We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Accommodations!”
Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Crystal
Ranked #13 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Accommodations!”
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at Le Crystal for 4 nights and we had an amazing time in Montreal and at this hotel. The staff and service were top notch. The accommodations were immaculate and stylish without being snooty. There was nothing to complain about. The saltwater pool and rooftop jacuzzi were great pluses( much welcomed after walking the streets of Montreal)...I already miss the city and the hotel...WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rombom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    339
    88
    28
    12
See reviews for
358
557
56
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Let's get the bad out of the way...Breakfast may be the worst in Montreal. Below ays Inn quality...We could not even eat it, and this is the third time we tried it. Ended up walking to Chez Cora nearby which is about the best breakfast in town.
This is my third stay, and my room was not ready by check in time 2 out of 3 times. Recommend getting there 90 minutes after check in or call ahead on your way in to see if room is ready. WOW is that lame...
Otherwise the hotel is very nice. Service is that typical Quebecois trying to be nice but you can tell they are really trying hard. Rooms are clean and spacious, we had an executive suite which was nice. Location could not be better. The new bar in the hotel is very nice, especially the outdoor part in summer.
Expect to pay at least 30-40% more in summer than winter. Do not order room service if you can help it. It was very lame. With so many restaurants nearby you should really get out and eat as much as possible.
I will stay here again, but I would not recommend bringing any kids under age 16. It is really meant for adults, unlike Loews Vogue which caters to kids and upscale guests as well.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suitelifevt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

This was a beautiful hotel in the heart of downtown Montreal. Steps to shopping and many restaurants. Staff was very friendly, we arrived at noon and they let us have our room right away, which was appreciated. The room was immaculate. The little kitchen area was convenient and beautiful, grantie countertops, equipped with microwave, stove, sink, coffee/espresso/cappucino machine. The bedroom was a separate room, closed off from the rest of the suite with sliding doors. The living area was nice and spacious as was the balcony, furnished with tables and chairs to sit outside. Bathroom was beautiful but didn't have a bath tub, just a large shower. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1frequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We spent five days at Le Crystal in July and after reviewing the web site were expecting a comfortable suite with amenities. But we did not expect the sheer pleasure of the quality of this hotel. A beautiful spacious room with separate king bedroom, enormous bath with soaking tub and separate shower, twin sinks, storage well beyond what we have ever seen in a hotel, Nepresso machine which delighted us every morning, the wonderful pool and spa. A joy to return to each evening after exploring the delights of Montreal. But what made this hotel even better was the quality of the staff, cheerful, pleasant and helpful without being cloying. Everyone we met: the desk staff, valets, the waitress at breakfast, the pool staff and especially our concierge. The staff should be commended. On another note: we finished our visit with dinner at Europee, truly an experience with an endless series of desserts. But we also delighted in a little restaurant around the corner on Crescent, Bistro le The au Logis, with a wonderful choice of teas and fresh, beautifully prepared, Korean specialities well adapted to Western tastes. Charming service, an elegant chef and her son, intriguing art work. A delight!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doublebtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Firstly, I can easily recommend this property. It is an all suite property for a price that would get you a nice room at similar hotels in the city. The suite we stayed in reminded me of a nice executive corporate apartment, which I believe the developer was selling within the higher floors of this building.

Several days prior to arrival, I called to request dinner reservations, including a late reservation for Au Pied de Cochon. They pulled through, which I really appreciated.

An unfortunate event during our stay was out of the hotel's control. The city has a planned water shut off, which interfered with our ability to get ready in the morning. It seemed like it took hours for the rusty water to clear out of the system. But it did give me an additional appreciation of the very large bathroom with a large separate enclosed shower and top notch hardware. Toiletries were very high quality. I wish the management had been of greater assistance. All they offered were two small bottles of their house label water.

Lunch downstairs was a good bargain, but was of just okay quality.

Location is on de la Montagne, but seemed to be a little on the edge of the most desirable segment of this street.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xiphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clovis CA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

A most hospitable staff and concierge made this stay worthwhile. The room service was excellent and quick. Bath amenities were superb and included a "rain shower" which was delightful. Lots of interesting magazines were near the tv in the sitting area; the bedroom tv was also very convenient.
The 8th floor room had some utility room next to it which was extremely loud and woke me up every single evening...several times a night. That was very disturbing and the only negative. But a BIG negative! I would not have stayed in that room but my daughter didnt want to repack.
Le Crystal is located close to several great pubs, Rosalies, and the superb Chez le Mere Michel...and two blocks from great shopping.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

I'm not 100% clear how the TripAdvisor rankings work, but I'm sure the equation takes into account the overall number of reviews. Being only 1 year old, Le Crystal must not have enough overall reviews, because make no mistake about it, this is THE nicest hotel in the city! I travel to Montreal at least 3 times/year and have been doing so for several years. I have yet to stay in the same hotel twice, just because there has always been room for improvement. That is, until now. All the previous reviews are right on: the highest quality bed and linens you will experience anywhere, exceptional service, high class furnishings, a bathroom to die for, and the quietest suites ever. Even the doors to each suite are quiet- slow closing, and completely sealed so absolutely no hallway noise gets through. The pool and hot tub area are beautiful. The location is central. Perfect. The only issue may be the price; there are other nice hotels around (although not as nice) such as the Gault, Germain (although in need of some updating) and the Loews up the street. I managed a decent price on skyauction, but they will have to try to stay competitive price wise. If you can afford it, well go for it! (just make sure you take the Metro and walk and explore the Plateau/Mont Royal area and not just spend your time downtown). La Colombe on Duluth- small French Bistro worth the trip to Montreal in itself!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr.weinerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,366 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 164 in Montreal
986 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,507 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Crystal

Property: Hotel Le Crystal
Address: 1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montreal
#4 Business Hotel in Montreal
#4 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#9 Family Hotel in Montreal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Le Crystal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST DOWNTOWN LOCATION, CLOSEST HOTEL FROM THE BELL CENTER **Starbucks Store including the Reserve products** Visit our new Bistro Laurentien La Coupole. Improve ambiance, great lounge, nice terrace and delicious meals. New concept starring Quebec's produce. During your stay, be sure to make time for the indoor saltwater pool, outdoor hot tub and Swedish sauna on our 12th floor rooftop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Crystal Hotel
Le Crystal Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing