We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olive & Gourmando

Olive & Gourmando
Ranked #28 of 5,682 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This place is a real scene. We arrived for a late lunch. It was packed but we were lucky enough to get a table. Don't go here if you want a quiet intimate spot. It's loud, frenetic and FUN. Interesting people. Wonderful wait staff and fabulous food. I had the homemade ricotta salty which was out if this world good. Homemade ricotta served with toasted baguette slices and a salad of roasted corn and cherry tomatoes. My friend had a spicy, Cajun chicken sandwich...also wonderful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieC655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    355
    69
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
300 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“start your day here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

eat in nor take out,either way you will have some of the finest croissant and pastries the city has to offer.tucked away in old montreal this cosy room oozes warmth and charm.friendly prompt service

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 57chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Holy Baked Goods Batman!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We hit up Olive & Gourmando on our way out of town. I wish we hit it up first, because we would have gone back each day. The menu looked amazing but we just got some baked goods to go. I cant remember the exact names of everything I ordered, but you can't go wrong with any of it, especially if it contains chocolate.

The atmosphere was adorable. Situated right on the corner of St Paul & St Pierre, there is ample seating with lots of tables arranged next to beautiful big windows.

Next time we come up here we will definitely make Olive & Gourmando our first stop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BMT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Not much to say that isn't mentioned already - amazing sandwiches. Order takeout and eat by the old port - the place is ridiculously packed

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leeedw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Incredible lunch & dessert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

So happy we checked this place out. We ordered a Cuban sandwich, ricotta/ tomato salad and desserts and all were amazing! We had been told that lunch time was loud and crowded Fortunately, we arrived early. While crowded, the noise level was moderate. The staff was friendly and helpful. Great neighborhood place...for locals and tourists alike. Would highly recommend a lunch/ early dinner here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMfromMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive & Gourmando also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Olive & Gourmando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing