We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bed-good breakfast-not so good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn on the Harbour
Ranked #13 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Hammonds Plains,NS
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“bed-good breakfast-not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The room was great. The breakfast left something to be desired-for the money we paid. Not use to having food warmed(maybe nuked) to be served-bacon/pancakes-at a b&b.
The location is great for walking the city

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hali-in-cuba64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn on the Harbour B & B. We were met by Sandra, the manager, who checked us in, answered our questions and even helped us carry our bags to our room. The room was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. We found the location of the Inn to be perfect for exploring Charlottetown. It was easy walking distance to lots of great restaurants and to the beautiful waterfront with all it's shops, activities and picturesque harbor. We loved to be able to stroll there each evening and top off the night with a Cows ice cream cone. We also enjoyed the full, homemade breakfast Sandra prepared each morning.

While we were very happy with the attributes of the Inn itself, we were even more impressed by the willingness of the manager and owner to "go that extra mile" for us. When Sandra learned that we had to check out early to catch the ferry on our last day, she awoke and prepared breakfast ahead of schedule so that we could eat before leaving. While on the ferry we discovered that our camera (with 3 years worth of family pictures) was missing. We called and talked to the owner, Maria, explaining where we might have left it the night before. She was able to make some calls, track it down and arrange for it to be safely mailed back to our home. The kindness and caring of both Sandra and Maria truly touched us. We would highly recommend the Inn on the Harbour to anyone who plans to visit Charlottetown.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micsch11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I had to travel to Charlottetown for a September wedding and decided to try out a Bed and Breakfast for it's "homier" feel. Sick of staying in generic hotels, Inn on the Harbour was a wonderful choice. The owner/operators were kind and very inviting. Breakfast was fabulous! A definite gem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKierstead7887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

For the past few years, we (4 retired couples) have visited Charlottetown to attend musicals at the Confederation Theatre and to tour around the waterfront. This year we decided to stay for 2 nights and we chose the Inn On The Harbour. What a perfect choice!! Great facilities!! Great location!! Great breakfast!! Most of all, great people!! Thanks to Sandra who made our stay a memorable one. She is the "Hostess with the Mostess". Thanks to her helper, Arnold, as well. You are our kind of "down home" people. Cathy & Morrison, Glenda & Brian , Beverly & Keith, Judy & J.C.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy499232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

My wife and i have just returned from the island. Our planned stay for two days at the Inn were absolutely great! The rooms are clean and private, fresh breakfast was fantastic. Location is also great if you want to attend a function at the Confederation Landing (2 min walk). We would happily recommend this Inn to fellow trip advisor members. Sandra your awesome!

Ken&Lesa Waugh
Uxbridge,Ontario

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

The location is prime- walking distance to all downtown/waterfront attractions. The room was clean and well decorated (hardwood floors, not dated). The rooms are also quite private- more like a hotel feeling than a B&B. Breakfast is only okay- small portion of scrambled eggs and bacon, plus a breakfast bar with toast, cereal, tea, coffee, etc. The price was a little steep (we payed $150/night + tax) but most places downtown start at $130ish. If you dont care about walking back to your room you can get a place outside of Charlottetown cheaper. This was our second stay here, and we noticed more street noise this time, but there was a bike rally going on.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistyNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

If I was to say in one word fantastic!!!! I was born and raised in this home back in the 60's before it was sold to the P.E.I Heritage Foundation. I haven't been here for more then 20 somewhat years, well let me tell you the changes that have been done to your B/B were fantastic. My wife feel right in love all over again when we walked in. So if I would tell my friends colliges I most defenitly will and did. Some people expect royalty when they enter a room, but unfortunatly they ike to dream. So to all you naysayers...shake your heads!!! you wouldn't know hospitality if you triped over it. The rooms were great as well was the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therocktm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.6 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#11 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Harbour

Property: Inn on the Harbour
Address: 3 Hillsborough St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4V7, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Harbour Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing