We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Cairns Motel!!!”
Review of Cairns Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Summerside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cairns Motel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have traveled for many years and have visited Summerside many a time and have stayed at Cairns motel. The hosts Aaron and Kendra Wege are the most friendly people we have met on our travels. Not too many motels you go into have different towel animals on your bed! The rooms are spotless and I'm sure that we will continue to travel and will be staying at Cairns motel for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4_frys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 345 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I recently spent a couple of nights at Carin's Motel and were made to feel very much at home. Our room was immaculately clean and there was a good sized fridge and microwave provided. There was a cute little bunny rabbit towel animal on the bed and another facecloth critter decorating the bathroom counter, a very nice touch. The TV in our room was an older model and we could not get good color on the picture. The bedside chairs were somewhat dated but this did not take away from the comfort of the room. The bed was super comfortable and you fell asleep almost immediately. The used towels were not taken away the next day as they were in another place we stayed in previous to this but we still had the towel and facecloth critters to rely on. In the morning, free coffee was provided in the office and we met Aaron, the owner, and had some friendly chit chat with him and other visitors at the motel. The room was very quiet considering we were on a very busy street.
We enjoyed our stay here immensely and would highly recommend Cairn's Motel to everyone, the price is right too, another plus.
Keep up the great work Aaron and Kendra. You can be certain we'll be back to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilly56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My wife and 2 kids stayed there for 1 night. The property is beautiful with lots of open spaces for kids to run and play. My kids met a couple kids in the next room and had lots of fun running around. The room is dated but comfortable and large. The bathroom is clean but needs an exhaust fan. If you take a hot shower make sure you open the window or the steam will enter the room and likely cause future odor problems. The air conditioning works but is very noisy. We had two queen beds. One was soft and comfortable, the other one rock hard. The location is convenient and the staff helpful. My garmin gps had trouble finding the address and was going to take us past the hotel. Fortunately we saw it before I drove past.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yysguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The owners bent over backwards to help us enjoy our stay! Our room was a very reasonable rate, spotless and very current...right down to wireless internet, the large flat panel TV on the wall and the fine comfortable furnishings. Laundry facilities were a real bonus. The location is ideally close to Summerside and yet not too close, great for using as a base to tour the island. We especially appreciated the owners who took time to chat and pass on local knowledge and recommendations. We'll be more than happy to recommend Cairns to our friends. Thank You!

Room Tip: Make an early reservation! We understand they are always full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmarrishardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed two nights with family including child in one room and friends in another to attend the Summerside Highland Games at the College of Piping in June 2011. There is absolutely nothing else I can say except it is an exceptional place to stay. From the friendliness of arranging our stay with the owners, Kendra and Aaron, to the updated accomodations, superb cleaniness, location to the College of Piping & Celtic Performing Arts and all other beautiful things to see and do on Prince Edward Island. Charlottetown and Airport is only 45 minutes away and easy access to restaurants and things to do. The grounds of the Cairns Motel are lovely and the hosts very accomodating to offer to change rooms if we needed a larger one. One of the best things one can do if travelling with a child is to be able to see the room first to make sure you have lots of room and these rooms at the Cairns Motel are very spacious. Their website is easy to use and visually pleasing. Their website is http://cairnsmotel.net/index.html . I will be back! Thanks, Kendra and Aaron!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Kendra and Aaron are great hosts. The motel was spacious, very clean and the beds are wonderful. Close to the Confederation trail (just out the back). Kendra's towel creations are great. You almost do not want to use them but then there is a new one the next day to see. If we ever get back to Summerside again we definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kilipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Aaron & Kendra are such great hosts. The beds were exceptionally comfortable. The towel characters were so well done you almost didn't want to use them except that the next day there would be a different one. Everything was so well cared for and clean. We particularly like the fact that the Confederation trail was just a short walk to the back of the property. If we find ourselves in Summerside again we would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kilipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerside
3 mi away
Traveller's Inn
Traveller's Inn
#5 of 14 in Summerside
166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf
1.7 mi away
Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
18.7 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
4.2 mi away
Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Motel

Address: 721 Water St E, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 4J2, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Summerside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Price Range: $39 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Motel is a 3 star, family operated motel, with rooms recently renovated, and new rooms added in the spring of 2009. Our spacious grounds, filled with large flower gardens, as well an orchard with a Gazebo, makes for a relaxing atmosphere. As well our groomed trail connects onto the confederation Walking/Bicycle trail. All rooms have a fridge/microwave, 32" flat screen cable TV, air conditioning,Telephone and a hair dryer in the bathroom. Also new in 2009 We added a convenience room with Coin laundry, Soda vending machine, and Ice dispenser ( Open 24 hours ) *NEWLY Up-graded WIFI, ( Aug 2014) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cairns Hotel Summerside
Cairns Motel Summerside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing