We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please have the chow-dah!!”

Fishbones Oyster Bar & Seafood Grill
Ranked #55 of 260 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We happened upon Fishbones on a brief evening walkabout in Charlottetown. An energetic brass band was playing outside so we decided to stay. As it turns out, I had the best chowder I've ever tasted! Flavorful, rich and creamy broth and packed with seafood. It was exquisite! My husband had the shrimp and scallop skewers which he greatly enjoyed, and the girls had salmon and wings, both of which the best we've had in a long time! The ice-tea flowed freely for the kids and the local PEI brewery beer was an added treat. The food quality is worth the price. Try it, you'll love it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Becki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 227 of 288 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were visiting charlottetown while on vacation. On a beautiful, sunny day their patio seemed like a cozy place to relax and watch the nearby street performer.

After a short wait for a seat outside we were shown to our table by the outside wall of the restaurant. As it was a very hot day, overhead air conditioners were working hard to cool the apartments overhead. Unfortunately, our table was in the direct path of the constant dripping of one of these air conditioners. After giving it a little time to see if it was bearable we concluded it was not and asked the staff if it was alright to have another table. After consulting with the hostess she came back and told us we couldn't be moved as the restaurant was busy. The kind people at our neighboring table told us the couple before us just moved to another table in spite of the staff. We left the restaurant and didn't return.

I do not recommend this restaurant if you want remarkable service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishbonesPEI, Manager at Fishbones Oyster Bar & Seafood Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hi there

Thank you for your feedback we truly appreciate it. I want to start by apologizing for the experience you had here. This is not normal for us and the matter will be brought up with staff. I am familiar with the day you are talking about as I was trying to hunt down the tenants in the apartments above. Thankfully, we were able to fix the water leakage problem as soon as we got in contact with them. I would like to invite you back for a dinner for 2 on our patio at no charge to you so that you can get the true Fishbones experience. Please message us privately with your contact information so we can get in touch.

Sincerely,
Fishbones Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My family and I recently visited the island and we were told to eat at Fishbones. Our food and service was delightful. My daughter cannot have gluten in her diet and our server Allison W was very knowledgeable about what she could and could not have. Our food also came promptly and tasted delicious. Would definitely recommend to any visitors to the island!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SmithsonJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k123e456f, Manager at Fishbones Oyster Bar & Seafood Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback and have passed along acknowledgement to Allison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location, downtown area of Charlottetown. Nicely situated on a street with no car traffic, just walking traffic. Live music outdoors was a nice touch. We sat on the patio and enjoyed it. Service was friendly, food was very tasty, portions may be a little small for someone who is really hungry! Overall good place for a casual lunch or dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stanger8788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FishbonesPEI, Manager at Fishbones Oyster Bar & Seafood Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Just wanted to say a quick thank you for the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time here!

Fishbones Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Food was good but nothing unique. The decor pays homage to jazz and blues greats of the past. The live music is definitely a plus and the musician interacted with the audience well in our visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishbones Oyster Bar & Seafood Grill also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Fishbones Oyster Bar & Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing