We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, cozy and comfortable, although some under-trained staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Montagnais Saguenay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chicoutimi
Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean, cozy and comfortable, although some under-trained staff...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

First impressions walking through the doors of this hotel:

Clean, more beautiful on the inside than the outside and the hotel seemed much larger than it seemed from the outside as well. Staff were polite.

First impression of the room:

Very clean and cozy. A lot of the lights in the room were set to be very dim, although, it wasn't annoying, but gave a more relaxing feel to the room.

The hotel offered several amenities: Bar and Restaurant, Gym overlooking the pool, Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Spa. I was VERY surprised to see that the basement floor of the Hotel had a modern-style nightclub, with a DJ that comes in on the weekends. Pretty impressive!

My only complaints were: When I decided to go to bed around 1130pm, I couldn't, because there were several young kids running around the hallway and screaming. I phoned reception and complained about the noise, it quieted down for about 10 minutes, then started again. I called a second time, they came back up to talk to the people, but then again, 10 minutes later the noise continued. I decided to give up and just try to filter out the sound with a pillow.

In the morning, my group was trying to check-out, but the young Gentleman working at reception did not seem too experienced at was he was doing; a two-minute job turned into a 15 minute job.

Overall, I had an alright experience at the hotel, but some things need to be fixed before I return for another night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    109
    60
    28
    18
See reviews for
60
59
7
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Due to my wife's serious illness and subsequent hospitalization in a nearby hospital, we had to disembark from a cruise ship and I spent six nights on a day-to-day basis in the hotel. I was very comfortable and the hotel staff was very accommodating in my situation, making me feel valued as a customer. I stayed in Tower C and while the furnishings were beginning to show their age, the room's outside access enabled me to choose to park at the door, while still staying at a four-star property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alise521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The renovated rooms in building D are very nice. Flat screen TV, lots of channels and decent internet. There is an indoor water park at this hotel which is really great if you bring children along and there is a lifeguard on duty which is really rare in most hotels. The front desk staff are ok, they could be nicer but I may have just been unlucky and hit the only person who was having a bad day..... As for their online booking system, it isn't great. This was my second time booking via the website and again, the reservation did not show up. Luckily, I had my confirmation number. The hotel is really well situated near restaurants, shopping malls and grocery stores. The only real issue with my stay was the really noisy AC system in the room.

Room Tip: I have been in building D a few times, the rooms with double beds on the lower floors aren't as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doophenshmitrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Zotique
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We are a group of approximately 40 friends who spend the winter together in Florida. We get together once a year in the summer for a nice meal and to reminisce. This year we met in Chicoutimi at le Montagnais. Our first impression was of a nice place but once we got our rooms, we were all very disappointed. The furniture was ok, but most of the rooms had a bad smell in the carpet but the worst was yet to come. The meal they served us was terrible (tourtiere du Lac St Jean - meatpie) had been overcooked and burnt. Two days later after returning home, I broke out with bed bug bites all over my body. This is not a hotel that i would recommend to anyone.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicoutimi hotels

Contrecoeur, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Well very bad experience for the price,bathroom full of long hair on are first look around,A/C beside making some noise never got the room to desired temps,pillows are way past they life expectancy and the cap that drains water from the bath was broken had to hold it with my tow so water would escape will taking my shower.
To expensive for what it is rooms are big but very old.it will be my last time.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms have nice king beds but ask for more pilows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Clean, bed comfortable, but no air circulation in section C. (old section)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

My room was small but fairly clean. The carpet and the furnitures were in good condition. Both beds were very very hard but I could smell the freshness (newly washed) of the bed sheets and covers. The heat and a/c was working well but had a very loud noise that camouflaged the noises coming from the hallway. The washroom needs to be renovated ASAP. Some of the grout near the tub were black and the ceiling had a funky seventies style to it. The toilet sit needs to be change - it was scary looking. I had plenty of towels that lasted me for three nights.

The location was great - near the groceries, convenient store, SAQ (liquor store), etc. There is a night club 'Eclipse' in the basement - what a bonus! The kids enjoyed their time in the pool.

In general the hotel needs renovation all around.

The hotel restaurant makes excellent SPAGHETTI SAUCE and the price is right. They don't serve everything on their menu - funny!!! Some of the waitress lacks finesse when comes to serving the customers, at times I felt like being served in a raunchy bar. They have to be picky with the words they use to the customers.

This is a very average hotel and paid approx. $398 canadian for 3 nights.

Room Tip: I saw 4 rooms and all were small size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglas41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicoutimi
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Sagueneenne
Hotel La Sagueneenne
#5 of 9 in Chicoutimi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
5.4 mi away
Delta Saguenay Hotel and Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Fjord
Hotel du Fjord
#3 of 9 in Chicoutimi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Chicoutimi
Hotel Chicoutimi
#6 of 9 in Chicoutimi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 9 in Chicoutimi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#8 of 9 in Chicoutimi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Montagnais Saguenay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Montagnais Saguenay

Property: Le Montagnais Saguenay
Address: 1080 Talbot Blvd, Chicoutimi, Saguenay, Quebec G7H 4B6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Region > Saguenay > Chicoutimi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chicoutimi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Montagnais Saguenay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Montagnais Saguenay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Montagnais Saguenay Hotel Chicoutimi
Le Montagnais Saguenay Chicoutimi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing