We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonial Charm Inn
Nearby Hotels
Delta Hotels Prince Edward(Charlottetown)
$127
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rodd Charlottetown(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
$97
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
$79
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Holman Grand Hotel(Charlottetown)
$137
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Cornwall)(Great Value!)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Great George(Charlottetown)
$119
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dundee Arms Inn(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
$103
$100
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sonata Inn(Charlottetown)(Great Value!)
$102
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
279
30
7
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
30
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscandied baconcozy queenb bsconesfeel like familyeach morningother guestshome away from homeloft suitebaked goodsfrittatawonderful hostsa wonderful place to staywalking distance to downtownvictoria parkthe location is perfectbed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 321 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My spouse and I stayed at the Colonial Charm Inn on Sep 1-2 and Sep 13-14. We planned to cycle for 10 days on PEI and flew to Charlottetown with our bicycles which were packed in special boxes. We arrived after midnight at the Inn with two bike boxes, two large backpacks and two very tired people. During e-mail co-orespondence owner Shelley told us that although no one would be working that late when we arrived, there would be a key in the lockbox and instructions in the house for where our room was. We could also leave our heavy bike boxes in the livingroom. This made it easy for us settle in our comfortable room and relax for the start of our vacation. The following day we were treated to friendly helpfull staff and a great breakfast. Just what I needed before assembling our two bicycles in preparation for our cycling trip. Because we were able to store our boxes and backpacks at the Inn, we were able to complete our goal of cycling from one end of the Province to the other and return to the conveniently located Colonial Charm for another couple of nights to refresh ourselves before our journey home. We had a wonderful vacation cycling in PEI because we were able to bring our own bicycles from home. Thanks to Shelley, Reg, and Melanie for their great hospitality, breakfasts, funny stories and for accommodating our luggage, We hope to return again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialCharm, Manager at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us and your lovely review. Your thoughts and comments mean a great deal to us all and we hope to see you again in the future!!
thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at this B&B while in Charlottetown in Aug 2011. We are a couple in our early 30s & have traveled extensively. We booked this B&B based on reviews we saw on TripAdvisor. We were pleased with the price, as the PEI tourism website had a sale when we booked. The B&B itself was definitely charming, with a colonial feel to it. We stayed in the Hannah Faith room (one of the smallest) and it was spacious and clean. Although we don't typically stay in B&Bs because we prefer a more anonymous experience, we enjoyed our experience here. The owner was very friendly and made a great breakfast. Would certainly recommend this hotel but keep in mind that there is definitely a "colonial" charm to it (literally) so it may not appeal to some younger couples.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wanderingnomad111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialCharm, Owner at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to give us your great thoughts about your stay. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast. We do love meeting our guests and always want to make sure that they have a wonderful stay with us and in PEI. We hope you will travel our way again in the future.
thanks again,
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This was our first time to PEI and we decided to come to this bed and breakfast because of the great reviews. We were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and very helpful. They gave us wonderful advice of where to visit while we were here. The food was wonderful and made with seasonal ingredients. The room was cozy and very clean. We would definately come back the next time we visit PEI.

Room Tip: Call to book the room instead of online because you can talk to staff about any dietary needs.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialCharm, Owner at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for writing your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed everything and I agree it is always best to call us for reservations and then we can work out any special needs or requests and also help you decide what room you may like better. Everyone here did definitely enjoy meeting you and look forward to your next visit.
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was another great visit. The Inn is located withing walking distance of excellent dining and theatre. Our room was charming. We checked in early and enjoyed sitting on the balcony overlooking the street and watching horse drawn carriages and wagons going by. The service was outstanding and the delicious hot breakfast set us up for the day. It was nice at the end of the day to also be able to choose from a selection of teas and scones for a nice snack. The staff were very knowledgeable and obviously love what they do. It feels like you're part of a wonderful family. Thanks to the MacDougalls.

Room Tip: Charles Henry Foster room has a great balcony, comfy four poster canopy bed. Delish.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntigonishBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialCharm, Owner at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

It was so wonderful to have you both here again this year. You are always welcome with us and we can't wait for your next visit. Thank you also for posting some great pictures. I love the picture of the horse and carriage from your balcony. It made me want to go on one too. Please keep in touch and we will see you soon.
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Cosy Queen was true to its title, next time we will ask for one of the front rooms with a balcony! Room was clean and very comfortable, Evening staff could not be more obliging - cookies and hot beverages were available and even a little cereal and milk for my wife's late night craving.
Close walk to many fine restaurants.
Wonderful cooking smells greeted us as we went out for dinner. A reminder that the next days breakfast of quiche would be outstanding - which it was!
Shelley our host & server in the morning was so friendly and hosspitable - was able to make all the guest comfortable.
Wifi in the rooms was handy, business centre if needed - even a gym.
Altogether a wonderful stay - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the front rooms - they are larger and some have a porch!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialCharm, Owner at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. We always love to hear how you enjoyed your stay. Definitely let me know when you are coming back and we will do our best to get you a balcony room and have lots of great snacks from the kitchen on hand too.
Thank you again :)
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews