We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts in B&B near old Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hosts in B&B near old Montreal”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this well-located B&B: walking distance to old Montreal, Mount Royal, and the subway, bus, and train stations. Our hosts gave us great dinner recommendations and served us excellent, full breakfasts each morning. We stayed in the Carleton room, which shares a bathroom with one other room. The room is small, but it has a balcony, which was perfect for drinking a glass of wine in the hot evenings and watching the quiet street below.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JLKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    56
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
53
177
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We arrived at the B&B on a motorcycle and nothing was to much trouble for our great hosts. Stayed over the Montreal GP weekend and this is best location near to the tube station to get to the GP and in a quiet location so you can get some sleep. They suggested two great restaurants and couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hondacb750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife and I had been to Paris several years ago and I wanted my sons, ages 20 and 18, to have the international experience without the expense of overseas travel. Part of the experience is to interact with the locals which you won't get with a chain motel. We arrived late on a Tuesday afternoon. It helps to have a GPS with the address programmed in as traffic is heavy. The street is a one way with the property on the left hand side with the very visible white exterior. Some parking spots but you'll have to double park and unload your luggage. I recommend renting a spot in the garage to avoid hunting for parking spots both at the B&B and at attractions. I strongly recommend getting a metro pass which works on both the metro and buses. A 3 day pass is $16 CA. And if you're any kind of a museum/attraction person, I'd recommend the museum pass with a 3 day pass for $65 CA total. It was an easy walk to Sherbrooke Metro.

Back to GB Manor, breakfast was always excellent and filling and the conversation was stimulating. Bathroom and toilet down the hall were clean, well lit. My wife loves older homes and there were many architectural features dating from probably when the house was originally built. We did not hear our neighbors which was good. Used the wifi and watched US stations to catch up on news. About the only thing I would be concerned about are the stairs for those who may have physical difficulty climbing steps - there is the staircase from the street to the main door and then the sets leading to the 2nd and 3rd floors.

The neighborhood was quiet, no issues. It was a nice walk to some sidewalk cafes on Prince Arthur. Schwartz's Deli is on St Laurent and there's a little 24 hour marche (market) where we picked up cheese, french bread, and beer about every night for snacks. And of course we had to have gelato from either a place on Prince Arthur or the shop at Parc Saint Louis.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I choose the Champlain room since we needed two beds. I liked the view of the street from the bay wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Gingerbread Manor for a weekend in Montreal. Yves and Ephraim are thoughtful hosts who took great care to make sure our needs were met and that our stay was as pleasant as possible. Parking our mid-sized van was a challenge so reserve their parking if you can.. Ephraim was very outspoken and funny.. Yves very kind and helpful. Both guys were very easy to engage into some light-hearted political banter which we enjoy. If you're looking for a sterile environment with fake greetings I wouldn't stay here, I would stay downtown at a 4 star hotel. If you like a lot of character and local flavor this is an excellent way to get that. I would highly recommend staying here. We plan on returning when we visit Montreal again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbrandon405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We just returned home to California following a great stay with Yves and Ephraim. Overall, it was a wonderful experience. The house is beautiful, charming, and well-located, but the hosts are what makes this place really special.

Not only did they accommodate all of our requests for specialty breakfast and sleeping arrangements, but they functioned as eager guides to their fascinating city and environs. Over breakfast and after, they discussed the city's politics, culture, and history with us in-depth, feeding us little tidbits of touring advice along the way. It truly made our trip to Montreal memorable and we will definitely stay with them again on our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbeach426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Had a great visit in 2011. My boyfriend and I were talking about how much we enjoyed the visit last year and decided in February to reserve a room- the De Maisonneuve- which had a private ensuite bathroom, not that we had a huge issue sharing the bathroom with another couple last year. We had another wonderful visit with Ephraim and Yves. The DVD/USB setup with several shows (The IT crowd, Buy Me episode featuring the owners as well as kid friendly titles) was great as was the cable television (Discovery channel, TLC, etc.). The breakfast as always, was hearty and delicious. We did not eat anything twice, including our 3 day visit last year- this time it was apple crepes, vegetable/sausage strata and cream cheese french toast with maple cookie crumbles for added crunch. To say you'll save money by buying only one other meal a day because you won't be hungry for another 6 hours would be a safe estimate. We only ate twice a day- breakfast and then an early dinner. My boyfriend went for evening walks and said that the resto/bars on Prince Arthur street were friendly. The location, again, can not be beat- we walked during our entire stay and did not need our car. You can even ride the Greyhound bus from Burlington, VT to the downtown Montreal station and it is 2-3 blocks from the Gingerbread manor. The wifi worked great and I managed to get some work done. Also managed to get some shopping done while the boyfriend slept in- with the location, you have access to St. Denis which has a lot of cute boutiques and all along St. Laurent and Mt. Royal. Not to mention you are still very close to Old Montreal (15-20min walk) and downtown shops.

A TIP: If you're a couple, get the romance package... or even if you're single.... the homemade macaroons (Parisian style) are WORTH it. Very special flavors- our favorite: White chocolate buttercream sandwiched between wasabi flavored macaroons. The flowers they gave were beautiful red roses.

The thing that strikes me most about why we came back to Gingerbread Manor is because of the owners- Ephraim and Yves put a lot of care and attention to their B&B and want you to enjoy your stay. They make special dietary recipes for people with food issues for breakfast. They don't skimp on the breakfast, though with all the rich ingredients that they use, you probably shouldn't need seconds. In fact, you probably shouldn't eat a second helping- that's just gluttony and you won't have room for poutine. The rooms are well kept. They are careful to give you all the options available for what you want to do in the city. Yes, they do like to talk (esp. Ephraim) but aside from the silly jokes he is a wealth of knowledge about the city and its idiosyncrasies. You will probably NOT find a comparable experience at this price. Not that I've tried. We just don't see a reason to mess with success.

Room Tip: They do not have an elevator. Easy to use A/C units in each room. 2 flights of stairs- so don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandagirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great location - close to downtown and other popular areas, but their street is peaceful and quiet. Clean and comfortable room, delicious breakfasts. Ephraim and Yves are great hosts. And they have secure garage parking(!). All in all, an excellent value!

Room Tip: Carleton is the smallest room but it has a queen-sized bed ... and it has the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#12 of 164 in Montreal
253 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#28 of 164 in Montreal
451 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage
Victorian Heritage
#4 of 144 in Montreal
225 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge de La Fontaine
Auberge de La Fontaine
#13 of 144 in Montreal
371 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3445 Avenue Laval, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3C7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gingerbread Manor welcomes you to Montreal. Located in a manor house built in 1885. This delightful B&B invites you to enjoy a comfortable bed, a wonderful breakfast and Victorian splendour. Located in downtown Montreal near Square St-Louis. Close to most downtown and old Montreal points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gingerbread Manor Bed And Breakfast
Gingerbread Manor Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing