We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portuguese delight”
Review of Portus Calle

Portus Calle
Ranked #602 of 5,719 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $35 - $70
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Cross street: Rachel
montréal
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Portuguese delight”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went for second time to Portus. Had an amazing meal. The place was buzzing on a saturday night. It is always popular so book ahead , especially on week ends. We had the dgustation menu which is challenging to finish (we could not). It starst off with succlent sea food bites (Cod corquettes are a hit, so are the shrimps and octopus). Then you move to meat selections. Teh desert/cheese plate was the topper, wow! If you eant to find fault witht his restaurant , it is a bit loud (always packed and the background music is overwhelming at tmes.

Late dinner is available (10pm, probably not late enough for some) and there is a fish market at the back where you can choose from fresh arrivals.

Overall a great dining experience and we are definitively going to be back again, and again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Llegault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    39
    26
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

When Portus Calle opened, 10 years ago,we were few people to know the place and it was a well kept secret : food was excellent, prices were very attractive, size of each portion of tapas was generous and service was very friendly and very attentive...
So I was very happy when one of my friend made a reservation last week. What a disapointment! Prices have skyrocketed and size of portions followed the opposite path : 17.5$ for one spoon. (ok, let's say one spoon and a half of crab cake : seriously?) I wouldn't mind if it was absolutely divine but it isn't the case : food is, at best , good. For all the tapas we took, we had the same feeling : taste ok but too expensive for the portion you get. This feeling was shared by most of the guests around the table.
Even the chocolate fudge, that were amazing 10 years ago, were simply ok, the kind of you can find at places like Steak Frites.
Service was not very efficient nor friendly.
But you can see People now and the Chef has written a book.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BurnoFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cuisine you will never forget...”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fabulous! Look no further for an epicurean experience you will never forget. From walking through the front door to being bid adieu, there is absolutely nothing that you could Not be totally in awe The kitchen moves like finely wound watch...with each passing second Helena, was carefully paying attention every plate that passed through the kitchen, with a final approval before being served. The servers and managers, the wine cellar, this was definitely one of the finest dining experiences we have ever had. Bravo

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Montreal”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I work next door. I have been at Portus Calle over 20 times, mostly for lunch, sometimes at night. They are good. The dining room is comfortable, the service is good, but you go there for the food.

For lunch they usually offer three fish plates and one choice of meet for the rest. This is a statement, this is a place for fish, seafood, and then the rest. More precisely, for lunch, you will have a choice of appetizer, the main dish and a small dessert at a fixed price. After such a lunch, you are not hungry, not so much because of the quantity of food you had, but because you have eaten so well that you feel good.

From time to time, I get a combination of tapas, especially at night. This is very good as well.

I know my comment may look as a "plug", but check me out, I am not always that positive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An unforgettable meal”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had received a gift card for 150$ to spend at Portus Calle. We asked the waiter what he suggested considering we were willing to spend 150$ + whatever necessary to ensure a good meal. He suggested the taster's menu (menu degustation). At first I was hesitant but I decided to give it a shot. This menu is priced at 65$ per person (no alcohol included). What a meal! We started off with a few delicious tapas: tuna tataki (really tasty), tomato/goat cheese salad (good), cod fritters (yummy!), garlic shrimp (amazing), seared scallop (fantastic), and grilled octupus (very tender). Then they brought us a main dish each consisting of chilean sea bass - cooked to perfection, and a side of some fanstastic mashed potatoes, as well as some squash, rapini and mushrooms. Then they brought out a meat platter (as if we weren't already full) with an insanely tender veal shank, some Portuguese steaks topped with quail eggs, a mountain of fries and salad. To say the least, we were impressed. When we were ready to ask for the bill, the waiter came out with a dessert platter of various (amazing) Portuguese desserts. It was honestly fantastic, and we really recommend the Taster's menu!

P.s. they offer free valet parking and coat check!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VanGian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portus Calle also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Portus Calle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing