We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent but average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Summerside
Middleton, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Decent but average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed for one night and the inn was decent but nothing great. The light fixtures in the room were old and clunky and there were a lack of accessible plugs in the room. There was no real desk area (a small table and two low-back chairs) so doing my computer work wasn't comfortable. There was no fridge or microwave in the room, not a major issue for my one night, but something to consider for a longer stay. The "fitness room" consisted of an old elliptical and a weight bench in a closet size room next to the indoor pool. There was no TV or radio, were no towels and there was no air conditioning. The room was like being in a sauna that reeked of chlorine. I was sweating before I even began to exercise.
The main hallway of the motel was lovely, spacious and pleasantly lit with soothing music playing and there was coffee available by the little café all day. If only the same details were put into the rooms and additional features. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet so that, with the nice common area, were the pluses. The other issues, along with the stained carpeting in the room and the little A/C unit nailed in to the window that the curtain had to be tucked around in order for it to work while the drapes were drawn, were drawbacks. For a hotel with this name and the price attached, an update is needed. And there should at least be a continental breakfast included... The desk staff were very pleasant and helpful, which should be noted, and there is a small gift/convenience item shop in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrownVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Administration at Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are continually doing revenovations to our hotel. At the present time, we are installing some new wall vinyl and curtains in many of the rooms. We hope that you will retunr to our hotel the next time you are in Summerside and see the many updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    66
    35
    26
    15
See reviews for
71
54
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Clean, nice looking, but not worth the price. We stayed for 200$ a night at a last minute reservation. It doesn't not include free breakfast, and the rooms were extremely average. There was nothing spectacular about it, there is an outdoor pool but you're by the ocean anyway so it's not that fancy. Way too overpriced, might be cheaper to drive into Charlottetown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Administration at Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are constantly updating our property in order to have our property above average. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Summerside hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived in the mid-afternoon - easy and quick check-in. Lots of parking and convenient access ways/doors to enter from the pool and parking lot.

I have to say that I was quite impressed with the staff. From the receptionists, to the chambermaids, to the pool bar lady. All were super friendly and helpful.

The room was a little "tired" looking, but for the price; I thought we actually did OK at this Motel.

Shower and bathroom was clean and big enough. Lots of towels, sundries and sheets/blankets/pillows.

Indoor pool was clean and very sanitized. The Javex smell was a little strong and the indoor pool area was very warm. Maybe a little too warm, but bearable.

Outdoor pool was AWESOME :) Pool bar Lady was very friendly and welcoming. Drinks were cold and not too pricey. Pool was clean, I mean really clean. Very nice set up with chairs positioned under the trees for shade and others right beside the pool. We really enjoyed our time at the pool; maybe too much :)

All in all; I would rate this place a 7.5-8 out of 10. Value was good.

Thank you for a pleasent stay.

Also, we met some celeberties there. Johnny Bauer, Eddie Shack and Walter Grezky. Plus, a very nice Lady named Janet P.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chefdano49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Administration at Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are continually upgrading our property, we hope that the next time you stay in Summerside, you will allow us to serve you and show you our new updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We checked into the Quality Inn for a weekend in PEI. The website is very decieving regarding the size of the rooms and the condition. It is a nice room, but very small and very old, with mostly outdated furniture as well. We had a king bed and it took up most of the room. There was no dresser in the room, just two old night tables and a desk with three small drawers, and no closet - just a small cubby-hole with a few hangers and a shelf. The bathroom was fairly big (almost the same size as the room with the bed), but not an ideal set up. The jacuzzi tub was very appealing to the eye, however, actually quite small once you get in. I am 5'3" and my feet were flat against one end while sitting up with my back against the other end. The shower was very old and small as well. The toilet, again old, looked like it had been painted and was chipping. There was only a small pedestal sink with a four inch lip which left minimal room for toiletries. We were travelling with a two year old and a dog which made it very difficult to keep things out of reach. There was no bar fridge in the room which meant we were making steady trips to the ice machine in order to keep our daughter's food and milk cool. There wasn't even anywhere to hang a hand towel near the sink other than on the back of the door. The ironing board was also small in size and the iron a poor quality one which leaked and water stained my husband's shirt which he needed as a member of a bridal party. There were also small items of garbage on the floor under the desk (a crumpled up piece of paper and a wrapper from the coffee filter). Not sure if other rooms are nicer and we got this because we had a dog with us, but we were expecting a much nicer room for $175/night - and that was with a group discount. This room is actually more expensive for other visitors; we got a $10 discount/night before taxes. I would have been more than happy with this room had I not visited the website first and saw much nicer rooms online and if we had paid MUCH less. The hallways of the hotel, in my opinion, were nicer than the room itself - as I said, very decieving. The staff was helpful though, as we had to change our reservation at the last minute for a two night stay versus a one night stay.

Room Tip: My advice is to visit this hotel first and see if the room meets your needs relative to the price yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Administration at Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding our property. We have contacted the departments involved with your concerns. We are constantly improving our property with updates. We hope to be able to serve you and show you our improvements the next time you're in the Summerside area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent the night here last year & our room was on the second floor. It was nicer than this time.
We were put on the ground floor the room was plain but had everything we needed. This room only had a shower, no bathtub. Two queen size beds, a small table & a couple of chairs. The tv was a flat screen sitting on a writing desk. My only complaint would be that the air conditioner was old & made a lot of noise. It struggled to clear the humidity out of the room.
A good stay. A comfy bed. It did the job. Also just would like to mention that it was approximately 100$ cheaper than the Quality Inn in Charlottetown.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jettboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Administration at Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The maintenance department has been notified of your concerns. We hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Nice place, great service! It has an indoor heated pool, an outdoor pool and a 9 hole chip and putt practice course that is free! The staff are friendly,the rooms are clean, beds are comfy and you get excellent value for your money. There is a mini-putt across the street, a great restaurant next door (Brothers 2) and Jack's Pizza is a couple hundred yards away and they are very good! My 10 year old had a great time and we were comfortable. I went to rent clubs at the front desk and they said "don't worry" about the rental fee, we went to pay the extra fee for our lab mix and they said "what dog?" and just laughed it off and said that they hoped we had a nice stay. We stayed for4 nights. If we go back to Summerside; we will definitely be going back! .

Room Tip: We like to have a room that is on a ground floor and close to our vehicle because it makes it more c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bud H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Administration at Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is the only large chain hotel in Summerside. It is clean, attractive and quiet, beds were comfy and there is a nice outdoor pool. Negatives are: the room smelled like a combination of Fabreze and wet dog; the coffee cup leaked; the toilet seat looked like it had been painted and the paint was chipping off.........c'mon guys......how much does a new toilet seat cost?! All in all, it was acceptable. Don't bother eating at their associated restaurant next door (Brothers 2).........mediocre at best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrajay92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Administration at Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We have duly noted your concerns. We hope to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Summerside hotels
0.9 mi away
Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside
2.8 mi away
Traveller's Inn
Traveller's Inn
#5 of 13 in Summerside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Slemon Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Causeway Bay Hotel
Causeway Bay Hotel
#8 of 13 in Summerside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.0 mi away
Summerside Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf
Address: 618 Water St E, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 4H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Summerside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Summerside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites is locally owned and operated hotel which is centrally located on Prince Edward Island in the picturesque city of Summerside.We have everything you need to make your stay a memorable one; beautiful surroundings, great dining, comfortable guest room, and a knowledgeable guest services team.With only 94 rooms and beautiful indoor courtyards, the Quality Inn & Suites is small enough to provide our guests with a degree of intimacy, attentiveness and comfort that would be impossible to find in one of the Island's larger hotels. Set aside some time for a swim in either our indoor or outdoor pool, or play a round on our 9 hole par-3 golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Garden of the Gulf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Summerside
Summerside Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing