We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Romantic Interlude”

Restaurant Meridional
Ranked #1 of 405 Restaurants in Longueuil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant Meridional is fine dining mediterranean restaurant. Inspired by the Costa del Sol, in Spain and the Cote d'Azur in France, our restaurant specializes in French and Spanish cuisine. The calm, relaxing, ambience is perfect for romantic couples wishing to be intimate or big groups who party till the late hours with no worries. Come and find out why this gem is favourite place for most our customers and what keeps them coming back for more.
Reviewed March 30, 2017

This charming and delightful restaurant has plenty of ambiance and warmth. The interior is soothingly lit with art work which graces its walls. The food is delicious and the service is impeccable. Chef Kamal personally comes to your table to delight you in conversation. You could not find a more pleasing dining experience for you and that cherished other.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 122 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2017

Absolutely wonderful - hands down the best meal I had in my week in Montreal. The chef came to the table personally to explain the dishes, which were all divine. Very good service, excellent food, nice setting. Can't recommend highly enough!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JakeStone00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl D, Manager at Restaurant Meridional, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

Thank you, Jake. We appreciate you giving us a try. There are so many good restaurants in Montreal, so the fact that you chose to visit us means a lot to us.
We try to offer an unique experience only found at Meridional. Our chef is World-Class and a perfectionist at his craft. He enjoys speaking to guests, especially ones from out of town. It gives him a chance to exchange stories, learn what you like and create a dish he knows you will enjoy.
We hope to see again next time your in Montreal. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2016

The restaurant was a little hidden away in the bottom floor of what appeared to be an old school, but it was worth finding. The chef/owner helped us navigate the menu (no English menus). We started with the best hummus we've ever had, then a great pureed root vegetable soup. I had an amazing filet and my husband had a thick, tender veal chop. A little cous cous, then a lime mousse and chocolate cake for dessert topped off a wonderful dinner experience! I would definitely recommend this unique restaurant.

1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl D, Manager at Restaurant Meridional, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendation, Susan. We are happy to hear you and your husband enjoyed your meals. That hummus is home-made. You won't find it anywhere except Meridional.
Our chef is really talented. Not many chefs know how to make several types of cuisines. Not to mention dessert. Come back soon and I'm positive you and your husband will find something else you like. Until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Everything was excellent. At first I was a bit taken back by the menu but the chef came to explain it better to us (waitress not so good with English but overall her service was very good). The menu (and this was a weekend evening) was the price for a six course dinner. Usually, we don't order so many courses and skip dessert (and we had our two kids with us). Because we had youger kids the chef made an exception for them and they had 3 courses at a lower price.

Everyone enjoyed the meal and we were all quite satisfied. We had a much better meal for the same price as single course, ligher fare, meal in Old Montreal.

I would certainly vist again on our next trip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl D, Manager at Restaurant Meridional, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

Hi Ted. Thank for the nice review. Your feedback was helpful. We apologize about the french-only menus. We are updating them and making sure to include english version. We don't get many english-only guests. Fortunately our chef enjoys talking with people and doesn't mind adjusting his menu to accommodate you and your family. With so many restaurants in Montreal, we're happy you chose to dine with us.
We hope the rest of your trip went well and we hope to see you the next time you visit Montreal. (We'll have those menus ready for you.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

We visited this little jem of a place last night for an intimate birthday dinner. We were a group of 6 adults and the vote was unanimous - everything was perfect!
We go out regularly and are so often disappointed by the quality of either the service or of the food (or both!), so this was such a refreshing dining experience.
The husband and wife duo is great. With chef Kamal who actually takes the time to come explain the menu and to chat about everything from the ingredients he uses to his cooking experiences from all over the world, combined with his wife's sense of humor and personalized service - the mix is perfect!

The menu offers a nice variety and everything is homemade from fresh ingredients. It's obvious that the chef's appreciation for food is real and that he enjoys putting his personal touch to traditional fare. Being 6 guests, we tried different items on the menu, and everyone polished their plates. The appetizers, main entrée and dessert were all simply pefect.

The decor is simple and the dining room is intimate... and more importantly, everything is clean! Over the years, we have developed a new appreciation for places that are genuinely clean as they seem to heading towards extinction. From the polished cutlery, to the fresh table linens, everything is spotless!

This place sticks out from the rest and is definately worth a try, we can't wait to go back!

2  Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl D, Manager at Restaurant Meridional, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

Thank you, Faye. Thank you very much for amazing review and recommendation. You absolutely nailed it. Everything you said, describes us exactly.
I agree with you about the industry. A lot of good restaurants are having a hard time. Many people, recently, have been looking for quick and cheap places to eat but we believe that high quality food and customer service are very important. Not to mention the overall guest's experience. These finer details take time and patience, which no one seems to have anymore. This is what sets Meridional apart these days. We still care... a lot. So thank you for noticing all the little efforts we put into your experience. We're happy you got to try a variety of dishes enjoyed them all. Hopefully we can do it all again at the next birthday.
We can't wait to have you back. You and your friends are welcome any time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Meridional also viewed

 
Longueuil, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Meridional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing