We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pilot House

The Pilot House
Ranked #10 of 241 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We preferred the Gahan House, but this was nice as well. Service was good and we had a nice spot by the window so we could watch people walk down the street. Food was tasty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kris10cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    156
    40
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant for fine dining or more modest selections from pub menu.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

This was a great restaurant that has something for everyone. Their fine dining looked excellent, but those with a more modest wallet can choose to order off the pub-style menu. We enjoyed are meals and the atmosphere and decor was lovely. My wife and I would return to the Pilot House.

Helpful?
Thank Edmonchukz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Where the locals go...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Through the downpour we raced into this cozy 'tavern' where the locals hang out. Corner of Grafton St and Queen St.
Ordered a plate of mussels for $12 and got about 3 dozen sweet mussels! Now, I'm not one to order or even like mussels, but When in Rome- I tried them....mmmm so Sweet! I ate half the plate!
Definitely worth it and best meal we had on the island.
When a place is packed with locals, you know it's good.
Most definitely Fine Food & Spirits.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shellita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Beer. Unedited food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed two nights and ate at three restaurants, this was one of them. Having done two dinners the night before (yeah...) our expectations were pretty low for this place, and they never got a chance to climb.

First, let's talk about beer. I feel like someone came into this place with a commercial Mr. Beer kit and sold it to them; because The Pilot House Pale Ale tasted like my first (and failed) batch of brew that started its life as a can filled with hoppy pulp.

We stuck to burgers (again, previous night heeded caution) and they were alright, but far from excellent. They suffered from lack of editing. Basically, when you have local beef & vegetables at the peak of summer, does a burger really need a extra-well-done beef patty, cajun spice, chipotle aioli, swiss cheese, portabella mushrooms, tomato, lettuce, on pretzel buns? No. Do you fries need to come from a frozen bag when fresh Cavendish potatoes are abundant? No. Yet, that's what the Pilot House serves.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiicycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, PE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not enough for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I find the portions sizes fairly small at The Pilot House. I do very much enjoy the meals and the service when I am there but I am always disappointed at the amount of food you are receiving.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TouringGirl555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pilot House also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Pilot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing