We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint location and high end dining experience at a value price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Mitoyen

Le Mitoyen
Ranked #10 of 668 Restaurants in Laval
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quaint location and high end dining experience at a value price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The dining experience in a Paris restaurant in a quaint corner of old Ste-Dorothee Laval. The food is most definitely inspired by the city of light, the price isomer Montreal suburb.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moscit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    15
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Once great... no longer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I had been regular patrons of the restaurant Le Mitoyen for years, having even bought the chef's cookbook. However, the restaurant took a turn for the worse upon our last visit... the pétoncles were still frozen in the middle, the service was horrendous. Sad to see such a great place turn into a sidekick for the restaurant's owner, who no longer seems to care about this once gem of the culinary world; being much more attentive to his other place in chic Outremount. Just like he has abandonned Le Mitoyen. we have as well. To be avoided, but his other restarant Le Lémeac is quite good at two times the price.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jhatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A pleasure for the palate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I recently went to this restaurant for dinner with neighbours who hadn't been before. I love this restaurant as it is in an old ouse tucked back away from the road with a park with a fountain in front for visual impact. A little futher you see an old church across the street. It just adds to the sense of regal ambience which is culminated by an exceptional menu with odd ( but very tasty) starters and main dishes. With a penchant towards wild game this restaurant prepares its' food for people to enjoy a mouthful at a time. This is not a restaurant to go to if you are in any rush. They have a great wine cellar and the service at the table is prompt curtious and well spoken. as my neighbours said at the end of the evening, "this was an exceptional find with a fabulous meal and great vibe for a classy evening". Very easy to recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GregoryBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A real gem: amazing food and amazing service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and i live nearby this restaurant and often heard many good reviews. Though it is a bit pricy, and the main reason why we waited so long to go, its VERY worth it!

We had a lovely table for 2 in the terrasse in front of the restaurant. The restaurant is set in the old Saint-Dorothee county where you feel very cozy. The restaurant is actually an old ancestral house of over 100 years old. So this in itself enrichess the experience.

The service was impeccable! The waiter was so courteous that we wondered if he took a high level course!

The food was... splendid! I cannot put into words how the food took my «saliva» away! Its absolutely sublime! A true gastronomic experience we are not soon to forget! WE will definitely come back again and encourage everyone to go there!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maribelle444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good french cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Nice restaurant in an old house in Laval. They have several rooms and during winter time, try to reserve the seats in the small room with the fire place. The food is good and the service is professional. If you like foie gras and french food is a place to try.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RioMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mitoyen also viewed

 

Been to Le Mitoyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing