We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hosts Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colonial Charm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Charm Inn
Ranked #4 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hosts Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here while touring PEI and had such a nice time. Shelly, Reg and Akiko were so easy to talk to and did a superb job in looking after us. Food was sooo good and dinner recommendations turned out great. Reg is such a great host and so much fun, missed him when we left. Hope to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbyandHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your lovely words. We are so happy that we were able to enjoy our fantastic restaurants. Reggie will be so gald to hear your comments and we definitely enjoyed our time with you as well. Please do come back this way again soon.
thanks again,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    26
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
172
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Colonial Charm Inn exceeded our expectations on our stay in July. Our room was beautiful with a private bath and a very comfortable bed,linens and mattress. There is a large living room for guest use. The whole house was spotlessly clean.

Our breakfasts were varied, delicious and generous, the great food and wonderful conversation with Shelley was always something to look forward to.

Shelley our host, certainly knows the meaning of hospitality, making us feel very welcome and “at home” throughout our stay. Recommendations about several nice restaurants in town were much appreciated. Since we were using Charlottetown as “home base” for seeing several areas of PEI, her recommendations of places to go and directions for day trip driving were very helpful, as were Shelley's insights into history, local and otherwise.

From Colonial Charm, we enjoyed some nice neighborhood walks and found it convenient to take the short walk into the downtown area to a variety of restaurants. We would highly recommend the Colonial Charm Inn for a stay in Charlottetown. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your trip to PEI and your stay with us. We are glad that you were happy with your room and our breakfasts that we try to make special each morning. We are always happy to offer suggestions on things to do and see on PEI and it is great that you were able to take several of them in. We look forward to your next visit with us and thank you again for the kind words.
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bécancour (Gentilly), Québec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

It was an absolutely wonderful stay. The Inn was welcoming and comfortable. The breakfasts were copious, delicious and varied from day to day. The staff and the owner were attentive hosts concerned with our well being and made our visit to Charlottetown an unforgettable one! Thank you !
Suzie and Marc.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus_Sacapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
It was so wonderful to have met you both and thank you so much for the thoughtful words. It is always so appreciated to hear. We do hope you will make it to our Island again and you will always be welcome with us.
Thanks again,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were on a cycling trip to PEI and spent four evening at the Inn. The service was fantastic, Shelly and her staff went out of their way to see to our every need. There was a room to leave our bikes. The breakfasts were tasty and well presented. Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin681240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you so much for the kind words. It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we are so gald that you enjoyed your time on PEI and with us. We hope to you see you again soon!
Thanks again,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Our first visit was June 2008 for a glorious 2 week stay in the Brighton Suite. We were greeted by Shelley on the front porch and didn't want to leave after our 2 weeks were over! Gary & Shelley were wonderful Hosts and Nicholas prepared breakfast that were fabulous. We enjoyed the history of the Inn and all of the Antiques that filled the B & B told a story. We really felt like the Inn was our home away from home and plan to return for a week in 2012. We highly recommend this Charming Inn to everyone who is looking for a wonderful experience while on vacation. Thank you again Gary & Shelley.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorian1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
We are so glad to hear that you will be coming for another visit next year. We enjoyed your company so much and greatly appreciate your lovely words. We can't wait to see you next year.
thanks again,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Been there four years in a row now and wouldn't think about staying anywhere else,definitely recommend it 100%. Shelley is a great hostess/owner and her crew is the best in the business

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank percyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
We are always so happy to see you every year and want to thank you for your kind words. We really do appreciate it and we look forward to your next visit with us.
thanks so much,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
189 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

My wife and I are vegetarians (actually, she is, and I just go with the flow), and if you've ever been to Canada, you may believe that Canadians think bacon comes from a plant. Here at Colonial Charm, they fed us veggie quiche, and an assortment of fruits. we never left the table hungry.

The common area had tea available all day, as well as scones and cookies. I confess that I may have taken more than one at a time, but they kept the home baked goods stocked.

Free WI-Fi, and clean rooms made this B&B a great place to stay within the downtown area. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gennaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and were able to sample our homemade treats. We are glad that you found us and do hope you will return to see us again.
Thank you again
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Charm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Charm Inn

Property: Colonial Charm Inn
Address: 9 Euston St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1V5, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Charm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B in the heart of historic downtown Charlottetown. We are a close walk to all Charlottetown attractions, restaurants, theatre, parks, etc. Rooms all have private bath, cable tv, dvd, wireless high speed internet, private phone, business center available with computer, fax, printer, copier. Full breakfast included, personal friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Colonial Charm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Charm Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing