We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Hands on culinary experience

A chance to roll up your sleeves and immerse yourself in all things culinary. Takes place in an... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
PEIslanderOnTheGo
,
Summerside, Canada
Culinary Inst Dinning Room!

I could not find a place to review The Culinary Inst Dinning so I am inserting it here because it... read more

Reviewed November 8, 2016
Tempoman
,
Pickering, Canada
Read all 15 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Charlottetown
from $123.76
More Info
from $67.56
More Info
from $57.65
More Info
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
11
3
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
11
3
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 15 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2016

I received a gift at Christmas time and it was for a day long boot camp to be held at the Culinary Institute of Canada. The boot camps are held mainly in the summer months when the culinary students are on summer breaks. There were so many great camps to pick from that I had great difficulty deciding. The winner was Thrills on the Grill. After 15 minutes of intros and housekeeping information, we headed down to the kitchen. WoW. You couldn't beat the smile off my face. We watched, we questioned, we raced around getting ingredients, we met new friends, we laughed, we helped one another, we sliced and diced, and grilled our way to a fantastic meal. We headed back to the kitchen to complete the desserts and packaged them for home. I was exhausted at the end of the day because there was so much for me to pack in before I left. LOVED it. It was made special by Chef Ilona, Norma and Karen....thank you and I am already booking another one. maybe two. :-)

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank PEIjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brodie C, Manager at Culinary Bootcamps, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such an amazing review of our experience. We are "thrilled" that you had such an amazing time here and can't wait to see your smiling face back here again! Happy cooking:)

All the best,
Culinary Bootcamp Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2016

Back in the capitol, Charlottetown, we enrol in a culinary boot camp in order to enhance our experiential appreciation of the bounty that this region is famous for. Foodie offerings, especially seafood are a red cape attracting us to this rare bounty of oysters , mussels and the mighty crab. However, gluttony has to be measured equally with other treasures culinary.
Chef Ilona Daniel takes us on a tour of Riverview Country Market which to our delight has cheeses of high quality, then trawling for mushrooms, sage and olive oils and vinegars including, an unbelievably tasty choc balsamic and wild blueberry varieties that when combined in a salad rocked our senses.
back at school we learn how to make lobster and whitefish chowder and beer-steamed mussels. We are taught how to shuck the lovely oysters and make a hodge podge, a local comfort food consisting of veggies cooked in a pan with cream and butter It is delicious to the max.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

This is a fun, well organized, hardworking, super interesting day. I did Flavours of the Island today at the Culinary Institute in Charlottetown. Chef definitely knows her stuff and is patient and amusing. We made everything and the kitchen sink:pulled pork, stuffed pork tenderloin, curried chicken, biscuits, beer bread, scallops, mussels, lobster, and more. We tasted and shopped, chopped and stirred, and learned dozens of tips and techniques. A great day

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank lmjives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brodie C, Manager at Culinary Bootcamps, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Reviews like yours are always great to see come across our screen! Thank you for joining us for this award winning experience and we hope that you will join us again in the near future for one of our many other culinary themed experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Wow. An experience not to be missed if you love cooking. The facility is top notch, the head chef Ilona & our assistant-chef Meg were fun, challenging and amazing. Just loved the whole creative experience. Our day started out with a visit to the local Farmers' market co-op. A true farmers market with produce and meat farmed locally and sold by the co-op, followed by a visit to a local specialty store and back to the kitchen!! Yeah. The fun started as we were teamed up in small teams of 3-5 people sharing the joy and responsibility of preparing food by recipe. Well, when that part was over - the true fun and adrenaline rush started. The question "What do we do with the left overs" - started the real cooking frenzy!! Yeah. The whole team of about 16 participants worked hand in hand - just like in a true professional kitchen. And just like the same, the organizers provided clean-up staff for us.... Again, top notch!! If you love these kind of experiences --- GO FOR IT!! I will do it again!!

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank millie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brodie C, Manager at Culinary Bootcamps, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you so much for this feedback! We are always thrilled to hear what our "bootcampers" think and how much they enjoyed this culinary experience. Thank you for attending and we hope to cross paths again in Prince Edward Island in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We did the Bootlegger's Experience Boot Camp on Saturday July 26/14..OMG it was AMAZING. We had so much fun cooking and meeting new people and of course letting our inner bootlegger out for the day. The Staff is 100%. The facilities are top notch. I'd encourage anyone to take in any of the Culinary Boot Camps. You will not be sorry..You can thank me later :)

A Big thank you to Karen, Ilona, and Meg.

Next year...Same Bat time same Bat channel!!!

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank NB_HappyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brodie C, Manager at Culinary Bootcamps, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

We truly appreciate this comment. We love hearing about how much fun people are having when you are with us! We do see it... but hearing it, is that much sweeter! Hope to see you again next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews