We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location and friendly owners”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for a week in early August while attending a conference. I agree with many of the reviews here; great location just outside downtown with lots of restaurants a short walk away. Really friendly hosts. Room was small but very clean and well furnished. Shared bathroom was scrupulously clean as well. Would definitely stay here again if I return to Montreal.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    56
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
53
176
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family of 4 recently spent a week at this great B&B. We had so much fun exploring Montreal and this was our home base. The location was perfect for us. Just about a block to the metro station, half a block to a cute park and pedestrian mall. The hosts were wonderful and even helped our teenagers order pizza for delivery one evening so we grown-ups could have dinner on our own. We would also highly recommend ordering Ephraim's homemade macarons, every flavor we tasted was yummy!

Room Tip: Our kids stayed in the Frontenac room which was great because they each had their own bed. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHBinshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B. I've stayed in every room in the house, and they are all very comfortable. The hosts, Ephraim and Yves, are welcoming and very helpful, whether you need tourist information or an electric drill (I have a daughter attending McGill University, and student accommodations in Montreal always need a parent's touch!).

The house is a wonderfully restored Victorian, with very modern plumbing, and built-in air conditioning (a recent addition that makes the heat and humidity of summer disappear very quietly). The street is quiet, but close to where many interesting things are happening.

Breakfasts are always a highlight. Ephraim produces some amazing meals, and I must say, over the four years that i've been staying at the GBM he has continued to expand his repertoire. But for me the highlight of breakfast is the conversation -- the GBM always has interesting guests, and Ephraim and Yves do an excellent job of making the morning meal an enjoyable social occasion.

The B&B is located in the Montreal Plateau, which is well located for any sort of activities in downtown Montreal. I prefer to leave my car parked during my stays in Montreal -- the Metro station is close by, and many interesting destinations are walking distance.

A word on the parking: you need to be careful about where you park. Every street has zones reserved for residents, and there are other parking restrictions as well. If you arrive late on a Friday night, you may find that the legal parking around the B&B is full, which can be a bother, since Montreal takes parking enforcement rather seriously. The GBM has off-street parking available, but I found it difficult to fit my Honda minivan in there. My smaller car (a Honda Insight) fit in there with no problem. So keep that in mind before reserving the carriage house parking.

Room Tip: One room has an ensuite bathroom, while the others you'll be sharing the bathroom with one other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtenhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
As always, it is delightful to see you and your family on your visits. We thank you for your custom and for the trust that you have placed in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great front door entry (access) strategy. Bed was lovely soft. Shower worked great. Option of air conditioner or open balcony door that has an easy to walk through screen for cool nights. These guys put a lot of thought into what their clients might like. Room barely large enough but large enough; balcony helped immensely. Great breakfasts. Hosts Eve and Stef excelled at helping us plan trips that included interesting walks and superb restos, markets, cafes and microbrews. They are opinionated intelligent urban entrepreneurs interested in all that life has to offer, including the quaint and absurd. I wouldn't hesitate advancing that no topic is beyond them exploring and given the short times we spent together (mainly we were out after bagels or libations) I was pleased that we delved into so many topics as our experiences and aspirations drove the conversations forward. If you are quick there will be an opinion to attempt to counter one minute and a hearty laugh to share in the very next. It really animated the table and though I can see where it might be grating at times I enjoyed the openness it is all aired within. Will stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: I think we were in the Carleton? Only one with a balcony that overlooks Laval St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I would strongly recommend to travelers this B&B, which is in a 125 yr old brownstone (painted white). My wife, 12 yr. old son and I stayed in the Frontenac room, a large 2nd floor room with beautiful bay window overlooking the street. And what a pretty street it is...they were filming a TV show on the block one evening! Bathroom sharing posed very little problems. Overall, the location was excellent. Just a few blocks from St Denis and St Laurent with great dining options and the Metro.

Breakfast was very good. We had an early departure our last day and the owners were accommodating to our schedule. I was a bit disappointed though when the owner decided to offer cherry blintzes that day. Not a big fan. C'est la vie...there are always other cereals, bread, oatmeal, etc. to choose from.

The real value to me was the knowledge that the 2 owners (Ephraim and Yves) have of Montreal...while Ephraim is strongly opinionated in the topic du jour, overall, their recommendations and suggestions were excellent.

Bonne chance!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finanseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The charming hosts put everyone at ease during breakfast (which was freshly prepared and the right balance of delicious and healthy.) Our room was comfortable for us, with a closet and drawers sufficient for our stay. The bathroom down the hall was spacious and looked new. We shared with two other rooms, but we never really saw or heard anyone else, except at breakfast. The property is a Victorian row house with much of the charm intact. Paintings and prints decorate the halls and common rooms, and lights come on automatically when you come in at night, or enter the hallways, so you never have to navigate stairs in the dark. This isn't a good property for anyone with mobility issues, but it's perfect for anyone who wants a comfortable, well priced room in a very convenient location. Be sure to ask the hosts for area recommendations.

Room Tip: The site I booked through didn't inform the hosts there were two of us. If we had phoned we migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyntax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you and help you enjoy our great city of Montreal. We take great pride in our B&B and will always give our guests our 100%. Just have one little clarification to your review though, there is indeed 3 rooms on the floor you were on, but one of the room (De Maisonneuve) has it own private bathroom, so you were actually sharing with only one other room, and as you mentionned, sharing with one other room never seems to be a problem. It would be our great pleasure to be your hosts again if ever you decide to visit Montreal again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend this B&B. I stayed in a smaller room, but larger rooms are available too. My room shared a bathroom, but it was never a problem. The location is perfect! The B&B is close to a beautiful small park, the Metro, and lots of dining options.
The hosts are friendly and a great sense of humor. Homemade breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heyzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
243 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#32 of 164 in Montreal
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#77 of 164 in Montreal
566 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage
Victorian Heritage
#4 of 144 in Montreal
223 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Angelica Blue Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3445 Avenue Laval, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3C7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gingerbread Manor welcomes you to Montreal. Located in a manor house built in 1885. This delightful B&B invites you to enjoy a comfortable bed, a wonderful breakfast and Victorian splendour. Located in downtown Montreal near Square St-Louis. Close to most downtown and old Montreal points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gingerbread Manor Bed And Breakfast
Gingerbread Manor Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing