We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The absolute best way to start your day kin Charlottetown.”
Review of The Kettle Black

The Kettle Black
Ranked #32 of 252 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Kettle Black is a coffee roastery & cafe located at 45 Queen Street in the heart of Downtown Charlottetown. Stop by for a cup of fresh organic coffee that is house roasted daily & sourced from direct trade quality farmers. Our kitchen serves a brunch menu 7am - 5pm daily. View in the window a fresh Crepe Bar from 10am - 4pm daily. Baked goods, pastries, cookies, speciality drinks & local Lady Baker Tea Trolley available opening hours 7am until 7pm everyday. Can't wait to meet ya!
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The absolute best way to start your day kin Charlottetown.”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great service and you gotta try the coffee it's fabulous. The breakfast is really really good. Try the veggie omelet with the multi grain toast it's fabulous.
Nice patio in the back to sit for breakfast. Have fun. This place is a great way to start your day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    35
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unbelievable breakfast”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We walked in here thinking it was coffee and pastries. WOW. We had 4 different, top 10 breakfasts of our lives. My husband and I had frittatas, sons had french toast (Acadia) and a fried egg. The eggs were delicious, but the potatoes and toast were beyond gorgeous. There was a slightly spicy tomato based sauce that we poured over everything, and a fruit compote on the french toast that was marvelous on the regular toast too. The only thing that would have put it over the top would be crispy bacon, which wasn't on the menu.

They have an upstairs area with tons of magazines that is better than any Starbucks you'll ever encounter for mello morning lingering. We will be going back for our final day's breakfast. Don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very nice coffee shop!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Why go to Starbucks when you can find an amazing local place like this! Had the ice tea and it was fresh made with sugar and lemon. We sat on the back patio and researched where to go for the day. The staff were super nice and friendly. The food looked amazing but we already ate at Dans Lobster a few minutes before so were not hungry but the plates going by us were great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brandon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun, great location”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great spot to pop by for a Latte and wonderful sandwich. Perfect location for wandering on Queen Street or down by the waterfront.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hassanfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and coffee!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Sat upstairs and used the wifi and had coffee, it's a cool atmosphere and little escape from all the touristy attractions around, I can imagine this place being popular with the locals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earth_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kettle Black also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Kettle Black? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing