We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Home Away From Home”
Review of Cairns Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Summerside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cairns Motel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Cairns Motel has been our home away from home for 12 visits in 12years. Our visits to Cairns Motel get better and better each year! Aaron and Kendra Wedge are so friendly and helpful, and the beds are EXTREMELY comfortable! We love Cairns Motel.

Room Tip: Over the years we have stayed in many of the rooms, and they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvoryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 346 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel recently(may28/29th)and it was a great little spot. Very clean, quiet , free wifi, laundry, reasonably priced and very friendly people who own it. We would have no problem staying there again. Definitely worth your time to check in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We enjoyed our visit with Aaron and Kendra Wedge, owner/operator of Cairns Motel, PEI. They are friendly and courteous people who are very comitted to making their guests feel both welcome and appreciated. The rooms are clean and well maintained, we stayed there two years in a row and were very satisfied on both occassions.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inez V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We recently enjoyed our second stay at this hotel, this time for a week. It was spotless, quiet and comfortable. We really appreciated the fridge and microwave as well as the free internet. To avoid confusion, readers should know that the breakfast others have referred to is served only in May and October as it is just too busy in the summer (as told to us by the very friendly owners). We inadvertently left an item in the room and checked out about 9:30a.m. The owners knew we were at a bridge tournament a couple of miles away. One of their very nice employees showed up at the tournament several hours later with the item. Now that's service. I will always stay here when in Summerside.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you are travelling to western Prince Edward Island, particularly the Summerside area, I highly recommend the Cairns Motel. The price is very modest, the rooms are clean and comfortable, with modern television and wireless internet, and the central location is ideal. The owners, Aaron and Kendra Wedge, are hands-on, ensuring that your stay is pleasant and memorable. During continental breakfast (your choice, toast or Tim Hortons muffins, with fresh coffee, one or the other will regale you with local lore, showing a genuine interest in all their guests. If you need to know something about PEI, just ask. I have stayed there twice, last year and this. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We totally lucked out when we found this beautiful, family run motel in Summerside.
The owners are very friendly, ready to answer any questions or make recommendations for best places to eat, shop etc. The rooms are newly renovated, beds are comfy and everything is super clean ~ different animals made out of folded towels greeted and made us smile every day...just like on the cruise ships :) Reasonable nightly rate even includes breakfast!
It is an ideal location if you want to see the whole island...Cairns Motel can be your home base.
We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EismaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is an ideal place to go, secure in the knowledge that your stay will be pleasant and relaxing. The rooms are immaculate, and it's hard to imagine how you could get better value for money; the extra-pleasant and hardworking owners and their employees routinely go beyond the calll of duty to keep their visitors happy. We also liked the location, close to the scenic shoreline, at the edge of a field that leads to a walking trail. A definite pleasure.

Room Tip: Call the owners! From what I could tell, they will definitely try to be helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MW_NB_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerside
1.7 mi away
Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf
3 mi away
Traveller's Inn
Traveller's Inn
#5 of 14 in Summerside
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
1.9 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
1.8 mi away
Causeway Bay Hotel
Causeway Bay Hotel
#8 of 14 in Summerside
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Motel

Address: 721 Water St E, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 4J2, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Summerside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Price Range: $39 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Motel is a 3 star, family operated motel, with rooms recently renovated, and new rooms added in the spring of 2009. Our spacious grounds, filled with large flower gardens, as well an orchard with a Gazebo, makes for a relaxing atmosphere. As well our groomed trail connects onto the confederation Walking/Bicycle trail. All rooms have a fridge/microwave, 32" flat screen cable TV, air conditioning,Telephone and a hair dryer in the bathroom. Also new in 2009 We added a convenience room with Coin laundry, Soda vending machine, and Ice dispenser ( Open 24 hours ) *NEWLY Up-graded WIFI, ( Aug 2014) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cairns Hotel Summerside
Cairns Motel Summerside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing