We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montreal's Crown Jewel”
Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Crystal
Ranked #12 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This is the most magnificent property, the BEST location and the service is extraordinaire.

Walk to St. Catherine and Crescent St, the Bell Center or arrange for the Bellman to take you to "Old Montreal." It just doesn't get any more convenient.

The nightlife, no taxi needed. The fabulous restaurants, no taxi needed. Sporting events, across the street. Concerts, I'm sure this is were the "stars'" stay.

The accommodations are superb, Internet access is FREE. A beautiful spa, excellent fitness equipment (with a view) and salt water pool and hot tub. The outdoor deck has a view of Mont Royal and the setting sun, BYOB.

You can't go wrong at the Crystal, I wish they'd franchise so I could stay at them worldwide.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayZorA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,634)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Crystal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2009

I booked this hotel through hotwire, the website where the name of the hotel is revealed after full payment. I was pleased to learn that I had booked the Crystal as I had already read the positive reviews. The Crystal is located in downtown Montreal, just opposite of the Bell Centre. The blocks surrounding the hotel are dull but it is short walk to shopping streets and about 15 min to the old town.

My room was well appointed and equipped. It consisted of a kitchenette, a work and living room area and a separate bed room. The colours are soft and natural, maybe a tad boring. Both bedroom and living room have large flat screens. I was very content with the ample storage space and the ipod dock on the desk. Internet is free of charge and worked fine.

The double bed was extremely comfortable but very narrow. I would recommend duos to book a room with twin beds.

The health club has modern equipment and a small swimming pool and a jaccuzzi with a view, I am now having a delicious lunch in the restaurant while writing this review. My only major complaint would be the breakfast buffet which is very limited. I had breakfast in cafes in the area instead.

I would say this is a top choice for business travellers. Tourists might be better off choosing a hotel in the old town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed at Le Crystal for a long weekend in one of the two room suites (512). The room was excellent and spotless, included two flat screens, a comfortable living area and bedroom. Microwave, dishware, espresso maker were all in the room and the bathroom was huge, with double sinks, stand up shower and separate tub. Staff was very friendly and helped us find a great sushi spot (called Zen-Ya which we highly recommend. It's a little hard to find, but worth it once you get inside). Angelo's Italian) was also very good. We parked in the valet for $26/day, although there is outdoor parking across the street at $10/day if you don't mind the open lot. The gym and roof top were great as well. We thought the hotel is in the best location out of most of the other top choices, just around the corner from Crescent. We will definately stay here again when back in Montreal.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Bit surprised by some of the rapturous reviews on the site-yes, the hotel is good value for money compared to other cities around the world, but it is in no way comparable to some of the top 5 star establishments. The foyer area is rather sterile and uninviting, restaurant food is quite good but breakfast is appalling! No freshly squeezed juice (or even Tropicana for that matter!), meagre selection of pastries and the worst coffee we had in Montreal. For a city with such great restaurants it was shocking, and room service was no better. However, the coffee in the Millesme cafe was not too bad, so it's worth paying the extra and getting your morning coffee there. For a hotel that's only a year old, you can already see signs of wear and tear-our carpet in the executice suite was rather badly stained, and the room was filled with the smell of smoke, which to be fair the staff did try to rectify.The kitchen area was nice, and I'm sure that if you bring a young family it is very convenient as there was a separate shower room/toilet and a sofa bed in the livign room area. The room was spacious (as we had the most expensive room bar the penthouse suite which was not available) but it wasn't exactly kitted out luxuriously and it's obvious they used cheap materials to build everything. However, the spa is nice, gym just ok, pool area hit and miss. Breakfast sorely needs improving, and staff could be a little more knowledgeable.Also turn down needs to be until later in the day, who wants their curtains all closed at 4pm?There are a LOT of curtains!STaff were perfectly nice and the bell boys/valet service was good. ALso free internet was very useful.Not sure if I would stay here again, but possibly if we came with a small family.The area is near shops and nice department stores, but Montreal has more charming neighbourhoods.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Londongal82LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Loved, loved, loved this hotel! The location is perfect -- a block from shopping on St. Catherine's and 3 to 4 blocks from the Peel metro station.

For the tech-savvy/intrigued, your room key powers the room. Loved the wetbar w/ microwave and mini-fridge. The wireless internet was unavailable most of my stay; however, the computers downstairs did the job.

The staff was very accommodating; however, be sure to press the "Do not Disturb" button before going to bed --housekeeping rang my doorbell 3 times (before 10am) the first morning! The frontdesk staff was very helpful. I had trouble unlocking the safe and they sent a technician up in 5 min who resolved the issue. I had an early flight out and the valets/bellboys ensured a cab was waiting to take me to the airport.

Le Crystal is a wonderful hotel and I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2vacay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We came with a large group and got 5 rooms for 4 nights. I would have to say, the service was incredible. Not one of the rooms complained about ANYTHING.....trust me, with my group that would have found something. This may not be a family style hotel, but this is the spot for those special weekends when you need to get away. All suites, awesome restaurant with a patio & DJ.

Close to everything, shops, bars, night clubs, restaurants, anything you need.

Montreal is great, but you better spend the cash and stay at the LeCrystal, its worth it. I give props to the house keeping crew, they had a lot of work and they maintained that place like no other.

Thank You Francais (Frank) and the rest of the staff. Hope you will let our roudy bunch come back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at Le Crystal for 4 nights and we had an amazing time in Montreal and at this hotel. The staff and service were top notch. The accommodations were immaculate and stylish without being snooty. There was nothing to complain about. The saltwater pool and rooftop jacuzzi were great pluses( much welcomed after walking the streets of Montreal)...I already miss the city and the hotel...WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rombom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,444 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,653 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,380 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#49 of 165 in Montreal
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Crystal

Address: 1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montreal
#4 Business Hotel in Montreal
#4 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#9 Family Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $199 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Le Crystal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST DOWNTOWN LOCATION, CLOSEST HOTEL FROM THE BELL CENTER **Starbucks Store including the Reserve products** Visit our new Bistro Laurentien La Coupole. Improve ambiance, great lounge, nice terrace and delicious meals. New concept starring Quebec's produce. During your stay, be sure to make time for the indoor saltwater pool, outdoor hot tub and Swedish sauna on our 12th floor rooftop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Crystal Hotel
Le Crystal Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing