We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It! Comfortable and Casually Romantic with Great Food”

Lucy Maud Dining Room
Ranked #26 of 249 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Lucy Maud Dining Room is the training restaurant for The Culinary Institute of Canada. Our students, under the guidance of world class chef instructors, prepare extraordinary culinary creations using the very best the fields and waters of PEI have to offer. The Lucy Maud Dining Room, the Institute’s fine dining restaurant, and the Montgomery Cafeteria, are undergoing significant upgrades as part of a $7.5 million renovation and expansion project. We will re-open to the general public in November 2017 with a fresh new look. The renovation and expansion to The Culinary Institute of Canada was made possible by investments from the Federal and Provincial governments, and a capital campaign led by the Holland College Foundation, called Nourish.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved It! Comfortable and Casually Romantic with Great Food”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This restaurant is in the culinary school (Holland College), but once you get in and you face the water the dining room is simple and elegant. Nice for a birthday, special occasion or just for a treat (we were on vacation). But since it's a teaching school it feels comfortable - not too stuffy. Service was perfect and everyone was very friendly. Very good portions and good deal for the money, even if it is pricey. Usually when we go out for fine dining the prices are higher and the portions are smaller (and sometimes they are pretty snooty). They gave us a little amuse-bouche (bite size appetizer), which was lobster, and very delicious. I had salmon with pistachio and it was cooked pefectly and the sides were fantastic (white bean hash with chorizo). My boyfriend had the beef tenderloin and he also though everything was great. Check before you go on hours of operation. I emailed for a reservation in advance without a problem. I just wish it was closer so we could go again soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DelQuint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    29
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor food quality”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The preparations are not tasty and the service is poor. They do not seem to use fresh seafood. Because of the fame for the Green Gables, visitors tend to go to this place to eat....but it is not worth the money they spend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SANTOSH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
129 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience - superb dinner and service”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had dinner here recently as a result of checking out some tripadvisor reviews and had a wonderful evening. The restaurant is located in the Culinary Institute of Canada and has a great location overlooking the water. Our server Laura was friendly, helpful and professional. The dinner which we were told was prepared by chef Stephen (who had just completed his course) working with the supervision of the institute staff, was fabulous and one of the best meals we have had. There was a large choice on the menu and everything we had was excellent including the lobster and pineapple salad with Granny Smith apples, the Thai potstickers, the potato crusted halibut, and the strip sirloin with lobster. Everything was beautifully plated and presented. We had the tasting dessert plate which had four different items; even the coffee was excellent. Pricing was in keeping with a meal of this calibre. If you are in Charlottetown, it is worth a special visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReadyToTravelYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Liked the Experience”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I'm so glad I read about this place as the building looks very much like a warehouse on the exterior and from the street there is no sign indicating a restaurant. The dining room itself is plain, with a nice view of the water. We enjoyed being served by recent graduates of the school who tried to give diners a positive experience. I had the halibut , which was OK, but a little dry. My companion had the bison loin and thought it was delicious. The breads before the meal were a nice touch. Overall I would rate the food quality as very good, not outstanding. But when you add the unique view (the only restaurant in town with a water view) and the special situation of recent grads preparing and serving the meal, it is worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing view and amazing food!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I visited the Culinary Institute and were very pleased with the entire experience. My wife had land and sea which was fabulous. I had the bison and it was a little tough but I did ask for medium-well. The overall presentation and service was fantastic. The desserts were incredible. We would definitely return to eat again at the Culinary Institute.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reacher13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy Maud Dining Room also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Lucy Maud Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing