We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel next to Bell Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Crystal
Ranked #14 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hotel next to Bell Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Le Crystal on a Thursday evening in January. The hotel is truly well run. We arrived early for check-in and the front desk never commented on our early arrival and put us in our room - provided us with bottled water in the lobby and helped us with dinner options and reservations as well as oriented us on a city map. The concierge left us a handwritten note in our room regarding our completed dinner reservations. All top-notch.

The rooms are very well appointed. Ours had a fireplace – huge bathroom & tub – espresso machine – (which is excellent) stocked mini-bar with two complimentary beers on ice. An I-pad / phone docking station in which to play our music. All very welcoming.

The pool / saunas and hot tub on the 12th floor is very nice – great views of the city. The pool was a bit cool for our liking but otherwise it is well done. It was enjoyable to be in a hot tub outside in January in Montreal on the 12th floor of a hotel.

Location: If you are coming for an event at the Bell Centre – It could not be much closer. You can see the Bell Centre front façade from the hotel lobby.

Overall I would highly recommend this as a great place to get away with your special someone.

Room Tip: There is some construction going on around the Bell Centre - ask to be placed on far side of constru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Hamel, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello VTPete,

Thank you for your review. It's appreciate to read great comments. I'm glad that we exceed your expectations. See you soon during an event at the Bell Center or for business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    327
    84
    29
    12
See reviews for
348
538
52
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

You might even be lucky enough to see some visiting team hockey players , who would be staying there. Great location and there are some funky rooms with balconies. In the heart of downtown Montreal with access to where the action is :-))

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvdabeach619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Hamel, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello Luvdabeach619,

Thank you for your review. Hôtel Le Crystal is the place to be for all NHL Fans. Located just beside the Bell Center.

See you soon for business or at the next Habs game
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very comfortable hotel, in a great location off of the busy St Catherine street. Right next to the Montreal Canadien's Bell Centre, and a short trip from the Plateau. This is my go to hotel when I am in Montreal. The service is great, and so are the rooms. It is very modern and new, and it feels very clean inside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Hamel, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello Nick T,

Thank you for your review. As you mentioned, our location is central. Ste-Catherine for shopping, Bell Center or typical neighberhood of Montreal.

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The executive suite that we stayed in was amazing. Very comfortable and the service was above expectations. The spa and pool was very private and child friendly (with full time life guard). We stay 4 days and felt pampered from beginning to end. Rudy at "Rudy Limousines" gave us a personal tour of Montreal, it included amazing pastries, hot bagels and Montreal smoked meat, not to mention the historic sites of Montreal. We now know that our next trip to Montreal we will definitely be staying at "Hotel Le Crystal". Thank you all, Staff and Rudy Limousines.

The Tribbles

Room Tip: The executive suite that we requested was large, sunny, queit, with an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Hamel, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello Lance T,

Thank you for your review. Rudy is amazing. I'm glad you had a hot bagels. They are the best in the world... even better the in NYC.
See you soon with your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Very disappointing overall experience, very noisy, right on top of construction site. Service was ok, but not 5stars. Rooms lacked warmth, decor is outdated, bed is not comfortable. Will never rebook there.

Room Tip: Room was dusty. Beds are not comfortable. Duvets are low quality. Ask to have a room that is not lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natacha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Hamel, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello Natacha,

Thank your for your review. I read your review on TA. I'm disapointed to see that you didn't have a great experience.

I'm glad to tell you that most of your comments were corrected.

We have new mattress top, duvet and pillows in our suites. We also changed most of the furnitures in our suites since your last visit.

See you soon in Montreal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Came to this hotel five years ago when it had just opened and were the first to stay in our room. We liked it so much we thought we would come back one day and when we were stuck in Montreal for a night due to East coast snows it was the perfect excuse.

Lovely deluxe suite with a tv in the lounge and bedroom. Large bath and rain shower. Bed was large and very comfortable. Service was very friendly and unstuffy staff. They installed a DVD player for us for no charge (unlike the intercontinental down the road who wanted 40 bucks).

Spa was open and outdoor hot tub on the roof was very nice. It was slightly cold but the real feel was -35 centigrade so this was understandable.

Location is great for shops and restaurants. Stay here if in town. Treat yourself.

Room Tip: We went for the deluxe suite to get the bath and larger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VerreauxEagleOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Hamel, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello UkDazza,

Thank you for your great review. You were very lucky to be the first to stay in your suite at the opening and make it again 5 years later.

Don't wait another 5 years to visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I love the Crystal for many reasons, but have noticed some maintenance issues the past two stays (October and December). The hotel just celebrated its 5th anniversary- while 5 years is not old , especially by Montreal hotel standards, 5 years does bring with it considerable wear and tear. But before the critical, the reasons why the Crystal remains my first choice in Montreal: (1) The suites. I am typically in Montreal for work and need to spend several hours per day doing work in my room; it is nice to have a separate bedroom so it feels like you are in an apartment instead of working in your bedroom, (2) Nespresso machines! Only hotel I know of in Montreal with in-room Nespresso machines. I have stayed at other hotels with no in-room coffee (GASP) like Sofitel and the Gault, or substandard Keurig style machines (St. Martin). (3). Interior sound-proofing. I have never stayed in a hotel that is so quiet. You do not hear any noise from above or adjacent units. Last time we had a family with 2 small children as neighbours- only know that because we saw them in the hallway- otherwise would not have known. (4) Sauna! Not many hotels around with functioning saunas but I love it- the pool, hottub, sauna area is never crowded and is very nice, (5) the beds and bedding are top quality, (6) the service is fantastic. So all good. Now the critical...(1) maintenance. The last trip we were in a front suite with balcony on 9th floor. In October we were in a larger tower room on the 8th floor. Both rooms had a great layout but the wall shelves in bathroom were coming off the wall, the shower heads were clogged, the lamps were stained and shades damaged, several doors of built-in wardrobes were off their hinges. In the 9th floor room the lock on the door was loose, the windows were iced up on the inside- you couldn't sit on sofa because it was so cold by the windows (no heat vent on that side of room), and the sofa was ripped and stained; in the 8th floor room, the carpet was stained badly, the air vents covered in dust, and the kitchen cupboards were sticky. (2) cleanliness- while the speak of their cleaning standards, the cleaning staff somehow fails to see the hand prints on interior doors and trim, the dust on the baseboards, the stains on cupboard doors. The carpets need shampooing and the sofas are dingy. Many marks on bathroom door and door trim. I don't mean to sound overly critical- I will be back- but I hate to see such a great hotel starting to slip. The weird thing is that you can purchase a hotel room- so I am not sure if the same standards of maintenance apply to all units? They need some more thorough inspections and attention given to cleaning or replacing carpets, trim, sofa's and light fixtures. Hopefully they will do this- it is such a great building with great amenities and service.

Room Tip: Larger (more expensive suites) are on the front- much larger but face construction. Smaller rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr.weinerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingCrystal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Mr Weinerdog,

we would like to thank you for your recent review about Hotel Le Crystal.
We are glad to read that Hotel Le Crystal is your hotel of choice when coming in Montreal.
Suites, Nespresso machines, sound proofing, oasis on 12th floor, bed and service are effectively some of our best features!

About your concerns regarding the maintenance, we would like to thank you again to have took the time to address them. After 5 years, even if it is not really old for an hotel, we have some correction and improvements to do to our rooms that have already been started in some of our suites.

We are taking note of all your comment to improve this process.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back again in 2014.

Happy New Year !

Guylaine
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Crystal

Property: Hotel Le Crystal
Address: 1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Montreal
#4 Business Hotel in Montreal
#4 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#9 Family Hotel in Montreal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Le Crystal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANNOUNCEMENT **Starbucks Store including the Reserve products** Visit our new Bistro Laurentien La Coupole. Improve ambiance, great lounge, nice terrace and delicious meals. New concept starring Quebec's produce. During your stay at our five-star Montreal hotel, be sure to make time for the indoor saltwater pool, outdoor hot tub and Swedish sauna on our 12th floor rooftop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Crystal Hotel
Le Crystal Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing