We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Holman Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Tignish
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Recently a colleague and I stayed at the Holman Grand while attending meetings in Charlottetown. The treatment we received from the manager, John Cudmore, as well as the front desk staff was both extremely courteous and helpful. Our "basic" room was on a corner and featured an excellent view of the city and the amenities in the room were outstanding. Having stayed in most of the downtown Charlottetown hotels during previous visits, I would recommend the Holman Grand above all others for anyone getting the opportunity to visit Charlottetown in the near future.

Room Tip: The higher floors offer great views of both the city as well as the waterways (and the occasional cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KildareCapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
On behalf of the whole Holman Grand team I would like to express our gratitude for your wonderful response. We are very pleased that you and your colleague enjoyed both our facilities and customer service. Thank you so much for the recommendation, we agree with you 100%. Have wonderfully Grand day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    99
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
84
176
11
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The good: freshly renovated, great location, helpful but overwhelmed front desk staff, reasonably comfortable rooms, decent value.
The bad: new and/or poorly trained housekeeping, poorly finished renovations, cold and starkly decorated (to my taste, anyway).
The renovations were clearly rushed as bare plaster and missing trim was left exposed and unfinished. On our check-in at 4:45, neither our room or several other late arrival's rooms were ready. We were offered apologies and asked to wait in the lobby for 20 minutes with our suitcases. I would have expected our bags to have been taken care of and been offered a drink in the adjacent lounge at the very least.
The next day, after touring the island, our room still wasn't cleaned by 5pm, despite an army of housekeeping staff gathered in the hallway on our floor. There was one guy in a suit holding a clipboard, seemingly "supervising" but otherwise not lifting a finger. Union meeting, perhaps? We went for a walk and came back to a cleaned room, if you don't count the dirty sink, smeared mirror and a drinking glass that was all smudged as though wiped with the rag used to clean the toilet.
Would I return? Doubtful, until and unless a new management team is put in place and they have time to turn things around.

Room Tip: Harbour view, higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronski766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us some feedback in regards to your stay this past August. We are happy that you enjoyed the facility, location and staff but disappointed and very sorry that your overall stay fell short of our standards. We were indeed having some HR issues in housekeeping in August but it is no excuse for a lack of service of any kind. For this we offer you our sincerest apologies. Thank you again for leaving us some feedback and have a Grand day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is the hotel to stay if you are looking for a modern/urban boutique hotel in Charlottetown .
Clean,spacious, wonderful shower, magnifying mirror (yikes) , comfy beds , bath robes, walk to excellent pubs ,restaurants and entertainment. We are thrilled and we are not here in the summer ...I love Charlottetown and now I love The Holman Grand Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retire64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
You review was an absolute joy to read. We are so happy that you loved the hotel as well as the city. Thank you so much for the feedback and we hope too see you again next time you come to Charlottetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean, comfortable, well appointed with all the necessities to make my stay perfect. If you're in town this is the perfect spot to settle into. Fitness centre was one feature I used and appreciated how the equipment was in good condition, the room itself was well ventilated and towels where plentiful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank thehotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I would like to give you a Grand Thank-You on behalf of all of our staff for leaving us such a pleasant review. We are so happy that we were able to offer you a perfect stay. Thanks again from the whole team at The Holman Grand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were down for a long weekend and stayed here with a large group. We happened to have a suite which was quite nice. The bar was nice. Never ate there so don't know how the food was but the bar service and area was to our liking.

I never had time for the gym but it was centrally located and the service for our room and help with parking etc. was excellent. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OestreichA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
It was a pleasure to share your comments with our staff. Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so very pleased that you and your group enjoyed our property so much. We hope to welcome you back next time your in Charlottetown. Thank you again and have a Grand day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night in early October and had to change rooms due to a tinning noise coming from my sprinkler system. Nonetheless, centrallly located near the future convention centre and the rooms are modern, minimalist with comfortable beds, hardword floors and good desk and closet space for a business traveller. In room Keurig coffee machines and brand new irons and ironing boards are a nice touch. The restaurant downstairs has a nice dinner menu and good food but breakfast needs some work, what breakfast menu doesn't allow you to have an omelette and even when I asked, was told no! If this hotel really wants to put a dent in the Delta Charlottetown or the Rodd's business, it will have to up its service game. Finally, gym is minimal and disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WJR-041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us some feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. I am glad that your overall stay was a positive one. It is unfortunate that the restaurant was unable to accommodate your request, this issue will be further investigated. We take great pride in providing top notch service and I am disappointed that this standard was not met throughout your entire stay. It is my hope that you stay with us again in the future so we can demonstrate our truly excellent service and hospitality. Thank you again for your review and have a Grand day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great > Location, Comfort & People...this hotel has it all and right in the heart of a Great small city! if you are looking for a higher end stay in Charlottetown then this is the place to stay! We especially want to thank, and credit, Cameron (front desk) for all of her hospitality (and help)!

Room Tip: King suite with view of the harbor is fantastic! (we were on the 6th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OkanaganScubaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay N, Supervisor at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your stay. We really do believe we have it all and are glad that you thought so as well. Cameron was especially happy to read your comments, she really is an outstanding member of our staff. Thank-you again for the review and have a Grand day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.2 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
485 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.2 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holman Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holman Grand Hotel

Property: The Holman Grand Hotel
Address: 123 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Holman Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlottetwown's Newest Hotel,where clean, crisp decor mingles with natural Island light. We offer guest rooms where luxurious comfort, advanced technologies and eco-friendly initiatives come together in harmony. World class service that anticipates your every need without being fussy, in a historic downtown location that puts the city & the harbour views at your doorstep. Reserve your stay and discover a hotel experience that is unique to you and just as inviting every time you return. We are pleased to announce that we have just opened Grand Senses and Aveda Concept Spa in the lobby of the hotel. Now you can take your Grand Experience even further with luxurious treatments and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Holman Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holman Grand Hotel Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing