We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice korean restaurant !!!”
Review of Chez Bong

Chez Bong
Ranked #349 of 5,723 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Korean
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Mtl
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice korean restaurant !!!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Friends made me discovered a good corean restaurant. Since it was my first time eating corean food, I had some apprehension, but everybody kept telling me it was good ... So I gave it a try ! And I wasn't disappointed !!! I've tried brunch special: chicken, beef & porc ... All good!

My friends always pick the corean tipical food : the Bi Bim Bap (rice vegetables & eggs), they're always back for some more ....

The service is good. It's not a big restaurant so you have to come early or make reservation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
364 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
“Expensive and Cheap Portions”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Chez Bong is located in Chinatown. The Bulgogi serving was small with skimpy side dishes and expensive compared to another Korean restaurant in Montreal I visited.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BrockDaBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Overcooked Bulgogi, small portions..”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was a disappointment. The Bulgogi and Dak Galbi - grilled beef and grilled beef ribs - were overcooked and lacking in tenderness. The same was the case with the grilled chicken which turned up pretty dry and not adequately marinated. However, the side dishes, particularly the savory potato and pickled white horse radish, were good. Service was decent.

Located right in Chinatown, the restaurant is well located but easily missable as it is in a basement.

Not terrible, but I have certainly had much better in terms of quality, portion size and value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelduck822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average Korean food”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

It was really an average Korean restaurant.
Although the taste was ok, I think the food portions weren't really big nor satisfying. The complimentary side dishes were minimal too.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank fongie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small portions, impersonal service, no thanks”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We spotted this Korean basement restaurant with a newspaper article pasted in the window and decided to give it a try. The waiter was pleasant but he seemed distracted and didn't really have a focus on us to be honest, we felt this wasn't good service at all. He also charged a full 15% service charge on the post-tax sub total without asking.

Mealwise, we called 4 dishes, spicy tofu soup wasn't really that spicy and felt bland in comparison to some instant noodle soup I've had. Only the BBQ beef was quite nice but all the portions were really small. All the Korean sides of kimchi, potato, white radish were placed in the middle for us to share - it was a bit cheap of them to do that saving a few more sides for our party! I left feeling hungry. Will not be going back thanks.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dimsum888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Bong also viewed

 

Been to Chez Bong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing