We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay if you need to be on south shore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Montreal-Longueuil
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Longueuil
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay if you need to be on south shore”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Like others have mentioned, if you are visiting Montreal as a tourist, this is not the place to stay. Yes, the Metro (subway) is right outside the door, but, there is really nowhere to walk around in Longueul near this hotel, However, if you have a reason to be in Longueuil or nearby, as we did, this is a good hotel.

We spent the nights of Dec 30 and 31st at the Sandman to be close to family. Based on reviews here, I was a little worried, but, it was just a normal typical hotel - in a good way. Clean, seemingly new furnishings, rooms had space, reception was nice and friendly, efficient in both French and English, free and convenient parking, free wifi (could be a little slow after dinner time). Check out was fast. I have no idea what else one would expect in a mid-range hotel like this. We would happily stay here again while visiting.

We did not try the pool, but we looked at it - there were kids having a good time, lots of natural light.

A few small items to note: We had a hard time keeping the room at the perfect temperature. With the heat on even low, it got quite warm and with the heat off, it cooled down quickly - but it probably would have been better if we had closed the curtains on the large floor-to-ceiling windows. Again, this was a very small thing. We was on the 10th floor (out of 16), and with only 2 elevators it was a long wait for one just before checkout time on a busy day. After one elevator came and was so full already I couldn't fit, I chose to walk down the 10 flights of stairs, only to discover that you couldn't get out of the stairwell on the Lobby level, so I had to walk back up to the 2nd floor and wait for an elevator anyway.

Note - breakfast was an additional $9 downstairs, but we ate elsewhere so I cannot comment on that.

Summary - for price and location for our needs, we will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have a better view, but there are only 2 elevators which can be busy just before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndieDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    193
    116
    43
    25
See reviews for
144
139
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have been to this hotel several times but it was the first time we had to complain. We got a good price and as always the room were clean, good service and free parking. But this time the indoor pool was inaccessible. The room temperature was 15 celcius and the pool itself was just freezing. There was sand at the bottom of the pool. We complained and were told that due to the holiday it was impossible to maintain the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Firstly, the hotel in not in Montreal, but in Longueuil, on the south shore of the St Lawrence River, a long way from Montreal. One would stay there only if he/she had business in Longueuil or needed a place to stay when driving by (the hotel is just off the highway). Going to Montreal takes a 15 minute subway ride (station is nearby) of a 30 minute taxi ride off peak. Lots of parking space outdoors. Hotel is not within walking distance to any entertainement spots at night.

Room Tip: Try to stay close to south end to minimize noise from highway trafic. Heating is by hot air blower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbertoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here one night with a large group and shared a twin room. The bed was good and since we checked in quite late there wasn't much else to do but sleep! They have vending machines on each level however since the machine on our level was out of water we went to ask reception who directed us to the adjacent convenience shop.

I felt the room furnishings was a bit outdated, our room had a view of the highway but it was comfortable enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaluga, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

First of all I want to tell what I didn’t like about the hotel. Despite the thing that the subway station is just 2 minutes of walking from the hotel, it’s located in the middle of nowhere, i.e if you want to walk around at night (when the transport doesn’t operate) and visit some bars or clubs it would be difficult to do. Despite this, the staff there is nice, I forgot a toothbrush and they were too kind to give it to me for free. The Rooms are large and bright. If you have an opportunity, try to book a room on the top floors, in this case you will be able to observe Montreal. To my mind this hotel is quite average but prices there are high.
P.S.: they have a swimming pool over there.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Very horrible experience at the sandman hotel, water was brown coming out of sink, showers were cold, took forever for the water to heat up and the second night found our pillow was covered in Mould!!!!!! When we asked to be accommodated for our trouble we were told to wait till our check out date to ask the manager. Very horrible experience there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jscott198618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Longueuil hotels

Rastatt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located on the south side of the river near the island where the Canadian GP is held. The Metro is about a minutes walk, and you are downtown in under 15 minutes. A 3day pass is to be had for 16 dollars and is good on all trains and buses.

the rooms are comfortable, if perhaps a bit dated. The bathroom in our room (1019) was in need of renovation (paint on the ceiling is flaking).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starfighter441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longueuil
Hotel Brossard
#1 of 10 in Brossard
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel L'Express
#5 of 8 in Longueuil
48 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Universel Montreal
Hotel Universel Montreal
#74 of 164 in Montreal
463 reviews
Hotel Mortagne
#1 of 3 in Boucherville
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Montreal-Longueuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Montreal-Longueuil

Property: Sandman Hotel Montreal-Longueuil
Address: 999 rue de Serigny, Longueuil, Quebec J4K 2T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Longueuil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Longueuil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Montreal-Longueuil 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Canada's most popular tourist destinations, Montreal boasts a range of entertainment, events, and activities. An arts scene like no other, come experience Montreal with Sandman Hotel Montreal-Longueuil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Montreal-Longueuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Montreal Longueuil Hotel Longueuil
Sandman Hotel Montreal Longueuil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing