We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“REMINDS ME OF BEN & JERRY'S.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cows Creamery

Cows Creamery
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
New England, North Dakota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“REMINDS ME OF BEN & JERRY'S.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I LOVE chocolate ice cream. I DON'T LOVE waffle cones.

When approaching a COWS counter, there is a too sweet, sickly smell. It's the nasty waffle cones. I love the ice cream, and I desperately wanted a plain cone. All they have are waffles, or bowls.

My friend has celiac and brings her own bread to restaurants where they kindly are always willing to help her out when she orders a burger or sandwich. Next time I go to COWS, I'm bringing my own cone!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twokidsonedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigid M, Front Office Manager at Cows Creamery, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our ice cream! I'm sorry that you didn't like our waffle cones- that same smell attracts many people into our stores, but I suppose not everything is to everyone's taste! We hope to get the chance to see you again & that you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    195
    91
    33
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not "Canada's Best"! Just average.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Way overpriced and nothing special. Nothing but a tourist trap maritime franchise. Makes me want to go to Reids Dairy when I get home so I can have a Loonie cone!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canuckgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigid M, Front Office Manager at Cows Creamery, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
I am very sorry that you did not get the experience from COWS that we try to create for our customers! While we'll never beat the price of a loonie cone, we do put a lot of heart into our handmade premium ice cream. I hope if you decide to try us again in the future, that we're able to win you over. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very good quality ice cream, I would like them to do more varieties if possible.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dallerton53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigid M, Front Office Manager at Cows Creamery, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. If you have any ideas for other varieties, we'd love to hear them! Please email James, our head Ice Cream Manager, at james@cows.ca. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
145 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The Best Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

During a 7 day visit to PEI, we ate Cows ice cream 4 times. Need I say more? The Gooey Mooey ice cream was our favorite. It was so creamy! The mini caramel cups in the ice cream were so delicious. Worth the calories!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Letsg0m0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigid M, Front Office Manager at Cows Creamery, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you SO much for such a glowing review and rec-cow-mendation! We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and are grateful that you stopped in 4 times during your visit! Now that's dedication- you are official Cowhands! Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Really for the price I thought it would be extra special, kinda a let down.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigid M, Front Office Manager at Cows Creamery, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
I'm sorry you found that our ice cream was not worth the cost. Our ice cream is handmade and super premium, with 16% butterfat and the finest ingredients (local wherever we can use them!) I hope that if you decide to give us another chance in the future, we'll be able to win you over! I recommend you sample a few different flavours as well, as we have a good variety to choose from. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cows Creamery also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Cows Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing