We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Engagement Supper!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brickhouse Kitchen & Bar

The Brickhouse Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #25 of 241 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We have created a truly unique dining experience based on local products, a culinary flare and an atmosphere that brings the kitchen to the forefront. We invite you to experience and enjoy The Brickhouse and Marc's Lounge in Downtown Charlottetown today.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Engagement Supper!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The food, the service and wine selection were fantastic! We had a small but worthwhile wait in which we took advantage of the 3rd floor lounge (very small and intimate).

We had scallops and steak - both of which were made to perfection!

Would highly recommend this for any occasion :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    93
    34
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great little place. Glad it was open late on a Sunday night. I just wish wine was a little less expensive and more variety (especially Canadian wines).

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissySlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I came here on a Saturday night with no reservations. So understandably the service was slow (1 hour for Appetizers, another for the entrée). But that may just be good marketing: more time = more wine (and speaking of wine: the drink menu is presented on the latest iPad - cool). Food was great though: as a Montrealer, and thus a pretty good connaisseur, the lobster poutine ranks in my top three. The bacon wrapped scallops were awesome... Because of the phenomenal bacon. The halibut was fresh, tasty and just a perfect portion. Really, apart from the wait, a great experience....

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LarisaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Was in Charlottetown and decided to try this upscale resto. Arrived and was seated upstairs. This place uses the iPad to good advantage by allowing patrons to choose their drinks from the selection offered, press a button and voilà it is sent to the bar keep. We ordered two expensive cocktails they arrived in martini glasses which were about 1/3 full. Mine was supposed to have Jack Daniel's in it but if Jack was there he walked through with his boots on! My companion and I could hardly taste any alcohol!! Hmmmmm;( there was nice background music playing which was drowned out by some loud disco beat that was coming from " a family reunion" upstairs ...OK.....
Apps came and were great all round... Then came the mains.... Ugh COLD PLATES = COLD food My number one issue with a lot of restos.... Considering the kitchen is on the main floor and food is run upstairs the chef would do well to get those plates HOT! Sent it back and was returned new food (hot) new plate ( hot) the food was pretty good halibut also a steak ( requested medium got medium rare but it was good) also a seafood and pasta dish that was uninspired and was$26.00! No pasta dish is worth that especially with minimum seafood and poorly presented at that. Desserts were excellent creme brûlée and chocolate mousse. The service was polite and helpful, the poor guy waiting on us tried to take the rap for the cold plate by saying that he had grabbed the dish before it had warmed up under the lamp (huh?) explained to him that foods go under the lamp to keep them hot not to warm them up and the fault lay squarely on the shoulders of the kitchen staff, not him.
So we have here a nice place with overpriced food, a kitchen staff that needs a firmer hand, a very good wine selection( that iPad makes choosing one a cinch) friendly wait staff though the chicks hanginging out at the front(staff) barring patrons exiting should find somewhere else to flock.
And someone should audit that bartender......we got the feeling the place was run by well meaning but inexperienced teenagers. Send them to Lot30 for some training and this will be a very good restaurant .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MadameX27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Locally Sourced, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The restaurant was recommended to us by the chef's father who runs an organic farm on PEI and champions organic movement there. The farm has been in the family for a few generations and based on liking the father we thought the son has got to respect food too. And we were right. We ate on the early side so no reservations were necessary. I started with the mussels (there is no reason not when mussels are farmed in every inlet and so so fresh) with a traditional white wine sauce. Yum. My main was the veggie burger-homemade- and this was delicious. I can't quite describe the taste other than fresh, not at all like the frozen ones you find elsewhere. I did order it without the garlic spread and got the spicy pepper sauce instead. It was hipper than I thought PEI could be. It was my first visit to the island and thought (as an American would) be provincial, but I was surprised by the cosmopolitan feel of Charlottetown. I did feel the waitress did not know the menu, though. She didn't seem to know the chef's name......(He wasn't there that night)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JLZW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brickhouse Kitchen & Bar also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Brickhouse Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing