We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charlottetown Backpackers Inn
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was so nervous and not an experienced "backpacker" this is the place I could afford the rest of my time in PEI would be covered by work as I was there for a conference. The owner and staff made my stay comfortable the rooms were very very clean. The home was large plenty of seating and wi-fi computers offered. I would definately stay again if opportunity presented. Hope my snoring did not keep the others awake

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleCOshawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 81 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed at several HI hostels in the Maritimes and this was my favorite. It's only a minute walk to the waterfront and the historic downtown area. The heritage building is well-maintained, clean, and offers computer workstations, wireless internet, barbeque area, games, TV, parking along the street, everything you'd expect, plus breakfast. They strictly follow the 11:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m. quiet time -- no shoes on the hardwood floor after 11:00 and guests need to enter/exit through the side entrance. Rooms have passcode locks. I stayed for two nights and found the staff to be excellent. The only rental bike with a rack was much too large for me, so the staff member lent me his personal backpack (I suggested they purchase racks or baskets for all their bikes). If I ever have the chance to go back to Charlottetown, I'll stay here without question.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was really nice to stay there.
The staff there were pretty friendly and helped me a lot. Breakfast was included and I guess price is reasonable. Also it is located in downtown Charlottetown and easy to access to everywhere. If you would like to join the tour to somewhere out of city, such as Anne of Green Gabels, there are many tour buses going those places from downtown Charlottetown and it's only 5mins walk from the hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yshijubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We love a good company, cool music and interesting conversation. We discovered xxx PEI travelling from Montréal and this cozy hostel was the place where it all came together for us. It was an unforgettable experience! We loved staying on a terrace listening to a lovely Sarah Jane playing guitar with a glass of wine chatting with the stuff and the xxx guests. Very interesting and inspiring people!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights on our way to the East coast. Levi and the staff were incredibly welcoming, and very knowledgable of Charlottetown and PEI. The house was spotless, the included breakfast delicious, and the beds comfortable. It was located downtown and walking distance to restaurants and bars. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee8416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have been staying at Levi's hostel since it first opened. I live in Halifax but love to head over to lovely PEI every summer and always stay here. The house is lovely and has been well kept up and extremely clean. There are pleasant and very clean bathrooms (two private bathrooms - one with shower, sink and toilet + one with tub and hand held shower head as well as sink and toilet). There is also a small toilet and sink washroom off the kitchen as well as a communal washroom with two private shower stalls and one private toilet stall and a shared sink. It really feels like coming home when I stay there - super friendly staff, lovely public rooms, excellent breakfast every morning included (juice, coffee/tea, fruit, banana bread, toast...), a great kitchen to use, outside BBQ and picnic table, funky garage turned into a pool hall/music room seriously the list just goes on and on. The rooms are very clean and have decent bunk beds with lovely white sheets and duvets (no one is allowed to bring in any sheets or linens or even stuffed animals so that they maintain a clean property). They windows open and fans are provided in all the rooms to make sure everyone has a great sleep even on the warmest nights. Although I have never stayed in a private room I have seen the one tucked up in the attic (with a gas fireplace) but you do have to walk through a three bed room to get to it.

The ambiance of the hostel is first class - lovely people who will help with any request you have but since the owner lives there too it is well maintained and well managed. The location is first rate as well in a charming residential neighborhood with lots of street parking all around (I drive there) but close to everything - downtown, pubs, restaurants, Founder's Hall (visitors centre and attraction) seriously you can't get a better place to stay. The absolute best part for me is that when I arrive I instantly find friends and people to do things with (which usually works better for them as I work as a tour guide and love to show people around and take them in my car). The magic of PEI is made that much more impressive by this AWESOME hostel. You will not regret for one second staying here!!! I (being over 40) super appreciate that quiet time is actually cared about at this hostel - although there are enough places to go and party and hear live music just blocks away if that's your thing. I have travelled the world as a tour guide (China, Kenya, Europe, Asia...) and stayed at many hostels but this is the best I have every had the pleasure of staying at (and do so year after year). Well Done Levi!!

Room Tip: I am a single traveller and prefer the rooms on the main and second floor - not so much the attic r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spazzygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This has now set the standard of hostel living! From the location, to the staff, to the facilities, everything was fantastic!

It was located downtown, with excellent restaurants and even inexpensive food options all withing walking distance. There were bars very close and thankfully Levi (the owner) knows them all and give you options for something to do everynight. If you are more into checking out scenery, there is a board walk, beach, the Lieutenant Governors house and many other destinations near by.

I can't say enough about the staff either. They are awesome people and actually interact with the patrons staying in the hostel. I was laughing and smiling the entire time. They alone would make me return!

The facilities were perfect! There was a good sized common room with a flatscreen tv, on demand cable service, and books for people to read. The kitchen was excellent and had enough room for everyone's items. The breakfast included excellent banana bread as well as toast, fruit, juice and coffee. Also, seating outside was excellent, with a number of picnic tables and other seating all around the house. And my favourite part was the garage. Or what I'm deeming the "Garage of Awesomeness." There are records you can play while shooting pool on the pool table, shooting darts or playing a number of different arcade games.

I would absolutely positively return to this hostel!

Thanks for the stay Levi!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amoep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
Glendenning Hall
Glendenning Hall
#1 of 17 in Charlottetown
65 reviews
12 mi away
Brackley Beach Hostel
Brackley Beach Hostel
#14 of 17 in Charlottetown
24 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
571 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Cornwall
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlottetown Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlottetown Backpackers Inn

Address: 60 Hillsborough St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4W1, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Charlottetown
Price Range: $46 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Charlottetown Backpackers Inn Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing