We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good gastropub in downtown Charlottetown”
Review of The Gahan House

The Gahan House
Ranked #6 of 249 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Gahan House Pub opened in June 2001 and quickly became one of Charlottetown's favourite restaurants. Its unique and friendly atmosphere, food, and fine Ales have helped to establish it as a destination of choice for locals and tourists alike. From our house to your house... Cheers! Hours Monday/Tuesday 11am - 11pm (kitchen close) 12am (bar close) Wednesday/Thursday 11am - 12am (kitchen close) 1am (bar close) Friday/Saturday 11am - 12am (kitchen close) 2am (bar close) Sunday 11am - 10pm (kitchen close) 11om (bar close)
toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good gastropub in downtown Charlottetown”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I had lunch here with a couple of friends here recently. The service was fantastic, friendly and fast. The food was very good. We had the lobster clubhouse, a burger and the chicken and goat cheese wraps. Portions were pretty large, so bring an appetite. Sampled some of the beer that is made on the premises and it was lovely. The location is fantastic as it is centrally located to everything downtown.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tinasimpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    473
    135
    45
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gahan beer is fantastic”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Come here for the beer, the food is average.
The description and ingredients of what I had, mussels and lobster fettuccine were inviting me to a mysterious and exciting taste experience; unfortunately both were nothing to write home (or Facebook) about. Mussels missed more shallots and more garlic, taste was bland. The lobster in the fettuccine was scarce and only had the part of the lobter claws that all of us Maritimers really don't care for. I even had to add salt to my plate...which I shouldn't have to when eating lobster.
Service is indeed exceptional, friendly courteous and attentive..their beer are just fantastic.
I'll be back to try more beer and try something else on the menu to determine if this is just a good beer place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tumbleleena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Beer”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This place was fun and had great beer they brew themselves. They had great flavors and its a fun environment!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank canadianwannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Beer Was Good ... ...”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We went on a walk and tasting tour of Charlottetown and this place came highly recommended. On the tour we got to sample the beer and see where they made it on the lower level. When we came back for lunch later we should have requested to sit downstairs again or waited for a table outside...
We were sat in a window seat facing the street side of the restaurant. That would have been a nice view aside from the delivery truck that blocked most of the street. I wouldn't hold the restaurant accountable for that... what I would hold them accountable for is how absolutely dirty the dining room was. I understand that it is an old building with a lot of history behind it, but we had been to many old buildings on our vacation, and that is no excuse for the lack of cleanliness at the Gahan House. There was an old radiator beside us (in front of the window) that looked like it hadn't been touched for years.There was salt and dust and old crumbs of food all over and under it. It made me itchy just looking at it. The atmosphere (at least in the dining room) was very dark and, well, just old. Not "quaint, nicely kept or handled with care old" - it just looked like "it hadn't been updated or restored for decades old".The veneer on the tables was bubbling and peeling off, the chairs had mismatched upholstery, there were bare bulbs on the light fixtures, the ceiling was painted a dark green - making the place feel dark and enclosed even though we were by a window.
Even still, I really wanted to give this place a chance because I've heard great reviews and, like the title says, the beer was good. We ordered the nachos, and they were ok (the spicy cheese dip was good). Then we had the brown bag fish and chips. The fries were ok, but the fish was not. I don't know why, but the batter was mushy and I guess that made the fish taste not great.... But the beer was good. I had the Iron Bridge Brown Ale and my boyfriend had Sir John A's Honey Wheat Ale. The Iron Bridge was flavourful and the Honey Wheat was light and great for summer.
The service wasn't bad - I think our server was pretty much waiting every table inside and out, so she was busy, so any wait that we had I could understand.
It's too bad about the food and the attention to cleanliness, because I really wanted to like this place. It has a lot going for it, but it really missed the mark.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQueensHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty meal, popular place”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We visited Gahan House during our stay in Charlottetown. The restaurant was busy on a beautiful Wednesday evening and we had to wait about 10 minutes for a table. We were able to get a drink at the bar while we were waiting and it gave us an opportunity to choose from their large selection of craft beers. I ordered the fish tacos and my boyfriend ordered the beef sandwich. Both were very tasty. If you don't mind a bit of a wait and a busy restaurant (loud, bustling atmosphere) I suggest you give this place a try (or call ahead to make reservations).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank anywherebuthere04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gahan House also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Gahan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing