We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Ranked #28 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo , Brazil
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Rooms rooms are great,big,clean and comfortable. With dreams beds !
The restaurant located in the lobby area is also really good,the staff there is nice and the food is delicious.
Location is also a really good point,near Ste Catherine Street,McGill metro...Amazing !
The staff is very kind and ready to help.
And there is also an amazing gym and pool, in the 11th floor.
I would stay there again,for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YAndrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    601
    121
    45
    35
See reviews for
498
434
91
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton with a few friends for two nights. By far one of the best Hotels I have visited. The Hotel is in a good location, walking distance to rue Sainte-Catherine. One of the best features of the hotel has to be the swimming pool that is overlooking the city! The rooms were quite spacious and comfortable; two queen beds - the rooms were also very clean.The hotel itself is quite clean and very well maintained. Service at the hotel is excellent; called the front desk on two separate occasions and within several minutes someone was at our door. I highly recommend the Hilton, it is very modern, clean, comfortable, and great value!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGMU19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a good experience the first time, so returned for a second stay, which was nice as well, particularly the 11th floor pool and whilrlpool hot tub. The pool level overlooks part of the city and makes for a relaxing time between events around town. Dined in restaurant and was pleasantly surprised a the quality of the food and mixed drinks from the bar. Pleasant wait staff as well. King room had plenty of room. Generally, easy location near Place des Arts, with garage parking onsite and high security to enter hotel elevators and hotel after-hours.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us and for making the Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville your choice while lodging in our city. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our amenities such as the pool. Our restaurant Circos offers a wide variety of menu options which we change seasonally; we hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We came from New York City to this hotel, and figured two of the NYC hotel room would fit handily in our room in Montreal. Two large beds, a bit on the firm side but we slept very well. We stayed two nights and ate our evening meal in the hotel both nights! We don't normally do that, but we were exhausted and dinner was very good, if a bit pricey. The concierge was especially helpful in getting us maps and showing us the possible ways to get where we wanted to go.
I especially liked that we were in control of our own room temperature. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank los4caracoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I reviewed this place a year ago, and loved it.
I still like it quite a lot, but there are some issues that need attention.

the pillows are wearing out and need to be replaced. When you can bunch up the pillow and squish it between your thumb and foreginer, and find there is no stuffing between them, the pillow is too thin. Fortunately, I had brought my own pillow. Perhaps, if I"d complained, they would have brought some other pillows, but the "standard issue" pillows should have more oomph than this.

The labyrinth that is the parking lot is a problem. On previous visit, I did not use it.
Please be aware, especially if you are coming from the US, that ALL hotels in Montreal have parking issues. The parking lots are typically too small, hard to negotiate, stalls too small, and as far as I know, no hotel will take responsibility for what goes on in them.
As Montreal hotel parking situations go, this one is not bad at all. The stalls are bigger than most, and are in fact quite adequate (I have a large car). The route in and out is problematic, as there is not enough room for 2 vehicle to simultaneoulsy round a turn, so one of them has to back up. This is a nuisance, but manageable once you are aware of it.
My complaint about the parking is that when we checked in, they did not advise us of the issues or how to deal with them. Apart from rounding the turns, the other issue is that the hotel parking is located on floors 1, 2, 3 and 6 (yes, 6) of the parking garage. We found out about this afterwards, in casual converation with the staff member who guided us and our trolley of luggage in and out of the parking garage. Even he, however, did not tell us there would be a gate in and out of the 6th floor that we would have to figure out how to negotiate. We managed to slide in under the gate by approaching it from the side, but on the way out we had to call for help. I appreciate that there are always problems with hotel parking in Montreal. I just think they need a communication plan to tell patrons how to deal with it.

Other than that the hotel continues to be good value, good location, and a good sleep, and I intend to return - with my own pillow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for being a loyal patron of the Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville. We thank you for taking the time to write this review and for providing us with your valued feedback, which we always take to heart and address in order to improve the guest experience. We hope to have the privilege to serve your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I visited Montreal to attend a trade show and brought along the new special person in my life. I wanted to make the trip special so I reserved a suite. I have stayed in suites at other hotels before, and every time the extra room was equipped with a couch. I was looking forward to just snuggling on the couch and watching TV. However, when we opened the door to the room, we were surprised to see that the extra room did not contain a couch but rather a large dining table with four chairs. So much for snuggling on the couch.
Other than that, the room was fine. Very clean, with a comfortable bed and bathroom. We did notice some mechanical noises but it wasn't really disturbing. The rooftop pool was also nice and we enjoyed taking a dip.
We were also disappointed that room service was not offered for breakfast. We did not eat at the breakfast buffet at the hotel but walked a few blocks down Rue Bleury to the Floralies Restaurant which was cheap and tasty.

Room Tip: Don't spend the extra $$$ on a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I occasionally use the Hilton Garden Inn Montreal for business trips to this area and I've never had a bad experience at this hotel.
The rooms are clean and well equipped. The bathrooms are very modern and comfortable.
The bar area is small, but has a good atmosphere and selection of refreshments. The bar food is also very good.
Breakfast is a little pricey, at approx. $15.00 for the cold buffet and approx. $20 for the hot breakfast, but it is very good quality. I always prefer a buffet for business hotels so I can eat and leave in a hurry if required.
Parking is underneath the hotel, and can be difficult to drive around in a big vehicle. However, I've always been able to find a space for my car. The only real problem is the traffic outside during rush hours, which can make getting in to the parking area a bit of a challenge.
Overall, I think this is the best value hotel in Montreal for business trips, or for short breaks.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are at the back of the hotel, facing away from Rue Sherbrooke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMW1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Residence Inn Montreal Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#25 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 2,143 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Delta Hotels Montreal
Delta Hotels Montreal
#31 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Address: 380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Montreal
#21 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville operates as a full service hotel, with ample underground parking, steam bath, whirlpool, spacious exercise room, indoor roof top swimming pool and outdoor terrace with a fabulous view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing