We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Chicoutimi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Montagnais Saguenay
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chicoutimi
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I have been goind to this hotel for the last 12 years for business and staying at least 5-6 nights per year.

I was reading some bad reviews out here and thought to clarify some things.
This is by far the best hotel with the most services offered in Saguenay. You can eat there, have a drink at the sports bar, they have night club downstairs in the basement. Internet WI-FI works fine. Everyone i know that travel often in this regions stays at this one.
Yes there are some older parts of the hotel but ask the people when you make a reservation for a room in some of the newer sections...

It is a 5-7 minute drive to downtown but if you ane in for business, this would be the perfect spot to be.

Room Tip: I always book in TOUR "A"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 328 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

One night, business trip. We took an economic room in tower C, a motel room. The decor is old and depressing. Hard matresses, flat pillows, no other choices. The bathroom fan is supposed to come on automatically but... never did. Good parking in front of your room but you cannot access your room from outside....
Did not tried the restaurant " Le Legendaire" this time since we did about 6 months ago and found it quite expensive for the quality of the food. but the service had been good.

Room Tip: Rooms are hopefully better in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francine058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

It's a decent place to stay. The rooms have been updated so the furniture is relativelty new. Beds were comfortable. One was very firm and the other was a little softer, but comfortable nonetheless. The bathroom has not been updated is still acceptable. Amenities in the room included: fridge, coffee maker, ironing board, soap,shampoo/conditioner,body wash, qtips,cotton make up pads, shower cap, shoebrush, nail file and hair dryer. The hallways have also not been updated and could use a face lift. The common areas, however,are very nice.
There are pools and a "water park" on sight. There is also a restaurant, a dance club, an arcade and a gym. The dance club is pretty decent. The drinks are very cheap too. Not a bad place to stay and it's located nearby many restaurants and shopping areas.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are accessible from the interior of the hotel as well as a door on the outside- mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Habfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

wow!!! i love the restaurant, bedroom, new pool, new palio, staff is gorgeous
thanks everyone

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosette1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This is the only decent hotel in Chicoutimi. The hotel is very aging but it is well maintained and it is espetially clean. The rooms have low grade beds. The internet access works well in the rooms. All rooms have fridges. This is a hotel for gouvernment employees: road construction, police, military so on ... If you are looking for a romantic place to stay, I would not recommand this hotel.

The food at the hotel's restaurant is very good and the service is above average. They can have up to 4 marriages in the hotel. I warmly recommand the restaurant and the bar.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rew345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

It was my first journey in CDN due to professional engagement- short track skating.
We, me and my collegue, were booked by our ISU - International skating union ,being adjoint officials for the short track races held in Chicoutimi.
We arrived in the evening by rented 4wd SUV , after a 2 day 2500km.- rallye from Madison/Wisconsin (USA).First impression was good, and I must say that we spent our Saguenay week in the best way.Hotel was very confortable, despite to the crazy (+5 -20°C)ranging temps.
Some minor problems solved always by the good will of the hotel staff. Front-line people seemed some time overcharged, but never unwilling to help you.
We had only 2 dinners in the htl upper floor restaurant , which were very good and good service:some of our collegues complained the misunderstandings caused by language differences.Working hardly togeteher with locals I learned quite well to understand Canadienne which is a very sympatic variation of french......
Our room was very confortable and panoramic even if a "1/2 day walk" from the lobby.
The central position fo the Montagnais allows to reach , by short walk trip, the shopping malls while the old town Saguenay requires a 5-10 min.Taxi.
Can strongly suggest a stay in this Hotel

Michael
Luino-Lago Maggiore-N.ITALY
I didn'take the risk to write in french , but I speak and understand it quite well...;-))))

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank michageo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2006

I went there with my boyfriend for my birthday in april. I reserved a room by phone and the girl told me that 1 bed is more expensive than 2 and I wanted this one bed room (114$). When we arrived we checked-in, staff looked like if it was the end of the world because they add 2 guests in line for 5 receptionnists. We went to our room, and we had 2 beds!!! We called the front desk and told them that we wanted one and that we paid for it. They said there was no way they could move us because there were a convention in the hotel and that it was the same rate for both rooms. The room was ok, it should be redecorated. The bath was great but they don't have little soaps and shampoo anymore. You have to press on a little machine that gives you a all-in-one soap, unfortunately the one next to the sink was empty.

We went to the pool but we needed a cap so we decided only to stay in the whirpool bath. (you can borrow a cap for 0.75$). We didn't try the fitness room but it looked great.

We called room service for a couple of deserts and drinks but they didn't know how to do a pink lady, it was on their menu!!! After that, we went to see the girl at the little grocerie that they have inside the hotel. She obviously didn't care at all about us waiting just in front of her for 5 minutes to ask for directions to a store.

We were looking for the play room so we asked the receptionnist that told us were it was with a big smile but when we arrived there, the room was full of matress.....I understood why he was laughing at this point.

there is a big parking lot, thr rlrvator is great with a see-through glass. Overall a bit disapointing but still nice for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Amylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicoutimi
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Sagueneenne
Hotel La Sagueneenne
#6 of 9 in Chicoutimi
203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Fjord
Hotel du Fjord
#3 of 9 in Chicoutimi
81 reviews
5.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Saguenay Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 9 in Chicoutimi
129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Chicoutimi
Hotel Chicoutimi
#5 of 9 in Chicoutimi
159 reviews
12.9 mi away
L'Auberge des Battures
L'Auberge des Battures
#2 of 2 in La Baie
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Montagnais Saguenay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Montagnais Saguenay

Address: 1080 Talbot Blvd, Chicoutimi, Saguenay, Quebec G7H 4B6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Region > Saguenay > Chicoutimi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Chicoutimi
Price Range: $93 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Montagnais Saguenay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Montagnais Saguenay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Montagnais Saguenay Hotel Chicoutimi
Le Montagnais Saguenay Chicoutimi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing