We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Montagnais Saguenay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chicoutimi
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice and Comfy”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The renovated rooms in building D are very nice. Flat screen TV, lots of channels and decent internet. There is an indoor water park at this hotel which is really great if you bring children along and there is a lifeguard on duty which is really rare in most hotels. The front desk staff are ok, they could be nicer but I may have just been unlucky and hit the only person who was having a bad day..... As for their online booking system, it isn't great. This was my second time booking via the website and again, the reservation did not show up. Luckily, I had my confirmation number. The hotel is really well situated near restaurants, shopping malls and grocery stores. The only real issue with my stay was the really noisy AC system in the room.

Room Tip: I have been in building D a few times, the rooms with double beds on the lower floors aren't as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doophenshmitrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    110
    61
    28
    18
See reviews for
61
60
7
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Zotique
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We are a group of approximately 40 friends who spend the winter together in Florida. We get together once a year in the summer for a nice meal and to reminisce. This year we met in Chicoutimi at le Montagnais. Our first impression was of a nice place but once we got our rooms, we were all very disappointed. The furniture was ok, but most of the rooms had a bad smell in the carpet but the worst was yet to come. The meal they served us was terrible (tourtiere du Lac St Jean - meatpie) had been overcooked and burnt. Two days later after returning home, I broke out with bed bug bites all over my body. This is not a hotel that i would recommend to anyone.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicoutimi hotels

Contrecoeur, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Well very bad experience for the price,bathroom full of long hair on are first look around,A/C beside making some noise never got the room to desired temps,pillows are way past they life expectancy and the cap that drains water from the bath was broken had to hold it with my tow so water would escape will taking my shower.
To expensive for what it is rooms are big but very old.it will be my last time.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms have nice king beds but ask for more pilows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Clean, bed comfortable, but no air circulation in section C. (old section)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My room was small but fairly clean. The carpet and the furnitures were in good condition. Both beds were very very hard but I could smell the freshness (newly washed) of the bed sheets and covers. The heat and a/c was working well but had a very loud noise that camouflaged the noises coming from the hallway. The washroom needs to be renovated ASAP. Some of the grout near the tub were black and the ceiling had a funky seventies style to it. The toilet sit needs to be change - it was scary looking. I had plenty of towels that lasted me for three nights.

The location was great - near the groceries, convenient store, SAQ (liquor store), etc. There is a night club 'Eclipse' in the basement - what a bonus! The kids enjoyed their time in the pool.

In general the hotel needs renovation all around.

The hotel restaurant makes excellent SPAGHETTI SAUCE and the price is right. They don't serve everything on their menu - funny!!! Some of the waitress lacks finesse when comes to serving the customers, at times I felt like being served in a raunchy bar. They have to be picky with the words they use to the customers.

This is a very average hotel and paid approx. $398 canadian for 3 nights.

Room Tip: I saw 4 rooms and all were small size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglas41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I travelled to Saguenay on business with my wife just after my cataract surgery. The weather was quite good and we both found the Hotel quite reasonable and well laid out. It is getting somewhat dated and could use some updating. The Restaurant was located near the front entrance ans served a very good breakfast. For Dinner we chose a Restaurant just across the street. The Hotel boasts a central location and it is very easy to find good choices nearby. Parking is good and free and a number of amenities are quite near such as grocery stores and convenience stores. On the second day we chose to go close to the riverfront, also within easy driving distance. All in all a good choice though the Pool should be upgraded. We will stay there again though the Holiday Inn Express in Arvida is a better choice. Just to add a bit more, the Airport is also not far so for a business trip this works for me.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are fina in any location at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were in the old part of the hotel. The carpet was dirty and the room smelled like old smoke. The beds were uncomfortable and the pillows were too thin - no head support at all. I haven't slept 5 nights in a row. We were on the first floor and our room had two doors: one leading to the parking and the other one leading inside the hotel. It was convenient to have the door leading right to our car because we had lots of stuff including skis. However, that door was so poorly insulated that the wind was going right through. As a result we had to run the heater all the time, and the air in the room was extremely dry. The bathroom was ok - regular size and clean. For some reason, even though we booked a double occupancy room, everything was provided for one person - one tea bag, one tiny shampoo, one bag of sugar. Very strange. The drain in the sink was permanently clogged.
There was a fridge but it barely worked. The cleaning service was fine, no complaints at all.
There was a Loblaws right across the street and SAQ Selection, very convenient.
Not a hotel I'd recommend for a romantic getaway - it's more for families. And since everything was poorly insulated, we could hear those running kids a mile away (everything'd be shaking).
The hotel has nice facilities but they seem not to be used at all! They can do so much with a nice property like this!
Haven't tried the pool or the gym.
The nightclub was empty and quiet. The spa seemed nice but was all booked. Try booking in advance.
The restaurant was fine. Highly recommend the grill section of the menu and the desserts. I was actually impressed with both!
The service in the restaurant was so-so and the wait was way too long.
The staff doesn't speak English. Big problem if you come from abroad. Don't know what they are thinking. Maybe developing tourism is not the goal of the area....

Room Tip: At check-in ask if you're placed in the old part or in the renovated part of the hotel. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xroust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicoutimi
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 9 in Chicoutimi
82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Fjord
Hotel du Fjord
#3 of 9 in Chicoutimi
64 reviews
5.4 mi away
Delta Saguenay Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Sagueneenne
Hotel La Sagueneenne
#6 of 9 in Chicoutimi
182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Chicoutimi
Hotel Chicoutimi
#7 of 9 in Chicoutimi
135 reviews
13.0 mi away
L'Auberge des Battures
L'Auberge des Battures
#2 of 2 in La Baie
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Montagnais Saguenay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Montagnais Saguenay

Property: Le Montagnais Saguenay
Address: 1080 Talbot Blvd, Chicoutimi, Saguenay, Quebec G7H 4B6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Region > Saguenay > Chicoutimi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chicoutimi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Montagnais Saguenay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Montagnais Saguenay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Montagnais Saguenay Hotel Chicoutimi
Le Montagnais Saguenay Chicoutimi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing