We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for lunch, avoid the evening crowd”
Review of Olive & Gourmando

Olive & Gourmando
Ranked #30 of 5,710 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch, avoid the evening crowd”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a great place to go to for all occasions – with family, friends, -- may be except dating as it is crowded in the evenings. Thus, I normally go for lunch. The food is a delicious mix of Western food and Montreal dishes. My favorite dish here is the truffle mac and cheese as well as the smoked trout sandwich. They also have a great assortments of croissants which are good as well. Service is great – attentive and caring. I’ve heard that their breakfasts are also excellent as well (but I have yet to try it out).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    360
    69
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A great place for breakfast or lunch. Their sandwich called "An Egg in the Face" is not to be missed if you can get there early enough to order as it is often gone. They have a wonderful array of sandwiches,pastries, muffins, scones I for morning treats lunch provides delicious sandwiches,soups and salads. It is a popular place so one needs get there early to get a table. If a table is not available take out is an option which is what I often do to bring back to the office or eat in one of the many lovely outdoor spots in Old Montreal. Very noisy,busy vibrant place but if you are looking for a causal restaurant for great food don't miss Olive & Gourmando.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fairsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything is good!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've been here twice, both times for brunch, one during the week one on the weekend, one with my wife and one with the whole family including one 6yo kid. Both times everything was excellent. The ambiance is nice and service too, but the food is amazing. To start, coffee is very good , as in most of nice places in Montreal. The bakery is one of the bests in Montreal, in fact in my obsessive search for the best croissant in Montreal this place is ranked among the first three. But the most impressive thing here are the sandwiches ( panninis ) . All we have tried were not only very good , but very tasty and different from the typical things you find in other similar places. In summary: Great Place!, would recommend going , and yes the wait is worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful lunch”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I was there for a late lunch and at almost 3 pm it was still really busy. I ordered a panini (chèvre chaud) and a latte. My coffee was served really shortly after I sat, the best latte I got in Montreal. My panini was as delicious as my latte. Really friendly staff, will defenetly recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noemie_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food! not what we expected for breakfast”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Half hour waiting time or so as the place is often full. The food was very good but not what we were expecting for breakfast so we were disappointed. Its a place where you need to stand up and look at the food available, but it is then brought to your table. Nice place, great location, but definitely not traditional in its service

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaM020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive & Gourmando also viewed

 

Been to Olive & Gourmando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing