We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”
Review of Lin's Take Out

Lin's Take Out
Ranked #58 of 254 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Restaurant details
Maynard, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I found this spot on our way to the Greenwich Dunes National Park. It was so good we went back for another lunch a couple days later. During those 2 times we had their hamburger, cheese burger, chicken fingers and onion rings. They do have some picnic tables available if you want to eat on site, but if you tell them you are taking the food elsewhere they pack it up in good containers that keep the food nice and warm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprising treat!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Looks like the least likely place to be impressed; don't be fooled. Lin's is amazing, serving up some of the best mussels we've had. They ran out, and it was several days before their supply was replenished. That is both good (means they are crazy fresh) and bad (missed eating them again!). Just call ahead to make sure they have them on hand. Oh, and they are serious about the "Take Out" part of their name - you're not sitting down to eat on site.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank eyedrtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“unassuming gem”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Lin's is off to the right of the road that goes into Greenwich Dunes National park. Looks very unassuming: a small canteen just off a local farm house. We wouldn't have stopped without a local's recommendation since you can only handle so much fried food and hot dogs in one vacation. But Lin's had much more: homemade perogies (!! Lin is originally from Saskatchewan), a "scallop" burger with truly excellent scallops, other fish options, and then the standard burgers and ice cream. Picnic tables close by also give a nice view over the fields and onto the Bay.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fog-blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great View, Great Owner!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I like finding restaurants (or a takeout place like Lin's) that are away from the normal tourist routes. And Lin's is certainly that. We had visited the National Park at the end of Greenwich Road and had spotted Lin's on the way in. We stopped on the way out to see what was being offered (we had brought a picnic lunch so this was supposed to be just a scouting mission). When we found out that Lin (the owner and chef) offered a mussel platter (steamed mussels (24)), French fries, Cole slaw, and roll and butter) for < $10 and homemade perogies (6 of her own) with sour cream for $4.25 we were "hooked". Our picnic lunch was put on hold and we ate at Lin's; there are 6 picnic tables with umbrellas so eating there was no problem. We paired this lunch with the wine that we had brought along and thoroughly enjoyed everything. The mussels were cooked perfectly and served immediately (hot from the steaming), melted butter was provided, the French fry portion was enormous (fries crisp and nicely coated), and the Cole slaw was among the best that we have had in a restaurant. The perogies were just as described homemade and lightly fried to perfection. We dipped them in the sour cream and they were gone almost immediately. When we left we told Lin and her husband Wes that we would most likely be back for dinner. We had planned on eating in Georgetown as part of our self guided tour of the PEI east end but finding Lin's had changed our plans. And just as we promised we were back for dinner at 7:00 PM. This time we again had the mussels (we could not control ourselves) but we bypassed the perogies in favor of 2 of the Lobster Burgers ($8.25); fresh lobster meat lightly warmed in butter and served on a grilled buttered roll (we declined the offer of tomato and lettuce in favor of just the lobster; and it was plentiful and flavorful). Overall a great day and two wonderful meals; we will definitely be back any time that we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brooklyn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lin's Take Out also viewed

Saint Peters Bay, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Saint Peters Bay, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Lin's Take Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing