We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in family room in Malpeque building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the family room in the Malpeque building of the Slemon park motel. Old CFB barracks converted to motel rooms. This was the perfect place for us and had two rooms with a small narrow hallway connecting the rooms with bathroom and small kitchen in middle. Was very clean and comfortable. Parking was a bit far away and no elevator so lugging up luggage and children was a bit difficult. They did accept pets and the rooms were tidy and spacious with desks in each room. Good value for price.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank L and S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 97 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here during the Cavendish Beach Music Festival. It was about 30 minutes away but a nice spot. We had a two bedroom unit with an additional cot. Room had a galley type kitchen area with a stove, sink, microwave and coffee maker. Continental breakfast each morning with great pastries, yogurt, cereal, toast, fruit, juice, tea and coffee. We would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank sunlover1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in early June. The room was clean, tidy, and quiet. The staff was friendly and capable. The restaurant was quite good, with prompt and friendly service, though very busy one evening. Not a fancy place but very satisfactory, for the price.
We would come back to stay there.

Room Tip: Enter dates for best prices Check In Check Out Show Prices
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bobinCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Didn't realize when booking this hotel that these are the converted barracks of the old Canadian Forces Base. The place was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was ok. The food and service were good, but it has all the intimacy of a bowling alley. The rooms are in a couple of buildings. We were in Malpeque 1. At $87 per night, that was about what it is worth. Watched a tube TV for the first time in years.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Surprised to see how practical this spot is. Very clean and comfortable but not fancy. It was formerly an army base and has that feel to it. Friendly staff and reasonable rates. In winter the main desk is a walk outside but there are telephones in the rooms to call over.

Room Tip: some rooms have kitchens. top floor quieter
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We went to the island for hockey and stayed at Slemon Park Hotel. Our room was $127.68 for one night, not worth $60, maybe. Our room was small, tv very small (bedroom tv), dirty bed and pillow case. Dust on the tv cabinet and stuff thrown in the back of the closet on the shelf, all the floor squeaked in the halls and rooms and the walls were so thin they shook when your next door neighbor closed their door. Quiet time turned out to be shortly after 11pm on a Saturday night. At least one of the other teams that were there Friday night did get quieted down until midnight. Our room wasn't even cleaned/refreshed until around 3pm. Only two young girls cleaning our one building, two floors.

The restaurant was awful. The food took 2.5 hours to arrive at our table, which was so cold the gravy was gelling again. 20 minutes after ordering our waitress just put our order in and out of the four of us three of us had to change our order. The burger and fries were still available but not the fish and chips and the chicken dish. None of the food was good, steak well over cooked and certainly not as ordered.

When asked to speak to the Manager, he did come out, said he would check on things and come back but never did, he stayed out back or where ever to make sure he did not have to deal with his upset customers.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel Link Letter isn't so bad.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sonya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstar1, General Manager at Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Sonya,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the unnsatisfactory inconveniences that you experienced during your stay during the weekend of February 22nd.

The quality of service and food quality that you received from our restaurant was completely unnacceptable. I assure you that this will be discussed with our Food & Beverage Manager for action. The cleanliness issues that you expereinced in your room are completley unnacceptable and I am having our Accommodations Manager address this situation with the Housekeeping Staff.

I appreciate you bringing this to my attention, as we can only make improvement with comments being communicated back to us.

As a gesture I want to send to you a complimentary one night stay to experience a more positive memorable stay during your next visit to our property.

If you can please provide me with your complete name and mailing address, I will then prepare a gift certificate to send out to you.

Yours sincerely,

Kevin Mouflier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have stayed here twice while on work training.

It's old (the old CFB Summerside) but was clean. Rooms were spacious and fitted with electric heat. There isn't an elevator to the second floor nor a pool for leisure.

The staff was very pleasant and the restaurant is satisfactory.

No complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coondog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerside
1.2 mi away
Traveller's Inn
Traveller's Inn
#7 of 14 in Summerside
159 reviews
6.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside
21.7 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
21.4 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 12 Redwood Avenue | Slemon Park, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C0B 2A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Summerside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Price Range: $49 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre, the top valued hotel in Summerside, Prince Edward Island. This former Canadian Air Force Military Base has undergone significant infrastructure upgrades and renovations to meet the needs of our Guests Our spacious guest rooms and one & two bedroom family units will make you feel right at home. Our competitive valued rates will suit your budget. Our location on the North Cape Coastal Drive provides you quick access to downtown Summerside and other attractions. Full service hotel including 88 Guest Rooms offering an on-site family restaurant and private airport providing private air tour packages during the summer months. We offer various summer packages and winter specials ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slemon Park Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing