We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of the Harbor while wating lobster”

Lobster-On-The-Wharf Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 260 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are located at 2 Prince St. Wharf in historic Charlottetown, PEI. You cannot get any closer to the water with over half our dining area being over the water at high tide. Lobster On The Wharf specializes in a wide variety of seafood and has great options for the landlovers and kids as well. We have more outdoor seating than anywhere else on PEI. Lobster On The Wharf also does private functions and special occassions. With our adjacent seafood market the fresh seafood might as well be taken straight out of the sea or off the boat!
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a nice restaurant which has a lovely outdoor seating behind directly on the water. The Oysters were fabulous, as was a 1 1/4 lbs lobster. The oysters, Malpeque, were just large, fresh, with a slight salty taste.We had lunch, but imagine the evenings would be great. The bill was $149 with a 20% tip, and without any alcohol. Well worth the money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Owner at Lobster-On-The-Wharf Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of you lunch here at Lobster on the Wharf. It would appear that you had more of a dinner experience for lunch, which is great. PEI is best known for its fresh seafood and we at Lobster on the Wharf ensure that is the case. Hopefully if you are back on our island we will see you again.

Thanks,
Steven Larkin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 478 of 509 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Every thing taste of the same spice. Planco breading on all seafood takes away from the fresh seafood. On PEI the seafood will be fresh enough to give its own unique flavor, (do not take this away ).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Trent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Owner at Lobster-On-The-Wharf Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

4 of the 44 items on our menu have Panko breading and of those 4 only one is not available in a form without this breading. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy that breading, but why didn't you order an item that didn't have it. Your review seems misleading in that we are not trying to feature the best of PEI seafood. I certainly wouldn't return to a restaurant and order the same item that I already know I don't enjoy. What is it that you did order?

Steven Larkin
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We made a decision to have lunch on shore and not go back to the cruise ship and this location with it's fresh lobster store on the left side caught our attention. The lobster store had several 1 to 1 1/2 pound lobsters ready for purchase. We went inside the restaurant connected to the building and were greeted and seated immediately. We sat in the room to the left which we think needs a few decorations on the walls as one gets the feeling they are "just sitting" in a large open room.The menu has several items from which to choose. Some chose a lobster dish and i and my son chose fried oysters and fried clams which we planned to split. The clams were very good and both of us liked them. I know someone is going to tell me that ordering oysters in May is not the greatest choice one could make. Nevertheless that is what i did. The oysters were rather small and I probably would choose another item over the oysters should we visit again. Others in the party enjoyed their entrees as well as the trimmings that came with each. We were served bread rolls before the meal and frankly these came to us cold and were just bread. We expected a little more from a taste standpoint. Our waitress was very good and kept our glasses full and often visited the table to see if there was anything we needed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had so looked forward to a great dinner experience but hit a night when staff were overwhelmed. Lobster bisque good but extremely long wait for platter resulted in barely warm and rubbery lobster tail, crab cake with hair in it and cold sides. Scallops were great tho. Management did right by us and covered the costs and for that I was grateful. but unfortunately, that didn't save the evening. Such a lovely location I just hope they ramp up capacity and others can have the excellent experience they deserve. Just sad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Owner at Lobster-On-The-Wharf Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Linda, Sorry to hear that you experience was not as great as either you or we would have liked it to be. Please know that we have discussed the issues you had. We had a full restaurant and unfortunately you were the only table that had a negative experience. Not that it helps you much, but if you would like to share your experience with me further please do so at slarkin@lobsteronthewharf.com.

Thanks,
Steven Larkin
Owner/Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a nice lunch, had the lobster bisque, quite good. Curried cream mussels were very good. Shrimps in white wine sauce not much flavour.

Thank moosab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster-On-The-Wharf Restaurant also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Lobster-On-The-Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing