We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Above average sandwiches served fast in a crowded little bistro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive & Gourmando

Olive & Gourmando
Ranked #26 of 5,494 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Above average sandwiches served fast in a crowded little bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great place to have lunch on the go, provided you don't arrive past noon (it gets really busy).

Fine sandwiches and salads, but a bit disapointing in presentation. We were surprised to see them arrive on wax paper in a osier basket. Maybe a little pickle or something? We ordered a "cuban" plus an "apple & ham" something, and they were both good.

My advice to you: order a sandwich + a salad, and then share.

For dessert we had the "red velvet" cup cake and a pacan and chocolate cookie, with 2 capuccinos. Both excellent

Biggest drawback is price. Total bill, including taxes: 62$...
Would I go again? Most likely, just seeing my wife so pleased.

I don't get it though. Why do young and hip women crave these crowded & overpriced sandwich bistros so much? You tell me.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruessavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    321
    63
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Warm and welcoming with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice informal place seems to be popular with locals. staff helpful and food is fresh and good. I also ordered an espresso and was served the real deal, short strong tasty coffee which seems to be hard to find on the area. definitely recommended for quick informal lunch

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mpbmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
311 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Extremely crowded and loud. Food is ordinary, there were very few options and most were sold out. Ordering at the counter is a bad idea when getting around the restaurant is that hard, as there isn't enough space for the lineup. The only positive was the interesting choice of beer (bottles from excellent microbreweries).

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Original sandwiches and baked foods for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Delicious, original, fresh. A bit pricey, but amazing quality ingredients. Very popular and busy, so you may want to take your order to go. Also, great granola to take home and enjoy. Would go back!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive and disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We went there for breakfast following the good reviews and it was quite disappointing! Croissants ans brioches are good but that's the only thing they have! Not a big choice, no strawberry jam (only apricot), regular coffee... The service was average, the waitress came and took our toasts while my husband was still eating... This place is way overrated!

Helpful?
3 Thank Karynne7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Olive & Gourmando also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Olive & Gourmando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing