrobes or slippers which forces you to use the change rooms in the pool area. Not a deal breaker but still a little surprising.

The pool and spa is one of the main reasons I stayed at the hotel. While there is certainly some appeal to staying in a boutique hotel, nothing beats jumping in a heated pool and jacuzzi after walking around in the cold all day. It's on the top floor and enclosed with glass walls which makes for a nice view of the city and a potential return in the summer. It is open from 5 am - 11 pm. The gym is a good size for a hotel and has all the equipment and free weights to get a good walk or workout.

Lastly, you may want to book through the hotel itself. For an additional 20$ it provided a decent breakfast for two which wasn't advertised on other hotel sites.

All in all the Hilton is well priced for where it is and what it offers and I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The higher floors offer less noise, closer to the pool and a better view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breeze_n_Palm_Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
200 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville for a short business trip period of three days.
We arrived by car, the valet told us where to park so we can get our room key and then park in the hotel parking.
The check-in was smoother than ever. The staff is smiling, always available and very helpful.
The room is spacious and very clean and not overheated (it was -27 degrees Centigrade outside). No view to the street :(
The breakfast was OK.although you must order omelette as you get there if you are in a hurry as it takes around 10 minutes to get served.
I do think the restaurant menu could be richer.
Please note that if you order a hamburger then you cannot decide of the cooking degree ;\
Overall, it is a great hotel.

P.S. I loved the Starbucks coffee in the room :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn by Marriott Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Address: 380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Montreal
#21 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville operates as a full service hotel, with ample underground parking, steam bath, whirlpool, spacious exercise room, indoor roof top swimming pool and outdoor terrace with a fabulous view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing