We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Dining on Duluth”
Review of Vertige

Vertige
Reserve with OpenTable
Vertige is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 5,765 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Cross street: av. de Chateaubriand
Description: For more than 10 years, Vertige has been offering afordable fine dining on Montreal's famous Duluth street. Chef Thierry Baron's menu promotes culinary discoveries through a variety of small to medium sized plates, putting his own spin on urban cuisine with both french and mediterranean influences. Make sure to visit us on our special tapas nights every tuesdays, wednesdays and thursdays, and enjoy your choice of 6 TAPAS from a selection of 24 generous plates for ONLY 29$ CDN!
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious Dining on Duluth”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Taken as a guest to this previously unknown gem on the plateau. We were offered the group Table d' hote menu and I have to say as a group we were more than pleased. Multiple items appealing to every palate were available, no lack of choice.

I enjoyed the mushroom tart, followed by Veal cutlet in a Marsala sauce resting in a delicious root vegtable bed.

Mild disappointment at the fact that the restaurant was running out of Creme Brule, so some discussion around the table as to who would have the last of them, still the other desert option, a Melting Chocolate Cake was superb.

The service level of the staff was excellent, and not obtrusive.

I'd never even heard of Vertige prior to this visit, but it is now a location I will assuredly return to the next time I visit Montreal

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ganieda845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    54
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb french-canadian cuisine”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

It's difficult to be objective about Montréalaise restaurants - the standard is so high that you find yourself putting 5-star rating for everywhere. However, Vertige really deserves to be at or near the top of the mid-range restaurant list. Neither cheap nor overly expensive, it does a range of delicious - and beautifully presented - French & North American inspired dishes. The mains are everything you would expect, from maple duck magret to excellent tartares (the fish is good, too), but for me the real highlight is the starter menu, to the extent that on occasion I have simply taken two starters instead of a main.

Another feature worth mentioning is the tapas evenings during the midweek, when you can get a selection of all their best starters & mains as small tapas-style servings for $29. Fantastic for sampling what they have to offer.

As for service, it is efficient and reasonably friendly. Most waiters speak both French and English for those visiting from outside Quebec. An excellent and affordable introduction to the Montreal haute cuisine.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Montreal has one of the best selections of restaurants - Vertige is one of them”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I am one of the privileged few who has eaten in many very good restaurants in Montreal including all the 5 stars and after going to Vertige three times, I can honestly say that every time I come out a happy customer. The service is attentive, a good pace, the food is excellent, a good selection of wine and the bill is quite reasonable for the overall quality of this restaurant. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesvoyageurs_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent! Best value in town!”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is fine dining at a very reasonable price. We have been there 3 times and it is always excellent. My favorites are the Half smoked rack of lamb, the seared scallops, the salmon tartare and the butternut squash soup (and I normally do not like that vegetable!). On Tuesday and Wednesday they have a tapas night. 6 tapas of your choice and believe me you are not hungry at the end. All that for 29$. A real deal! Even wine is affordable. I have tried hundreds of restaurants in Montreal and this is on my Top 5.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Avons eu beaucoup de plaisir, belle ambiance, bonne nourriture et service impeccable!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vertige also viewed

 

Been to Vertige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing