We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one-night stay”
Review of Traveller's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Traveller's Inn
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Reviewed January 5, 2012

worst place ever - would never recommend - dirty and falling apart - desperatelty needs upgrades or at least rprs

Room Tip: have a look at the room prior to paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 163 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

I was in summerside visiting family in summer of 2011. First of all, I highly recomment staying away from this lodge if you have a young family or if you like sleeping in the morning. Me and my boyfriend have a daughter who was 10 months old at the time. Babies take naps in the morning, but it is very difficult to lay a baby down when a maid is going in and out of 1 room 200 times, door slamming shut with a horrible bang each and every time. The walls must of been paper thin, we got more and more upset every time the door was slammed (which was every 30 seconds). On top of that noise, there was a group of people in the hallway laughing out loud, screaming instead of talking appropriatly, not taking into account that other people are paying money to stay in the lodge and might want extra sleep. The employees never said a word to this group, instead a woman who was in a room down the hall asked them to ''please shut-up'' which didnt work, and came back out of her room to throw coffee on someone in the loud group... what a circus, all taking place without any interruption from employees. We could hear all of this going on while we were laying in bed with our daughter, it was absolutly awful. When we left, no one at the desk apoligized for inconvinience of others, it was as if nothing had happened. I will never enter that place again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed for two nights while in PEI for a holiday. Everything was very clean and well-maintained in our room and the price was good, however, the pool was absolutely FREEZING and there is no hot tub. Our suppertime meals at the restaurant were very good. I highly recommend the pan fried scallps with a side of mussels. Yum! However, the continental breakfast in the morning leaves much to be desired. Imagine 14 people standing in line to use the ONE waffle machine. Not fun. And everything else available is cold. There is no bacon or scrambled eggs. There is cold cereal, muffins, toast, & yogurt.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mintara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

My photo says it all ! a decomposing mouse in a sticky pad trap, that I had pulled out from underneath my TV cabinet. Through out our stay, we had fruit flies, and I could not find the source. The room and bathroom need some serious deep cleaning. The pool was freezing and the floor badly needs to be BLEACHED ! But I think what shocked me the most ( after spending many years in the hospitality industry in Ireland) was the Manager-Owners reply.......I do not know how that could of got there. Well, lets just say.....you do not put down mice traps if you do not have a problem with rodents !!!!!!!
p.s....does anyone need to see the photo as proof !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ireland1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Our stay at the Econo lodge was the worst hotel stay I have ever had. I have traveled to many countrys and I was suprised to see a hotel so close to home being the worst. Our room was dirty, we had to find a room attendent to clean our room. After they left we still found dirt and an empty beer bottle left over from who know's when. We took the kids to the so called heated pool. The pool water was so cold the kids could not stay in it. The next day when we checked out we complained to the clerk at the desk and they just said it was too bad. The hotel staff were all smoking at the main entrance so we were forced to exit from another door.

When we returned home I emailed the corporate office. They were quick to point out that the hotel was privately owned and they had nothing to do with it. I emailed management at the Summerside location and received a letter in the mail about three weeks later indicating that they would do nothing about our poor service during out stay.

I would never recomend this place to my worst enemy. The staff were complete idiots and should not be allowed anywhere near the hospitality industry. They do not represent the island well at all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FireFighterCompany2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Had a wonderful stay Sunday night. The staff were great and the Continental Breakfast the next morning had such a great variety. Such big and bright rooms, comfortable beds and very reasonable prices. Have enjoyed every trip to the Island when at this motel, always look forward to next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djcorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Stayed there on June 15th and was more then happy with my stay. The staff were great and offered lots of information on what to do and what to see. The restaurant was VERY clean and the food excellent. Their continental breakfast offered much more then other places we have stayed. They even kept the pool open a little longer for us since we got back to the hotel just before they closed. Our sleep was very good and the beds comfortable.
Overall I have to say we enjoyed our stay and WILL be staying there again in Aug when we come over for a wedding.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halifaxguy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerside
1.2 mi away
Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf
4.9 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside
2.2 mi away
Causeway Bay Hotel
Causeway Bay Hotel
#8 of 14 in Summerside
106 reviews
17.4 mi away
Stanley Bridge Country Resort
Stanley Bridge Country Resort
#1 of 1 in Stanley Bridge
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Inn

Address: 80 All Weather Hwy E, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 5L4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Summerside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Price Range: $70 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Traveller's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 40 unit motel, all on one level. Indoor heated swimming pool. Free continental hot and cold breakfast. Dining room, Bar/ games room. Free unlimited wifi. Free parking. All rooms are conditioned. Meeting & Convention facilities available. Wheelchair access, fully NON-smoking rooms. Pet friendly. 5 minutes away from downtown Summerside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Traveller's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Summerside
Summerside Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing