We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to be a charm” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Delices de Chine - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Les Delices de Chine
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Used to be a charm”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Have eaten here for many years, unfortunately since the change in ownership (a few years ago) it had been on the decline. I really don't want to be hard as the staff tries to be friendly and accommodating. It's the quality of the food. Maybe with these negative reviews they will go back to the old way of doing things as really there aren't many Chinese buffets in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MARY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not really good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Whole restaurant really needs renovation. The buffet was mostly empty and the food that was available was generally not good enough. The egg rolls are the only thing I'd go back for. The service was mediocre at best. Maybe the buffet is better when the restaurant is busy and they actually put lots of fresh food in it…I might never find out!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JOANNIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nothing worth writing about! All and all just bad. Buffet not hot, food was scarce.waitress was loud and obnoxious, the place needs a make over.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

First, the postive. The receptionist was very polite and fluent in English and French. Ordered a hot and sour soup which was decent.
Now the negative. The food was the least authentic Asian food I have ever had in my life. Ordered a Chow Mein and got a bunch of chop suey...no noodles. Ordered a chicken fried rice, no veggies, no egg just bland rice and chicken. I got the feeling that they don't know what Asian food is supposed to tase like...as if they read a recipe off the internet. It's like ordering a hot chocolate and getting a piece of chocolate that was put in the microwave for 30 seconds - is it edible? Yes. But it's just not what it's supposed to be.

Helpful?
Thank SalseroWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food despite new owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I went to this Chinese restaurant recently with my friends and as a long time customer, I was surprised the owner sold the restaurant. However, from what I learned they came from the same family to continue the legacy. Anyhow, the food remain the same and by surprised they changed varieties. The new garlic green bean and also the new pork with black sauce that replaced the Beijing spareribs tasted quite nice.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan99_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Delices de Chine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing